footy memories

dee_girl9

Jan 20, 2001
don't know. Too drunk to know, too pissed to care!
Melbourne ...HELLO i mean how easy?
there r 3 things that most people remember and they r:
1 - their first game of football they went to,
2 - one game that sticks out for one reason or another
and 3 - why they barrack for the team they do.
and also 4 WHO is your fave player and WHY ???? (and sorry it cant be because of the looks)
What is it for u guys?

the game that sticks out the most for me was rd1 1993 melbourne v fitzroy. the first time i saw melbourne play IN melbourne , and i saw David Neitz play his first game. unbeknown to me that he would become my most fave player, and that i would meet Robbie Flower on the same day. :) one of the few times i have had goose bumps.

and exactly why i barrack for melbourne is still a hard one to figure out. i have followed them before any teams from adelaide entered the comp and by 1991 i was an "established" demons supporter and i didnt want to change. (altho i couldnt see them play live and they were hardly on the TV) i know one of the reasons was i barrakced for Sturt in the SANFL and when Todd Viney went to melbourne in 1987 i kinda followed him, but not that much. as my knowledge of football grew so did my passion for the melbourne footy club.

and finally my fave player is David Neitz. probably cos i have saw his first game and have been in awe of him eva since. it is just one of those things.

Originally posted by dee_girl9
there r 3 things that most people remember and they r:
1 - their first game of football they went to,
2 - one game that sticks out for one reason or another
and 3 - why they barrack for the team they do.
and also 4 WHO is your fave player and WHY ???? (and sorry it cant be because of the looks)
What is it for u guys?

the game that sticks out the most for me was rd1 1993 melbourne v fitzroy. the first time i saw melbourne play IN melbourne , and i saw David Neitz play his first game. unbeknown to me that he would become my most fave player, and that i would meet Robbie Flower on the same day. :) one of the few times i have had goose bumps.

and exactly why i barrack for melbourne is still a hard one to figure out. i have followed them before any teams from adelaide entered the comp and by 1991 i was an "established" demons supporter and i didnt want to change. (altho i couldnt see them play live and they were hardly on the TV) i know one of the reasons was i barrakced for Sturt in the SANFL and when Todd Viney went to melbourne in 1987 i kinda followed him, but not that much. as my knowledge of football grew so did my passion for the melbourne footy club.

and finally my fave player is David Neitz. probably cos i have saw his first game and have been in awe of him eva since. it is just one of those things.

1) I cant exactly remember my first game of football. It woulda been in 1987 or 1988 in the SANFL. The first games i can remember are Port v Sturt at Footy Park where Sturt won by a point. I remember Port legend Russell Johnston knocking out Carl Dilena (who was knocked out twice before that), and i remember Simon Tregenza in his second game of footy miss a snap shot with seconds to go which would of won us the game.
The other early memory was the 1988 Grand Final. Woke up at 6, got at the ground really early to see Port play Woodville in teh reserves GF, then i remember watching Port beat Glenelg in the main GF. Me and my dad sat up the top of the second tier at footy park.

2) a few games that stick out, I remember Port v West in 1990 when KG got booed out hte ground and their was a raucas between him and the crowd (we won by 100 points), i remember the 1990 GF when Hodges kicked the record. The 96 Prelim and GF was probably the two games that sticks out the most. The Prelim - cos it was the best game of footy ive ever watched, Hodges kicking that miracle goal, first time i cried at the footy. The 96 GF was memorable and always will be cos it was held on my birthday...and Port beat Centrals, which they hadnt done all year. Best day of my life.

3) I barrack for Port mainly cos of family...all my family does except for my mum (who goes for sturt). My cousin used to play there, my grandfather was a trainer there, my great grandma was a life member at Port and used to board players and held BBQs after every game for the port boys back at her house.

4) Scott Hodges, because he is my hero. I met him at Woolworths at West Lakes when i was 6 and i couldnt believe i saw him...after that he just became my hero.

Hmm, first game - no idea! Gonna have to ask the old man! He apparently used to take me to the footy before I knew what it was!

