Forecast of Showers

Perrin

Apr 17, 2002
NSW North Coast
Brisbane Lions
Just checked the weather forecast for Melbourne on Saturday and it looks like there is a strong possibility of showers (min 9 & max 16). I know its only Wednesday but the long-range weather forecasts are much better these days.

For us the pros of a wet game

1) Collingwood have not performed well in the wet this year (ie rd3 loss to Carlton)
2) Rocca will be ineffective (He is my danger man)
3) Brisbane are a much more skilful unit and should handle the wet pill better
4) Brisbane’s two finals this year have been played in somewhat damp conditions

Cons
1) We have not really played proper wet weather football this year.
2) There will be less of our open running style of play
3) Collingwood’s smalls, such as N & L Davis, could excel in such conditions
4) Sh%tty conditions for my first grand final (luckily I will be sitting under cover)
5) It will be harder to spot Buckley’s tears after we flog em.

Overall I think the wet will be of more benefit to us than Collingwood. Anyone else got some thoughts?

http://www.bom.gov.au/cgi-bin/wrap_fwo.pl?IDV10450.txt

dunno if youve been watching the same season us the rest of us but the pies played great footy in the wet on anzac day. im more than happy to concede you guys have a more skillful side than us and in all reality, should win. but if its wet and you guys think its a walkover....i reckon we might just nab ya.

Hang on!!

There's a difference between a few showers and an absolute deluge like the one on Anzac Day.

If conditions are a little greasy and slippery, the Lions will firm in favoritism even further. The conditions when we played Adelaide suited us down to the ground. As Mattews said, they were good tackling conditions and that is where the Lions excel. They tackle and harass the living crap out of their opponents without dropping their own skill level.

If it absolutely buckets down on GF day, sure that will likely level things up becauses luck rather than skill will play a bigger part.

But you can't have it both ways.

A "few showers" won't worry us in the slightest and those who are suggesting those type of conditions will give the Pies some kind of advantage based on Anzac Day, are drawing a very long bow indeed.

Or just grasping at straws.;)

Last Saturday night at the "G"abba the humidity made the grass very wet and slippery under foot and look at the scoreline in that one. ;)

A very wet game will even things up a lot and mistakes will be costlier than ever. Brisbane would win in a canter in perfect conditions such is their skill level and their fast ball movement so I am happy that the elements do not play a part.

Weather report - Friday afternoon in Melbourne 4 pm - The predicted showers have not developed yet, although some ominous grey clouds have passed across the sky in the last half hour. Crossing our fingers that it holds off, at least until 6pm tommorrow (or alternatively rains itself out by 3 pm).

Forecast of Showers