Toast FOOTY IS BACK!!!!

More info on the new changes to game requirements this season

View attachment 877351
What a joke 1.5 mtrs on the bench when you have just received the ball from that team mate. What a joke 13 secs after each goal for hygenic? water distribution but still able to tackle. Will they be able to shake hands as they did after round 1?

More info on the new changes to game requirements this season

View attachment 877351
This is ridiculous.

You are allowed to tackle someone and have 10 blokes piled on top of each other in a pack, but we need strict social distancing on the bench?

Crazy stuff.

What a joke 1.5 mtrs on the bench when you have just received the ball from that team mate. What a joke 13 secs after each goal for hygenic? water distribution but still able to tackle. Will they be able to shake hands as they did after round 1?

From another article - The AFL has also banned hi-fives and post-game handshakes.

Last night I'm pretty sure they also said no post goal celebrations like the hi-5s and that signing the team song will need to be done so following social distancing measures of the 1.5m space between players

tackles can be completed provided 1.5m social distancing is applied lol - its like a Monty Python version

I presume the Umps must also practice social distancing at all times.

The 1.5m on the bench is a ripper - headsrcatcher - but i guess its the apperance of giving a crap.

Point being - is they are on top of each other at a contest.. 1.5m on the bench seems like the horse has already bolted.

But again, the impression of giving a crap about it I guess.

GO Catters

tackles can be completed provided 1.5m social distancing is applied lol - its like a Monty Python version

I presume the Umps must also practice social distancing at all times.

The 1.5m on the bench is a ripper - headsrcatcher - but i guess its the apperance of giving a crap.

Point being - is they are on top of each other at a contest.. 1.5m on the bench seems like the horse has already bolted.

But again, the impression of giving a crap about it I guess.

GO Catters

Surely no handshaking after the game is another head scratcher - they've just spent 2 hours standing alongside & tackling each other, but once the final siren goes you're no longer allowed to touch anyone else

latest
new ruck recruit, sweet

:thumbsu:

These rules/restrictions verge on the absurd....Monty Python reference was perfect. A bit like this really.....

The 100 metres for people with no sense of direction. Classic!

This is ridiculous.

You are allowed to tackle someone and have 10 blokes piled on top of each other in a pack, but we need strict social distancing on the bench?

Crazy stuff.

They should encourage social distancing by actually paying holding the ball and freeing the play up a bit.

If its anything like "canned laughter", then no thanks....

You know the American sitcom producers actually hire people to come in and laugh ON CUE to the lamest of jokes and situations that are not remotely amusing.

I see one NFL side placed sex dolls in every second seat provided by one of their sponsors!

I can see some value in that....:cool::p

They should encourage social distancing by actually paying holding the ball and freeing the play up a bit.

Yes !!! ...and..Why not try 16 a side...might help in providing a faster more open spectacle. I mean surely this is the year to try a few things out...the season is a charade anyway.

I think some American sports (well soccer anyway) are going to a tournament format- like a 6 week World Cuptype thing with all the teams based in the one spot - I wouldn’t have minded them trying something like that. just trying to treat it like a normal season doesn’t really make much sense to me. Who knows, maybe I’ll change my mind once we are playing again, but round one without the crowds and the same old flooding-type play was almost unwatchable.

I take it it caused offense?

Correct....and the sponsor forced to apologise.

BTW..it was a Korean soccer club, not an NFL franchise as I suggested in the earlier post.

Given the single guys anti-bonking directive from the AFL perhaps a quick call to South Korea might be in order.

O/k let me start by saying I'm not a fan of following what the ARL do or being lead by the media,but last week the TV broadcasters pushed the ARL into a rule change to make their game more watchable, it had like ours become very defensive and a poor low scoring spectacle,the change was a penalty in ruck dumped for a 6 more tackles to go. Apparently this will keep the game flowing and see more scoring.
16 a side could enhance our game,worth a shot.

those suits actually think that the plebes will enjoy the canned noise over the actual sounds of the game on the field(warts and all).
on the non-English broadcast games of footy, the crowd channel was mixed louder than 7 or Fox. It was very enjoyable because their reaction was often faster and more dramatic than the announcers'. Can't replicate that, at least during a live telecast.
damned political correctness against the swearing, just leave the natural games sounds in. It will draw the viewers in better than anything else.

O/k let me start by saying I'm not a fan of following what the ARL do or being lead by the media,but last week the TV broadcasters pushed the ARL into a rule change to make their game more watchable, it had like ours become very defensive and a poor low scoring spectacle,the change was a penalty in ruck dumped for a 6 more tackles to go. Apparently this will keep the game flowing and see more scoring.
16 a side could enhance our game,worth a shot.
If I was running League I'd have it as soon as it's deemed a tackle the ref goes 3,2,1 then if they don't get off, Penalty!
Every single time. Would change everything