A game that sticks out - years ago when I was little at a game at Windy Hill we were playing Melbourne and we ended up standing near this lady who was telling us about her son who was playing in the little league at half time - I was sooo jelous!! haha.

Why do I follow Essendon? My old man is/was a footy nut - I have a picture of me in my glass cot thingy at the hospital with an Essendon scarf around me, and a couple posters up on the walls around me. Apparently I was the main attraction for the nurses in the baby's ward haha! I also have a picture of me, not very old, with an Essendon footy which was nearly bigger than me! In other words - I had no choice! (but Im not complaining:D )

1. First game was vs. St.Kilda at Moorabbin in 1981. We had family friends who were involved in the St.Kilda social club, so I went there all decked out in royal blue and white in the middle of a sea of red and black in the St.Kilda social club stand. The game finished with North Melbourne ahead by a lazy 104 points. I got taken to the St.Kilda rooms after the game and met many of the Saints players and got plenty of autographs. Many tried to convert me to the Saints cause, but thankfully, I've been saved 20 years of chronic heartache by sticking with my Roos!

2. The game that sticks out is our 1994 match against Hawthorn at the MCG. We hadn't beaten them for about 10 years, but with Dunstall and Langford out for them and a North team that was on the rise, I was certain of a win. I predicted a 10 goal win....the final margin was double that. I just remember the total dominance by our team over the Hawks. I also remember the '94 Preliminary Final vs Geelong for the sheer pain and misery of losing a game that we should not have lost. The '96 Grand Final was just a blur.

3. Barrack for North because I lived the first few years of my life in that suburb.

4. Fave player as a kid was Malcolm Blight. 'nuff said.

First game of footy - Round 2, 1981. North Melbourne vs Essendon at Arden Street. Essendon won 111-99.

Most memorable match - 1996 Grand Final. Most memorable H&A match was probably the 1990 game between North and Richmond. I wasn't at the game, but still have the highlights video. Longmire kicked 12 and North won by 141 points (209-68). After seeing a few mediocre North teams get flogged in the 1980s, that was the first big win I had the pleasure of experiencing. There were a few big 100+ point wins in 1983, but I was too young and didn't follow the game closely enough to remember too much about them.

Why the Roos? - Who knows?

Favourite player - Wayne Carey. The complete footballing package. Sadly, we haven't seen the best of him this year, but at full strength this guy never ceased to amaze me with what he could do, even after having watched him do it nearly every week for the last 8 years!

Because of the fact that I'm relatively new to football (I was born in England, and didn't become even remotely interested until I was about 9 or 10) and because of the team I barrack for (Essendon) I can see myself getting bagged for my answers here.

1. First game of football was Geelong vs St Kilda in 1995. St Kilda won, and Gary Ablett took a great mark, that's all I remember from that. First Essendon game was the first year I became really obsessed with footy which was 1997. IT was round 3, against North Melbourne at the mcg, and we won. at the end of round three, Essendon were the only team to have won all games, but we ended up finishing 14th. Matthew Lloyd was a late replacement for Mark Mercuri, and he started on a wing and kicked 4 goals- and was suddenly the talk around town.

2. The one game that really sticks out is the Essendon vs Western Bulldogs game in 1999. Round 13 I think it was. We had a load of injuries going into the game and Matthew Lloyd went down very early on with an ankle injury, but the young guys got us over the line by 3 points. Also I think it was late 1998 when we played Carlton, and were down 25 points halfway into the last quarter and gone for sure. Then we got a couple of goals, and SOS stuffed up a kick in or two, and we won by... wow my memory has failed me- a couple of points.

3. I don't know- it was probably something stupid. Like I said, I wasn't into footy until the early 90s. My father grew up in Australia in the country so he was a Geelong supporter, the rest of the family had no idea. Most the kids in my 1991 grade 4 class at an Avondale Heights primary school barracked for Collingwood, so I said I did to, just to fit in. When I tried to break the news to my dad he said something like "Jesus, I think I'd prefer you to barrack for even Essendon than Collingwood" Perhaps that was what did it, but like I said, I really don't remember. I guess I just started barracking for them one day, and it stuck.

