Footy in 2020

LetmeCsum1963

Draftee
I rekon we have already passed the biggest 'change' years of the competition so far (that from 1981 when the Sydney Swans eventuated to 1997 when Port came in to 2000 when Colonial Stadium came into being), so I rekon footy will just about stay as it is for at least the next 20 years, which is good.
By 2020, though, there will still be 16 AFL teams - 7 intersate teams (We will have (my prediction), the roos move to Canberra in 2005 to become the Canberra Kangaroos) and 9 victorian teams. The playing strips for all 16 clubs will still be virtually anchanged, teams like Geelong, Port Adelaide and Brisbane would have added at least one flag to its collection, Freo would have made the finals a number of years but not have gone further than week 1, and heavyweights Carlton and Essendon would remain prime contenders each year. Collingwood woulf have made the finals only 2-4 times in the timespan between 2001-2020, but still never a real threat. The Grand final of 2001 will be played at a much different looking MCG, with the capacity edgeing on 110,000 (with a revamped members stand), as Melbourne gears up for the 2020 Olympic Games.
Footy is looking good. Any other predictions?

I DONT HAVE ANY PREDICTIONS JUST ONE FACT AND THAT IS YOUR FULL OF SHIT!!!!

------------------
good ole collingwood for ever,we know how to play the game,side by side we stick together to uphold the REAL magpies name,see the barrackers are shouting,as all barrackers should,YES the premiership's a cakewalk for the good ole collingwood.
http://www.mp3.com/joffa

AFL in 2020:
Australian Division:
Collingwood Magpies
Melbourne Kangaroos
Carlton Saints
Essendon Bulldogs
Hawthorn Tigers
Tassie Cats
West Coast Dockers
Southern Crow Power
Sydney Swans
Brisbane Lions

Pacific Rim Division:
Jakarta
Kuala Lumpur
Singapore
Hanoi
Hong Kong
Guangdong
Seoul
Tokyo
San Francisco
Los Angeles

You're a charmer joffa, why don't you make a suggestion once in your life instead of bagging everyone elses?

2020 - let's see

All Football will be played on Pay TV, no more free to air coverage after Fox continue to win the rights, gradually cutting down free-to-air matches until there are none left by 2015.

A 14 team competition and a 26 week season with no Ansett Cup - ie everyone plays each other twice.

7 Victorian teams and 7 interstate - Kangaroos survive by not having a home base and play all of their home matches in either Tasmania, Syndey, Brisbane and Canberra - becomeing known as the Eastern Seaboard Kangaroos.

4 Victorian teams merge to create 2 superteams. Melbourne and Richmond - become known as the Melbourne Tigers and Western Bulldogs and StKilda merge to become the Western Saints.

Membership of a club to double to an estimated $250 a season, entering you into only 5 home matches - season tickets to cost inexcess of $1000.

The Premiership Cup will have been given a revamp, however it will retain it's shape, it will just be a lot bigger. Added to that, their will also be another trophy similar to the Sheffield Shield, which will be passed to the club that wins the Premiership for the next 12 months.

Players uniforms to become similar to Rugby League - ie Hawthorn last night. Teams will change colours when they play someone with similar colours, ie English Premier League. White and Black shorts will become a thing of the past as teams will be forced to wear either one or the other during the entire season. So some games both teams will be in white shorts and both in dark shorts.

A Football oval to get a revamp with no boundary lines, a re-inforced glass fence all around the ground will stop the ball ever going into the crowd - ie Ice Hockey.

A third umpire to be introduced to assist the umpires in close goal kicking decisions. It will later be used to help umpires pick out free kicks when they are on the wrong side of play by flashing a red light in their whistle and pointing the direction with an arrow as to who the kick should go to.

Every club to make the finals at least 4 times in the next 20 years, however no team makes it for more than 10 years - ie West Coast. The Premiership droughts to contine with Essendon, Carlton, Adelaide, Eastern Seaboard Kangaroos, Port Adelaide, Brisbane and Hawthorn to take out the Premierships. StKilda, Geelong, Melbourne, Bulldogs, Richmond, Sydney, Fremantle and Collingwood still wait for the day that they taste success

2 players to break through Bob Pratt and Peter Hudsons goal kicking record as the season get longer, no player however will get to Michael Tuck's games record.

