Footy has become expensive for the fan.

ExchangeStatMan

Excerpt from Footy Classifieds last night. The high cost of living is hitting the average fan.

In my opinion games at the MCG for instance could be cheaper if teams like the Suns or GWS play there against fellow Victorian non- heavyweights.

If you’re a student or on the pension, subscription of Kayo could be lowered.

Misleading, to the point of being disingenuous, to say footy or "the game" has become expensive for fans.

It's cheap to attend local footy from state league level down. AFLW is free for kids and $15 for adults. Heaps of AFL matches are free for kids during school holidays. GA prices in Melbourne haven't moved for ages, while other cities have public transport included in their tickets. Food has always been overpriced, though there are some examples of it being less expensive now than 10 years ago. There is also more footy on free-to-air TV than ever before.

If you're a snob only interested in attending the blockbuster AFL games, or a diehard who insists on watching your AFL team play live and ad-free every week, then yeah it's probably become more expensive for the snobs/diehards.

Misleading, to the point of being disingenuous, to say footy or "the game" has become expensive for fans.

It's cheap to attend local footy from state league level down. AFLW is free for kids and $15 for adults. Heaps of AFL matches are free for kids during school holidays. GA prices in Melbourne haven't moved for ages, while other cities have public transport included in their tickets. Food has always been overpriced, though there are some examples of it being less expensive now than 10 years ago. There is also more footy on free-to-air TV than ever before.

If you're a snob only interested in attending the blockbuster AFL games, or a diehard who insists on watching your AFL team play live and ad-free every week, then yeah it's probably become more expensive for the snobs/diehards.
I attended about 4 AFL games last season but I'd have a hard time getting mates to come along again.

A day/night out at the footy:

Public Transport at least $11.40 in Melbourne (this is using the trams to -and-return from a reference point in Melbourne)
Food pre game for footy for two people: $50
Tickets for the Game : $80 for 2 people ( am hearing numbers alot higher this season with relation to the ticketing GA members etc)
Food at the game: $30 for 2 people
Time involved in all the pre-game and at the game: 2 hours pre-game+ 3 hours at the footy= 5 hours

All up: $172 for 2 people at the footy for 5 hours all up.

Watching it on Kayo ($46 a month) is a better value for money. Or if your daring, go To a sports pub and buy a drink to watch a game ($10 or so for a drink)

The game has got more expensive, and in terms of ticketing, and so- Im more on the budget end of pricing. I cant imagine what it would cost with better seating and/or family of 4 or more.

I attended about 4 AFL games last season but I'd have a hard time getting mates to come along again.

Public Transport at least $11.40 in Melbourne (this is using the trams to -and-return from a reference point in Melbourne)
Tickets for the Game : $80 for 2 people ( am hearing numbers alot higher this season with relation to the ticketing GA members etc)
Time involved in all the pre-game and at the game: 2 hours pre-game+ 3 hours at the footy= 5 hours

Watching it on Kayo ($46 a month) is a better value for money. Or if your daring, go To a sports pub and buy a drink to watch a game ($10 or so for a drink)

The game has got more expensive, and in terms of ticketing, and so- Im more on the budget end of pricing. I cant imagine what it would cost with better seating and/or family of 4 or more.
Already covered the part about the implications of fully ticketed blockbuster matches.

That does not equate to "the game has become more expensive". Footy exists beyond Friday night at the MCG.

Already covered the part about the implications of fully ticketed blockbuster matches.

That does not equate to "the game has become more expensive". Footy exists beyond Friday night at the MCG
Im a person that tends to steer clear of the big crowds or the blockbusters. I was given a free ticket from Sportsbet last year to attend one of the AFL Finals. If you had asked me to pay for it , I wouldn't have. I can't actually think of a sporting event I last attended where there was more than 50k. But it is a pet hate of mine, attending something where there are large crowds present.

Larger queues also means longer waiting times getting out of the game, into the ground, hassles in seating etc.

Im a person that tends to steer clear of the big crowds or the blockbusters. I was given a free ticket from Sportsbet last year to attend one of the AFL Finals. If you had asked me to pay for it , I wouldn't have. I can't actually think of a sporting event I last attended where there was more than 50k. But it is a pet hate of mine, attending something where there are large crowds present.

Larger queues also means longer waiting times getting out of the game, into the ground, hassles in seating etc.
Then you're talking nonsense about ticket prices. GA is $27 for non-marquee fixtures in Melbourne. If you paid more than that, it's because you chose to sit in the more expensive section.

My last game I bought off was a Sydney Swans game. These are the upcoming prices for the game for the Swans on April 17th- cheapest mind you:

1774315008256.webp

You'd struggle to get Sydneysiders paying that as far as Im concerned. These are around the same prices for a Swans v Melbourne game planning ahead.

Im convinced with those prices, you won't get over 38,000 for either the Derby or against the Dees. The AFL would do well to look at their pricing structure to attract and find the right balance between crowds and revenue.

My last game I bought off was a Sydney Swans game. These are the upcoming prices for the game for the Swans on April 17th- cheapest mind you:

View attachment 2560211

You'd struggle to get Sydneysiders paying that as far as Im concerned. These are around the same prices for a Swans v Melbourne game planning ahead.