4. James Hird. What can I say, he's a brilliant footballer, and no I don't think he's good looking.

1) Dad tells me it was 1989 but my first game i can rmbr was Dogs v PIes 1991 at VP and we lost.

2) Ive got 2 games last year against the bombers we did the "impossible" and beat the dons by 11 points in what for me was one of the best matches and it was great irony that fletcher th great FB got slaughtered by C.GRANT & and the other one was in 98 when we played the rooboys at the MCG for topspot in front of 69,000ppl and it was a great spectacle with both sides fighting it out and having the privilige of seeing the 2 great CHF's going at it, even if it was at different ends, but we lost by 4 points and shattred our dream of finishing on top.

3) MY dad went 4 the mighty footscray and before i could rmbr he was taking me to the Whitten Oval and i had a Doggie jumper with no.7 on my back.

4) Chris Grant, The Down to Earth real football champion, put his club before the $ and a real clubman and a good down to earth bloke and of the new brigade id have to say Robert Murphy he oozes class.

(1) First game I went to was the 1978 GF between Sturt and Norwood. No more comment on that game needed as that is another subject altogether.

(2) Game that I attended that sticks out was when we defeated Port at Unley in 1983 by a huge margin,, I think its their record loss.

(3) I barrack for Sturt and Carlton and live in SA.
Am rather loyal with my teams so when the crows came in I took a passing interest in their results but saw no reason to change away from Carlton, but Sturt are my Number 1 love.

(4) Favourite player ever was Peter Motley without a doubt and for Carlton it has to be Kouta.

All the best
Smithy

First game v St Kilda, don't remember a thing.

Most memorable, 1984 Grand Final. Spent all day standing in the outer, U19's, ressies and finally the real thing! After a miserable first three quarters, a stunning comeback and glory. You beauty!

Dad took me to the footy when I was a kid and as he barracked for the Dons that's who we went to see.

Neale Daniher. Had it all. Easily the best of the clan. Never forget the day he beat Carlton at Princes Park ;)

1. Hawthorn v Melbourne at the MCG in 1985 I think. Can't remember much except Hawthorn thrashed them and some new kid called Dunstall had a good match.

2. 1991 Grand Final, because we were too old, too slow and too bloody good! For H&A memories though, definitely coming back from 63 points down against St. Kilda - still get goosebumps thinking about the roar when we hit the front.

And without a doubt the merger match in 1996. Won by a point, Dunstall kicked 10 including his 100th, got us into the finals and the passion of the crowd was incredible. That win played a big part in saving the club.

3. Mum barracked for the Hawks.

4. Of all time, Dunstall - fair, team man, just sensational. Now, Chick - his work ethic is unbelievable, or Hay.

Although I have been at heaps of footy games before this, my first game I can remember was Mernda playing Panton Hill in 1986, Panton Hill lost badly and my first V.F.L game was at Victoria Park in 1986 when Fitzroy played Essendon, I know that Fitzroy won after an Essendon fightback and it was Jimmy Wynd's first game.

There have been some memoreable games that I have witnessed, these are

.Fitzroy's last Melbourne game in 1996, a sad time for all
.Mernda beating West Preston in 1991 to win it first flag in the D.V.F.L
.Panton Hill beating Hurstbridge in a final in 1987, and beating them again at Panton Hill's 75th Anniversary game this year
.Fitzroy's finals wins against Essendon and Sydney.

The reason why I followed Panton Hill was because it was my childhood home, Mernda because of my father, and Fitzroy because I liked Paul Roos, because he played the game fairly and showed great loyalty for all those years.

1st game - Hawthorn v Geelong, 1975 at PP. Dad is a Geelong supporter, and let himself down badly by not converting me to the Pivots.

