Opinion Former federal treasurer Josh Frydenberg tipped to become next AFL CEO. (Edit: He was never approached)

Why would the AFL want a loser to be their next CEO?
images

If you're gonna complain about the AFL being corrupt right now and you want this guy in charge... wow. Wow is all I'll say.

Surely the AFL aren't dumb enough to appoint him. It doesn't really matter how good he is, as soon as you have an ex-politician running the place, over half the fans are going to hate him & it will cost the game big time.

It usually takes years to build up that hate through bad decisions, this time he'll start bad and it will only get worse over time.

Is this a joke?
Right wing transphobe and climate skeptic Josh Frydenberg is apparantly frontrunner to become AFL CEO.
It just goes to show the AFL are more concerned with generating profits for corporates rather than making the AFL the game of the people.
As a politician he gave millions of $ in handouts to Harvey Norman and other corporate companies.
He opposes a designated Indgenous voice to parliament and the Ularu statement.
He refused to call out transphobe Catherine Deves. He lost a seat held for 80 years. He has supported Scomo's Islamophobia in the past.
He continually misled and lied to the media.
How can this partisan trump supporter possibly be appointed as CEO of the people's game?
There is no way minority groups such as the LGBT and Indigenous communities will support this.
I for one will stop following AFL if this clown is appointed.

Took two sentences before the lefty foaming at the mouth dribble full of ideological labels and personal insults.

Hope he becomes the CEO for the melts lol

Took two sentences before the lefty foaming at the mouth dribble full of ideological labels and personal insults.

Hope he becomes the CEO for the melts lol
You don'y like the truth mate? Which minority groups do you hate the most?

Surely the AFL aren't dumb enough to appoint him. It doesn't really matter how good he is, as soon as you have an ex-politician running the place, over half the fans are going to hate him & it will cost the game big time.

It usually takes years to build up that hate through bad decisions, this time he'll start bad and it will only get worse over time.

The vast majority of fans have no idea who is running the league.

Diehards and footy nerds do but we make up a very small percentage of the overall support for the game.

So he (or whoever they appoint) may annoy some of the ‘fringe extremists’ but ultimately even the majority of those won’t care if their team is winning regularly.

Can’t think of a politicians existence that we are better off for having. Other than a sex offender, I can’t think of a lower class of people.

I had an overseas friend watch the game on TV and he was wondering why someone kept on shouting "Stan". He genuinely thought it was an ad promo for the streaming service.
Ch7 annoyed over this.
Want Stand to be replaced with Mate.

Is this a joke?
Right wing transphobe and climate skeptic Josh Frydenberg is apparantly frontrunner to become AFL CEO.
It just goes to show the AFL are more concerned with generating profits for corporates rather than making the AFL the game of the people.
As a politician he gave millions of $ in handouts to Harvey Norman and other corporate companies.
He opposes a designated Indgenous voice to parliament and the Ularu statement.
He refused to call out transphobe Catherine Deves. He lost a seat held for 80 years. He has supported Scomo's Islamophobia in the past.
He continually misled and lied to the media.
How can this partisan trump supporter possibly be appointed as CEO of the people's game?
There is no way minority groups such as the LGBT and Indigenous communities will support this.
I for one will stop following AFL if this clown is appointed.

hope he gets it just to drive this nut even more insane

Thanks mate You are typical of right wing nuts who vote based on hatred of climate scientists and minority groups.
Why not vote for policies you like instead?
Frydenburg opposed a corruption commission. Why would that be?

The vast majority of fans have no idea who is running the league.

Diehards and footy nerds do but we make up a very small percentage of the overall support for the game.

So he (or whoever they appoint) may annoy some of the ‘fringe extremists’ but ultimately even the majority of those won’t care if their team is winning regularly.
Over 80-90% of the people attending the footy wouldn't know who Gil is? I call bullshit. He reads out the votes at the Brownlow and is on news regularly. Kids won't but they aren't the ones paying money into the AFL coffers.

Who ever doesn't know who Gil is probably doesn't know Frydenberg either so to them it won't matter but I guarantee you that more than 50% of Australia's who watch footy in the season would know the CEO's name or seen a picture of him. The fans with full memberships will definitely know who he is.

Thanks mate You are typical of right wing nuts who vote based on hatred of climate scientists and minority groups.
Why not vote for policies you like instead?
Frydenburg opposed a corruption commission. Why would that be?
we here to discuss footy or politics?

youre on the wrong forum mate. give it a rest

Robodebt shows that Collingwood is $17b in debt.
No chance - under Frydenberg and Morrisons model they would be sending debt collectors to under 8 matches and be stealing kids lunch money to line the pockets of the Rich AFL clubs. It's all about kicking the poor and helping the rich with these criminals.

we here to discuss footy or politics?

youre on the wrong forum mate. give it a rest
Appointing a politician to CEO does involve politics. What you have said and done in the past is relevant to your suitability for the job.
He is a divisive person who lies all the time.Plus he mismanaged the economy and increased the debt by billions.

OK, almost all of your points are his political views and have absolutely nothing to do regarding his ability to run a corporation of this leagues size.

I would have thought he's close to the most qualified person in the leagues history to be in the running for the top job.

Isn’t that OPs point?

The AFL spruik these ideals and values, yet it’s rumoured that one of the front runners for the job is a candidate to whom views appear to contradict what the AFL represent.

Appointing a politician to CEO does involve politics. What you have said and done in the past is relevant to your suitability for the job.
He is a divisive person who lies all the time.Plus he mismanaged the economy and increased the debt by billions.
You've gone off your rocker about his political views.

Stop being a nut and focus on footy. You're ruining it for everyone else.