Im convinced with those prices, you won't get over 38,000 for either the Derby or against the Dees. The AFL would do well to look at their pricing structure to attract and find the right balance between crowds and revenue.
Wow you took a tram from Melbourne all the way to Sydney for only $11.40? What value!

If you have any concept of historical attendances, you'd realise crowds of 38k at the SCG would not suggest tickets have become too expensive for fans.

Wow you took a tram from Melbourne all the way to Sydney for only $11.40? What value!
I attended a sporting event at the MCG last year. And for a bit of context those tickets were about on par what the AFL would charge.

Sure...but if you are meeting up with mates anywhere you will have transport costs of some sort.

You can bring your own food with you to the footy...if you really want.
Similar note if going to a pub for 5 hours you are spending way more than $10!!
Like anything and everything - the "cost" of a 5 hour activity for a family of 4 is more expensive now than it was 4-5 years ago.

AFL Footy, at the G in Melbourne anyway, is still a relatively good value option for a day/night family activity.

I attended a sporting event at the MCG last year. And for a bit of context those tickets were about on par what the AFL would charge.

I already provided the context: GA is $27 for non-marquee fixtures in Melbourne, and public transport for SCG games is covered with the ticket.

Also, if you spent $50 pre-game on food for two people... that's called lunch. You may as well include breakfast and last night's dinner in your imaginary tally.

Similar note if going to a pub for 5 hours you are spending way more than $10!!
OK, Ill give you that, im leaning $20 give or take .

Like anything and everything - the "cost" of a 5 hour activity for a family of 4 is more expensive now than it was 4-5 years ago.
Hence, why we are seeing the decline of crowds , according to Footy Classified of around 10% or so. having followed this game 34 years, I feel like the games attendances and viewership possibly gets worst before it gets better, I can definitely see that happening for AFL attendances . Not so sure about viewership figures on TV/Subscription services.

I feel like we are in the situation like the: A-League , Rugby Union (Super Rugby), and ODI cricket (where games are exclusively behind paywall), is they will go down and bite them. Ask your average school kid, if they can name an ODI cricketer or Super Rugby playing when the season comes around. I reckon you would get a blank response. This AFL management has clear goals of maximising the revenue at the expense of losing the 'rusted on' die-hard fan. It may work out to be economically feasible for them but it may be a case of 'biting the hand that feeds you'.

There was talk from Dangerfield and the Players Association potentially looking at reduced playing times. The games of today are going longer- which drains the interest of a footy fan. The AFL is also competing now with more sports than what an average Australian sports fan had access to in the mid 90s. In the mid 90s' your average Australian sports fan didn't have access to the NBA, NFL, MLB, NHL , varying soccer leagues from around the world to name a few. There are more sports codes to follow and I add in the growth of womens sports , which dilutes the interest in the AFL as a followed sport.

On weekends the AFL is competing or clashing with other sports codes on at the same time whether it be in physical location or some sort of online streaming service. People of today have more choice, and quite simply the AFL product does not match the price people are willing to fork out.

People quite simply just want value for their dollar. And alot of them have made their stance by the crowd numbers we have seen dished up this season. The old days of paying $300 a season for a membership and getting 11 guaranteed home games is over. There are much, much more additional costs that go into a 'game day experience' at the footy. Not only are we looking at the cost, its the time aspect of putting into a code.

OK, Ill give you that, im leaning $20 give or take .
A weird take to note that when meeting up with mates to watch the footy at the pub you don't eat.

But when going to the footy you need to eat twice.

A weird take to note that when meeting up with mates to watch the footy at the pub you don't eat.

But when going to the footy you need to eat twice.

I wont lie to you, I have been to a pub regluarly this past months to watch Premier League games at some ungodly hours eg 5am, 3am, 4:30am and buy around 2 drinks or so- its possible. This was when I didnt havent Stan Sports as I couldnt fathom the thought of paying $42 a month.

People will harp about Kayo being 'affordable' , another factor is you have all sorts of subscription services popping up for your dollar eg DAZN for NFL, Stan, Kayo, Bein Sports, thinking of an MLB Subscription, previously was an NBA Pass subscriber....................unfortunately your average household can't afford everything.

Is it? Footy tickets at their cheapest are like $30 (cheap seats at Optus are a great view anyway), we get public transport included as part of our ticket over here to and from the game.

Food and drinks are a rip off, but the actual tickets themselves are still relatively affordable. Not sure I agree they're "pricing people out" but I can only speak for Perth.

I wont lie to you, I have been to a pub regluarly this past months to watch Premier League games at some ungodly hours eg 5am, 3am, 4:30am and buy around 2 drinks or so- its possible. This was when I didnt havent Stan Sports as I couldnt fathom the thought of paying $42 a month.
Just like how you can go to the footy and not spend $80 on food.

IF you want a family day out at the footy, you can pack your own food/snacks in a bag.
People will harp about Kayo being 'affordable' , another factor is you have all sorts of subscription services popping up for your dollar eg DAZN for NFL, Stan, Kayo, Bein Sports, thinking of an MLB Subscription, previously was an NBA Pass subscriber....................unfortunately your average household can't afford everything.
Yes it is more expensive if you want access to everything.

People now are able to get access to more content and sports than were available 10-15 years ago.

Again, pick and choose...if it isn't offering you value anymore don't use it.