1st Footscray game - 1976 Elimination Final v Geelong. We lost :(

Most treasured game - Footscray v Collingwood, 1990, for many reasons. Firstly, we've never won a premiership in my lifetime! Secondly, it was to be the Pies premiership year, and they had won something like 10 in a row before the Doggies game, all in an emphatic manner. Thirdly, it was at the G, big crowd and great atmosphere. Fourthly, I was there with a Collingwood supporter. Lastly, we were in front all day before the Woods stormed home in the last quarter. They should have won. Kerrison missed a relatively easy snap that would have stretched their lead to about 8 points with 2 minutes to go...then enter Billy Kolyniuk. His famous baulk around Graham Wright, bounce and goal on the run still tingles my spine. I was sitting right in front of it (everyone says that, but I was, honestly!).

Why I barrack for the Scrays? Ha! It's almost ludicrous. I grew up in the eastern suburbs, and didn't have a team well into Grade 1. From memory, I toyed with Richmond and North, but had not made a firm commitment to either. Then one fateful day, I went to my Nanna's place and a young family had moved in two doors down. They had a kid my age, and I met him in the street. As we began to play (probably chasey or something) he asked me which footy team I went for. Hesitating I said 'er...which team do you..er..go for? 'FOOTSCRAY' he said. 'So do I' I beamed!! From that unassuming and otherwise trivial moment, my allegiance has been with the doggies. Why I stuck with them when previous flirtations had produced no commitment I have no idea. But the Bulldogs it is and shall ever be :)

Favourite player - growing up it was Kelvin Templeton. There wasn't much to choose from. Back then, Footscray was well versed in how to break the heart of a young boy. It seemed that every other day The Sun ran a headline like 'Dempsey departs' or 'Lions snare Quinlan.' It gave me so much pleasure to see Chris Grant stay with us. He has always been special, and this reinforced it forever.

1. I started going pretty late cuz my dad pretty much hates footy so he didn't want me going too much. I went to the kangaroos vs Collingwood game at the MCG on the 8th of June 1998, on my 13th birthday. We got done but I don't remember the exact score, it was the first time i'd been to the MCG and I was stoked, I don't remember much else about it cuz I was knocked out the week after in a car crash and my memories a little blurry around that time. Since then I think i've missed about 3 Melbourne based matches for us so I think i'm doin pretty well.. hehe

2. The one that stands out the most.. well there's two of them, the first is the 1990 GF, I don't remember much cuz i was about 5 and a half, but I remember sitting on my grandpa's lap cheering as loud as I could until about the 3rd quarter, I fell asleep on his lap so I didn't even see the whole game, but that stands out the most because it's the earliest memory of a match, and the earliest memory I have of my grandfather. The second game was the game against Carlton last year at Optus Oval, July 9, it was like the second time that I'd been to OO, and it was one of the worst losses I'd been to so it kinda stands out as well.

3. OK well I don't exactly remember why I barrack for Collingwood, my dads not into footy and my mum is a richmond supporter but I am pretty sure that it was a lot to do with my grandpa, he's my closest relative and he's pretty much a magpie nut, most of his brothers and sisters are heavily into the pies too so I think I must have got it from them when i was little. Nothing too interesting.

4. My favourite player would have to be tarkyn lockyer, he's stepped up a lot this year, I just love his style of play. I love the fact that he's small but he still manages to outrun and mark the opposition and his kicking skills are remarkable. His courage amazes me at times. He's suited pretty much anywhere on the ground, the fact that he stepped up from the backline to now the midfield and from what i saw on the weekend the forward line (experimentally) says that he is a pretty skilled player, he fits perfectly into our young side and I reckon he's gunna be an excellent player in the future if not already.

well here I go

1st game - um um um good bloody question. I have no idea but it would have been at Victoria Park in the very early 80's.

games that stick out - the 90 G/F. I remember getting into the ground with a males, adult ticket when I was only 9 years old. I also remember at half time sitting in my seat saying wwe better not lose this now (coz all my life I have been drilled with all the GF losses). After the game I was jumping up and down singing the club song (as we do). Than I remember the next day mum and dad took me to Vic Park to celebrate. With Banksy and Pants, up on the stage singing and the HUGE crowd. weel enough said

Other games gotta be the all the games a Vic Park, as my family had 5 seats in the Sheerin (Speeling) stand behind the goel every year, so we got to know the ppl around us and I had a really good buddy who saat behind us there and we used to draw things and muck around.