Originally posted by collingwood_joffa:
I DONT HAVE ANY PREDICTIONS JUST ONE FACT AND THAT IS YOUR FULL OF SHIT!!!!

Couldnt have put it better my self Joffa, this little creep has visited our board and told us exactly what he thinks of us,and why, so now I would like to agree with what you think of him, you just put it in a better way than I would.

Collingwood Boy

The Carlton Saints??? Aaron Hamill would be happy.

So would Jack!!!

At least it wasn't the Carlton Bulldogs - Jack would be delighted to be associated with the team that had such a as he puts it "Tragic History"!!!!!!

The Tragic History Blues, it's got a nice ring to it actually!!!!!!

I know one things at least. St.Kilda will go broke at the end of 2006 and cash it all in and merge with Adelaide.
wink.gif

Collingwood will at least win to flags in the era.

Originally posted by eagleskickass:
Definately agree there will be a more even spred of Victorian and Non-Victorian teams. Eagles will win 3 premierships in that 20 years.

Wake up to yourself, *******! Your team is the shittest in the whole league and will be lucky not to win a wooden spoon this year. Get a real team to barrack for you loser!

Port for premiers!

In the early 1980's everyone was saying :"There will be less Victorian teams in 20 years. Some will fold, merge or become finacially insolvent"

Well 20 years on, all the clubs remain (excpet Fitzroy). No doubt everyone will still think that the Victorian teams will go to the wall, but it won't happen. The 1996 merger disaster proved that the fans don't want, or like mergers, so the AFL has wisely backed away from that. The AFL has also said that the competition must remain at 16 teams. The only option is relocation, with Canberra being the only realistic alternative...... and there isn't a suitable ground in Canberra so even that appears a pipedream.

I 2020, I agree that the worst case scenario will see 9 Victorian clubs instead of 10, with the Roos relocating to Canberra being the most realistic alternative, despite the current lack of a suitable venue. I can't see the Sydney public supporting the Roos if they relocated to the western suburbs of Sydney.

I'd like to see all 16 clubs remain as they are. If a club has to relocate like the Roos, that is okay, because the club still exists and they retain their history. I can't see any clubs actually going extinct completely. People say it every year about the Victorian clubs, yet nothing ever changes. It is not good for the league to get rid of teams anyway. It enrages fans, causes angst and heartbreak and causes controversy. It also shifts the attention away from the football field. I'm sure there are a lot of South Australians and Western Australians who want to see less Victorian teams (god knows why), but if ANY of the 16 clubs were to drop out of the AFL it would be bad for the game.

Essendon and Carlton will continue to be the dominant Victorian teams, while the Roos (in whatever city they are playing) will remain a flag threat for however long Pagan is there.

[This message has been edited by Dan24 (edited 11 March 2001).]

Originally posted by AlfAndrews:
In 2020 there'll be about 4 Victorian teams left.

And Dan will still be saying "It's the same competition that started in 1897."

Firstly, there is not a snowflakes chance in hell that there will be 4 Victorian teams left.

Secondly, even if there were NO Victorian teams in 2020 it would still be the same comp that started in 1897. Clubs come and go all the time from all sort of competiitons all around the world. But while the clubs come and go, the competitions in which those clubs compete remains the same. Sure, the clubs in that competiton change, but the competiton itself is still the same one that began all those years ago. If a brand spanking new competiton SEPARATE to the AFL began, you will have a point. But this didn't happen, so you are wrong.

And the fact that the AFL (which used to be called the VFL, but is still the same comp, even though the standard is better) is officially in it's 105th season, means you are wrong. It is a FACT that the current competiton is in it's 105th season and all stats are officially 105 years old. Ask the AFL. I just received a copy of AFL 2001 - The official statistical history of the AFL. You guessed it all the stats are from 1897.

So, deal with it. Even if 14 clubs leave and Essendon and Carlton play themselves every week, it will still be the same "competiton". The only way you will get what you want, is if a brand spanking new competiton is officially started SEPARATE to the AFL. Until this happens, you will have to live with the FACTS as they stand.

