Footy journos

Who's the most interesting footy journo?

• Rohan Connolly

Votes: 11 22.9%
  • Mike Sheahan

Votes: 8 16.7%
  • Patrick Smith

Votes: 14 29.2%
  • Caroline Wilson

Votes: 7 14.6%
  • Mark Robinson

Votes: 2 4.2%
  • Michelangelo Rucci

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other

Votes: 6 12.5%

Michaelangelo Rucci!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HAHAHAHAHA! That's funny. :D :p :) Even Caro has credibility compared to that imbecile.

Connolly and Smith are both good, Smith is always a great read, even if I don't agree with all his opinions. Connolly analyses the game very well though.

I watch Footy Feedback on C7 Optus.Patrick Smith is interesting and overshadows Connely.Seems to have a sense of humour with his naming of Grant Thomas as Cornflakes.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
Michaelangelo Rucci!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HAHAHAHAHA! That's funny. :D :p :) Even Caro has credibility compared to that imbecile.

Connolly and Smith are both good, Smith is always a great read, even if I don't agree with all his opinions. Connolly analyses the game very well though.

Well I had to put in someone from interstate;)

What are you still doing at work?

Me...

Joking...

I hope to be a sports journo in the future, so maybe I will be okay.

Right now, Patrick Smith...he seems to know what he is on about and loved his nickname for Grant Thomas. Now I can't have brekkie without thinking of him :rolleyes:

The Hitman

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

Damn right! He spends a few years in New York then comes back and think's he's the authority on football. He shouldn't be classed as a journalist.. perhaps 'sh¡t-stirrer' whould be a better title.

Tony Leonard from the couldabeen champions. If he had a TV head then he would be the best of the lot.

And I like Caro because she's not afraid of the issues the AFL seems to get the others to steer clear of. Can't wait for her to take a close look at what the MCG is proposing for the mickey mouse games ($1 levy etc). She's a bit of a loose cannon at times but with most scribes at the heel of their AFL 'masters' we need her like oxygen.

Who voted for Mark Robinson??? I can't stand his completely Essendon-centric (and Carlton hating) pieces. The biggest joke of an 'analysis' ever written was the one that said Essendon had 7 players who were very tough and Carlton had a big fat zero. And Michael Long was one of those 7.....:confused: :confused:

It was apparently put on every Carlton players locker before the round 3 match.

Smith is by far the best.

Incisive, always controversial, humourous, knowledable.

and the best part about him is that he is not hopelessly biased towards the team he barracks for (which is Essendon I think ?)

The rest of them are useless and push 'hidden agendas' all the time.

Wilson is nothing more than a Richmond / Channel Seven cheerleader.

Walls seems to think its 1973 all over again and he is just another filthy rotten Navy Blue 'sniper', waiting to take out the oppositions champion palyer - behind play with the umpires not looking.

Connelly is good at analysing tha game. he has technical knowhow in bucketloads, but unfortunately he can't write very well.

Rucci seems about the right fir for an Adelaide journalist - he is very wise to stay in the little pond though.

Mike Sheahan - his style is gormless, infantile and patronising. Obviously pitches his prose at impressionable 12 year olds.

cheers

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel

Mike Sheahan - his style is gormless, infantile and patronising. Obviously pitches his prose at impressionable 12 year olds.

cheers

Well said, I don't know how anyone could vote for him. He just writes what ever will be popular at the time. I've lost count of the number of times he's written the Hawks off this year, only to say they are the genuine article the following week.

Not to mention nominating Sydney, Hawthorn, Brisbane, North, Carlton, Port and Collingwood as likely challengers to Essendon this season. My favourite line of his after Collingwood beat Melbourne - "Have we overlooked the obvious challenger to Essendon's dominance"...ahhh No Mike, I don't think we have :rolleyes:

Even though I can't stand his smarminess sometimes, I find Mike to be the Man. He hasn't allowed his support for a team to constantly colour his articles like some of his colleagues, like those at the Age to be more precise.

Originally posted by bulldogs1
Even though I can't stand his smarminess sometimes, I find Mike to be the Man. He hasn't allowed his support for a team to constantly colour his articles like some of his colleagues, like those at the Age to be more precise.

But he is the AFL's major cheerleader.

Some of us will never forget his 'editorial' on the eve of merger monday.

Originally posted by bulldogs1

I dunno about that. He writes 3 articles a week on Melbourne as far as I can see.

My vote would go to Digby Beacham from the Sunday Times! He can conjure up a story from nowhere, in fact I think he does for most of his articles!

Originally posted by Asgardian
I my be biased, but I reckon the writers on the now defunct SHIRTFRONT mag were/are the best in the land

:confused: :mad:

What the hell????

defunct?
can someone plz give me more info!!!!!!!!!!!!!:(

Originally posted by The Hitman
Me...

Joking...

I hope to be a sports journo in the future, so maybe I will be okay.

Right now, Patrick Smith...he seems to know what he is on about and loved his nickname for Grant Thomas. Now I can't have brekkie without thinking of him :rolleyes:

The Hitman

Your my favourite journo Hitman! Maybe you should change your name to 'other'.

Footy journos