I Support the Mighty Maggies coz of my family are all Collingwood supporters except one, so really I had no Choice. I was born and bred a Collingwood fan

My fav player. When I was young I used to Luv BT (Brian Taylor) and refused to watch a game unless he was playing (LOL)
Than it was Gav Crosisca, Who was such a STAR!!! and now it is Nick Davis (well since he got drafted) While is a such a sweetie and a nice guy. ASWELL AS a Fantastic player and a FUTURE SUPA STAR!!!

1. The first match of 1976 at the Western Oval. A fellow American teacher and I decided to see what footy was all about. We had arrived in Australia the previous August but didn't really pay too much attention to it then. I decided to "root" for Footscray since I lived in Maribyrnong and she "rooted" for Essendon since she lived in Moonee Ponds. We lost by ONE point and I had my team forever - I guess I've always gone for the underdog - gosh... I even supported George McGovern for President in 1972 against Richard Nixon, but THAT'S another story! Gary Dempsey took about 15 marks that day and I was hooked forever! Besides, Footscray's colours were the same as the USA and the Chicago Cubs!

2. Prelim Final '97. I almost flew back to the states the next week I was so depressed.
Western Oval July 1, 1978. We beat St Kilda with the highest VFL score up to that time. Kelvin Templeton kicked 15 goals.

3. Answered in 1. I never had the advantage/disadvantage of following my family's team like so many of you. I CHOSE the Bulldogs and have stuck with them ever since.

4. Chris Grant. I honestly believe that if he had left our club to go to Port, there would be no Western Bulldogs today. He is a champion player and fair, no matter what Ian Collins thinks. He's a great role model for kids.

Originally posted by Magpie Greg
Firstly Top Dog , your team did not beat Collingwood at VP in 1991 though they did lead by 6 goals half way through the third qtr.

The alst time Footscray won at COllingwood was 1985.

Correct, MG. The ONLY time the Bulldogs won at Vic Park during the 24 years(1976-2000) I went to Doggies games was in 1985. And where was I that day? On a bus with a Magpie mate on our way to the Gold Coast for a week! :mad: :mad:

Originally posted by Chicago1

Correct, MG. The ONLY time the Bulldogs won at Vic Park during the 24 years(1976-2000) I went to Doggies games was in 1985. And where was I that day? On a bus with a Magpie mate on our way to the Gold Coast for a week! :mad: :mad:

Oh dear C1!! Actually, in the very same year the Doggies scored their only victory at Kardinia Park in something like a 45 year period (we next won their in 96, and even the great EJ never played in a winning side at Catland). Please tell me C1 that you were there, and not visiting Ayres Rock with your Geelong supporting uncle!

First game:
1978: South Melbourne v Essendon at the Lake Oval. My old grandad took me with the intention of makin' me a Swans..or Bloods (as he called 'em...he still calls 'em that) supporter.
P!ssed rain all day and i couldn't see a thing, but i was hooked.
Bombers won the game and the record books show a young Tim Watson booted 5. Old grandad was shattered when i told him was an Essendon supporter 'cause their colors looked better than the 'girly' Red and White of his beloved Bloods. To this day..he still calls me a 'turncoat', and he still calls his beloved Bloods "South Melbourne".

Most memorable H&A games:
1981 v Carlton at Princes Park, 26 points down entering time on in the last quarter. Bombers get off the floor to win by a point thanks to some Neale Daniher (absolute tragedy what happened to him) brilliance.

1985 v Nth. Melbourne at Windy Hill, Reigning premiers coming off their first loss to Carlton in 5 years the previous week. Bombers come out and obliterate the 'Roos in an awesome first half to lead by 100 points at the long break. Some wacky coaching moves from Sheeds in the second half results in a winning margin of 'only' 104 points.

Favorite player/s:
Neale Daniher (again..a bloody tragedy)
Leon Baker
'Rotten' Ronnie Andrews

where's wally?