Originally posted by AlfAndrews:
In 2020 there'll be about 4 Victorian teams left.

And Dan will still be saying "It's the same competition that started in 1897."

Its not worth the effort.
Its still a state competition
rolleyes.gif

And poor old west coast have only won 2 premireships and only been in the finals 10 times in 105 years of the competition
rolleyes.gif

one thing id reckon we would see in the next 20 years....is pay per view...thus eliminating the need really to buy a membership.....clubs would get a bigger slice of the tv rights...and internet subscriptions..to stream full games and replays...

Im pretty sure about pay per view but internet i dont really think so because america hasnt really got it...so we are very far behind in the internet scene...

Originally posted by Collingwood Boy:
AFL in 2020:
Australian Division:
Collingwood Magpies
Melbourne Kangaroos
Carlton Saints
Essendon Bulldogs
Hawthorn Tigers
Tassie Cats
West Coast Dockers
Southern Crow Power
Sydney Swans
Brisbane Lions

Pacific Rim Division:
Jakarta
Kuala Lumpur
Singapore
Hanoi
Hong Kong
Guangdong
Seoul
Tokyo
San Francisco
Los Angeles

Suprise Suprise!! A biased post from Joffa. Give a decent reason why Collingwood would be the only victorian team still in the league as a single entity in 2020. Couldn't have anything to with TV rights and the fact your president is working for the TV rights holder could it?

[This message has been edited by Catman (edited 11 March 2001).]

Originally posted by Dan24:
Firstly, there is not a snowflakes chance in hell that there will be 4 Victorian teams left.

In twenty years time ... bearing in mind the size of the hole in the ozone layer and the fact that absolutely NOTHING is being done about it ... not only will there not be any such thing as a snow-flake, but I doubt if Victoria will still exist.

------------------
**floreat pica**

I agree that there we have seen the last merger ever in the AFL. We will never see that again, but we might see relocations. Its important that we leave as much history in the comp ad each club as we can. If a team relocates, it can keep its colours and mascot and tradition. The teams for 2020 will be:

Adelaide Crows
Brisbane Lions
Carlton Blues
Collingwood Magpies
Essendon Bombers
Fremantle Dockers
Geelong Cats
Hawthorn Hawks
Canberra Kangaroos
Port Adelaide Power
Tasmainian Tigers
NT Saints-Add yellow for the Aboriginal flag
Melbourne Demons
Sydney Swans
West Coast Eagles

I agree that there we have seen the last merger ever in the AFL. We will never see that again, but we might see relocations. Its important that we leave as much history in the comp ad each club as we can. If a team relocates, it can keep its colours and mascot and tradition. The teams for 2020 will be:

Adelaide Crows
Brisbane Lions
Carlton Blues
Collingwood Magpies
Essendon Bombers
Fremantle Dockers
Geelong Cats
Hawthorn Hawks
Canberra Kangaroos
Port Adelaide Power
Tasmainian Tigers
NT Saints-Add yellow for the Aboriginal flag
Melbourne Demons
Sydney Swans
West Coast Eagles

Originally posted by Catman:
Suprise Suprise!! A biased post from Joffa. Give a decent reason why Collingwood would be the only victorian team still in the league as a single entity in 2020. Couldn't have anything to with TV rights and the fact your president is working for the TV rights holder could it?

[This message has been edited by Catman (edited 11 March 2001).]

First of all, dipstick, I'm not Joffa. Although I am flattered you would mention him and me in the same post
biggrin.gif

These are my reasons why Collingwood should be the last to merge:
They have the largest support base in the AFL.
They're the most famous (and most marketable) team internationally.
Their supporters would be most resistant to a merger proposal.

Originally posted by Cats2001!:

Tasmainian Tigers

I think the Hawks are making the play for the Tassie market, which isn't big really big enough to support a self-contained side.

collingwood joffa good line

2020 kangaroos will have there record still going (being in the prelimenary finals since 1994) and win 4-6 more flags

Essendon will be shit theyll be the new collingwood saints team

Freo in the finals (no Grand Finals)

Collingwood will have a new record most last possitions in a row (2001-2020)