For historians - Clubs that once were

• Thread starter Thread starter Mobbs

Fitzroy FC
I've been checking up on old clubs, the ones that have gone by the wayside.

There are a lot of websites out there that cover local leagues, with decent details of each participating club. But they nearly always choose to ignore those clubs that have gone by the wayside.

The exceptions (steeped in grouseness) include the Maryborough-Castlemaine District League (http://users.origin.net.au/~mcdfl/), who give mention to their dear departed, and now the Wimmera Football League
(http://geocities.com/Colosseum/Lodge/5787/) have followed suit.

I recently enquired with the WFL about past clubs and, lo and behold, now they have included a reference to the Rupanyups and Jeparits, etc, that used to compete.

Should be more of this.

Another site that mentions old clubs of the district is the Manangatang site (http://www.manang.vic.edu.au/town/home.htm). Oddly enough, you'll need to choose the 'Profile' link, rather than either the 'Sports' or 'History' link.

These are all great reads if you like to soak up historical regional football information.

If anyone knows a bit about the past clubs of country leagues (my main interest is in country vic leagues/clubs, rather than other states or metro leagues), I'd love to hear about it.

I reckon you could fill a book of country and even suburban teams that have gone to the wall. I read a lot of footy history books and read of clubs I've never heard of.

(Reasonably) Close to your home of Marnoo, I have books on Hopetoun, Warracknabeal and Dunnstown mentioning heaps of them. Let me know if you need any info. from them. Warracknabeal & Hopetoun in particular talks of the "North Wimmera FL" and the "Borung & Dunmunkle FL" - the town of Warracknabeal (current pop. app 1400) once boasted 5 FCs at the one time, inconceivable these days.

Borung/Dunmunkle? Holy MacHoly I'd LOVE to hear about THAT league! I'd never heard of it. Warracknabeal? Feed me, Seymour!

Even Hopetoun, a little further away, yep I'd love to hear about it. Dunnstown, trying to think, is that a place near Crowlands or a place near Bungaree? No, wait, the one near Crowlands is 'Dunneworthy'.

You've got history books, I hear. Don't have a photocopier at work, by any chance? Heh.

Seriously, I'd love to get the footy info out of those books, or at least give me the names of the books, and the names of the blokes who print them.

Thanks Woofer, yer a gem.

The W'Beal book describes briefly the Borung & Dunmunkle Shire F.L as being formed in 1906 consisting of W'Beal, Minyip, Murtoa and Rupanyup. The league was discontnued after 1920 when it joined the Wimmera District League which then comprised Ararat, Stawell, Horsham, Murtoa, Minyip, Rupanyup & W'Beal. In 1919 the Borung & Wimmera F.A was formed with Ailsa , Aubrey, Wallup & W'beal -this looks like a 'junior league' and it looks like W'Beal played in both. Intersetingly, the Wimmera DFL played their games on a Wednesday afternoon which was the gazetted half day holiday - it looks like the poor workingmen worked all day Saturday.

The Hopetoun book talks of the "Mallee F.A" formed in 1907 with Hopetoun,Roseberry & Beulah, admitting Galaquil East in 1910, Brim replacing GE in 1912,W'Beal 2nds in 1922, Sheep Hills and Bangerang in 1924. Other clubs mentioned were Cookies Plains, Echunga, Yaapeet and Nyallo - great names eh?

Anyway the Hopetoun book was pub in 1992 by North West Press of W'beal ph 053 98 2033 & the W'Beal book was for their centenary pub in 1986 and produced by the footy club itself & printed by Barry Jolley Printing, 9 Scott St W'beal. Cheers

Yer a dead set legend, Woofer, and no denyin'. Some of that info is of great interest to me, and I might want to give that number a tingle, into the bargain. Sheep Hills and Minyip are near my area, but I'm sort of starting to spread my wings in the interest arena, these days.

I went to the Melbourne library today, checked all editions of Stawell Times News for 1961 (microfilm), and also read into a book on the history of Minyip, and another on the history of the Barkly area. Found heaps of info.

Examples : Minyip, Murtoa and Rupanyup all fielded teams in both the Wimmera FL and the South Wimmera FL in '61. Seems that their reserves were in the SWFL. Bloody Minyip's MAGOOS made the finals while Marnoo's seniors missed out ... the SCUM!

Also discovered a 'Mountain Creek FL' (Barkly, Navarre, Frenchmans, Moonambel, Redbank, etc) and Wimmera Football Association (1920's). Even found more info on the 'Mid-Wimmera FL'.

This means that the Wimmera sported a WFL, a WFA, a SWFL, a NWFL, a MWFL and a WWFL, at different times. That's a whole lotta Wimmera!

I just happened to drop into the library, now I reckon I'll be there at 10am opening time tomorrow ... and the day after ... and the day after ... and the ...

Thanks again, Woofer!