Originally posted by Waltzing Woof Biscuit

Oh dear C1!! Actually, in the very same year the Doggies scored their only victory at Kardinia Park in something like a 45 year period (we next won their in 96, and even the great EJ never played in a winning side at Catland). Please tell me C1 that you were there, and not visiting Ayres Rock with your Geelong supporting uncle!

WWB, I was at Kardinia for that one. I think I might have tipped the Cats that round. Hey, when it comes to money, I have no loyalty! LOL

I remember taking a couple of students to KP in 1981(?). We took one of those old red rattlers and almost froze on the way home thanks to the rain that day! I remember almost breaking an Olympic long jump record trying to jump over one of those perpetual puddles outside of the toilets at the visitors end. Oh.... how I miss the good old days! ;) :D

Just a friendly word of advice. Make sure you enjoy EVERY match you go to, win, lose or draw. I don't know if I'll ever be able to see another footy match, but I'm grateful I have 24 years of memories I can relive in my mind. Well, maybe not that '97 Prelim Final! Them awful Crows!;)

1. First game I went to: Sturt v West Torrens at Thebarton. Glad I got to see Mr Magic, Paul Bagshaw in the flesh.

2. Most Memorable Game: Can't decide between 2 of them. 1988 when we defeated Port by a point in front of 40000 people or Sturt v Norwood in 1983 when we were 5 goals down in time on in the last quarter.. we won by 7 points.

3. Why do I barrack for Sturt? My mother used to live in the area and she influenced me. Dad was a Norwood supporter, but I couldn't ever stand the Redlegs.. in the end we converted him. :D .. In the AFL, I barrack for Freo since I've been living in Perth, mainly cos we used to hang out at the Left Bank hotel and met some of the players (and I can't stand the Eagles).

4. Peter Motley. Without doubt, the man eptomises courage. Would've been one of the greats of the AFL if his career hadn't been cut so tragically short.

1. First match was North v Richmond at the 'G in 1980, famous I think for Blighty classicly roving the pack in the North Goal square, only to run into the "Open Points" :( . I think the Tiges won by about 5 goals, Roachy kicked a few I think.

2. Most memorable game (outside finals) hmmmmm, North v. Essendon 1993 - the first time North had played before a largish crowd for a while, 2 up & coming teams, a brilliant contest all night, with Carey leading the final quarter charge to get us over the line by 6 goals. I thought there & then that this North line up could achieve the dream of a Premiership (took a couple more years though)

3. Started following North when I started school (abt 1979 I think), had very influential friends.

4. Mal Blight was the boyhood idol, & Wayne's been the best I've ever seen.

Cheers

Baldrick

Originally posted by Blues_Brat
1. First game I went to: Sturt v West Torrens at Thebarton. Glad I got to see Mr Magic, Paul Bagshaw in the flesh.

Who the hell is Paul Bagshaw and why has he stolen Peter Daicos's nick name?

Originally posted by Magpie-Fletch

Who the hell is Paul Bagshaw and why has he stolen Peter Daicos's nick name?

local legend who played 360 games for Sturt from 1964-1980 (5th or 6th most games in SANFL history). Won 5 best and fairests (66, 69, 70, 71, 77) leading goalkicker (1978) and was captain from 1973-1980.

Truly a South Australian legend.

1. First match was in 1993. Essendon vs Footscray, late in the season. I went to primary school in the western suburbs not too far from the Whitten Oval. The Bulldogs gave away free tickets several times a year to my school so I decided to pick up tickets for the upcoming Bombers vs Bulldogs match. Derrick Kickket was on fire, the Bombers won and they gave us free pies and drinks as well. I had a great time.

2. Most memerable H&A game would probably have been the centenary re-enactment match between Essendon and Geelong. 8 straight by the "little red head". You ripper!

Essendon vs Carlton in '98. Lucus kicks winning goal after SOS' blunder.

Finals: Essendon vs Kangaroos qualifying final in 2000. Simply suburb football by the Bombers.

Grand final. It's the grand final, duh! Oh, and we won too. It's also the first GF I saw live in person.

3. I started supporting the Bombers because I liked the nickname and the colours.

4. Favourite player(s) would be Hird and the Johnson's.

footy memories