Oppo Camp Former Players

• Thread starter Thread starter manboob

the old 5 grand story....

wanted 5k more and the Cats said nope...

so he walked...

IMO, 89 would have been different with him in the hoops....

Go Catters
Of course, but Couch did have an incredible 89, in the centre, and how was Diesel that year? We can't just add Diesel to the team dynamic we had in 89 and say that he would have made all the difference. How many games did Couchy's direct centre play help us over the line in some games n 89?

Im speculating... and your speculating... its that type of thread.
Definitely....I have no inside information about whether Williams would have stayed LT at Geelong. But You'd have to wonder whether they'd have even looked at Couch, remembering Fitzroy rejected him

Bring back Billy Ryan.

604382-best-marks-of-all-time.jpg

To my knowledge he's always said he was happy at Geelong and would have stayed, so not sure about that.
Until we read his memoirs we won't know.

Definitely....I have no inside information about whether Williams would have stayed LT at Geelong. But You'd have to wonder whether they'd have even looked at Couch, remembering Collingwood rejected him

We were always looking at players rejected....

Williams rejected by Car
Ablett sent packing from Haw
Hinkley gone from Fitzroy

Until we read his memoirs we won't know.
Heard him interviewed one night, Finey, or Mike, and he did say he was happy at Geelong, and that he loved playing with Ablett and Turner, and that Ablett was easily the best player who has ever played the game. That bit I liked and remembered.
Was not a lot of $ that would have kept him at Geelong, so he said.

Heard hi interviewed one night, Finey, or Mike, and he did say he was happy at Geelong, and that he loved playing with Ablett and Turner, and that Ablett was easily the best player who has ever played the game. That bit I liked and remembered.
Was not a lot of $ that would have kept him at Geelong, so he said.

My memory of the dollars is vague... He wanted something like an extra $5 or $15 G... The Swans offer was well over double what he was on at Geelong.. but we also got something like $60 G in transfer which went a long way towards some of the debit we had. Its was around that era , 85, 86,87 that half the clubs were basically broke and I think the club had to let him go..

William's probably thought we didn't rate him by not find such a small amount , and Hafey got in his ear and a few others ..

My memory of the dollars is vague... He wanted something like an extra $5 or $15 G... The Swans offer was well over double what he was on at Geelong.. but we also got something like $60 G in transfer which went a long way towards some of the debit we had. Its was around that era , 85, 86,87 that half the clubs were basically broke and I think the club had to let him go..

William's probably thought we didn't rate him by not find such a small amount , and Hafey got in his ear and a few others ..

The offer from Sydney came first, and was something like double his wage.
He then went to Goggin and asked him for a mere $5000 extra.
Goggin knocked him back, so he said yes to Sydney's offer.
On appeal, for the 3 players, we received about 1/3 of what the club was expecting.

The offer from Sydney came first, and was something like double his wage.
He then went to Goggin and asked him for a mere $5000 extra.
Goggin knocked him back, so he said yes to Sydney's offer.
On appeal, for the 3 players, we received about 1/3 of what the club was expecting.

we wanted a huge amount..but its too long ago Fred..a different time , a different League , a different system

Yes, it was a very short-lived system, trying to stave off a full restraint of trade disaster, it only lasted a year or two from memory.

Something in the line of what you said........

http://www.footyalmanac.com.au/diesel-from-golden-square-to-gold-in-sydney/
AS SOON as Edelsten appointed Hafey, Williams writes, Hafey’s manager Danny Finley contacted him along with three other out-of-contract Geelong players, Andrew Bews, David Bolton and Bernard Toohey.
“Andrew was a local bloke from North Geelong and not really interested. But the rest of us were keen to know more.
“I was particularly interested because I was having trouble negotiating a new contract with Bill Goggin, Geelong’s former champion rover and later coach. He’d become football director and was the real power around the place.
“I had just won the club’s best-and-fairest award but was being paid considerably less than several other players — Gary Ablett, Brian Peake, John Mossop, the South Australian Bruce Lindner and even my old mate, Mick Turner.
“I felt I was entitled to a better deal.’’

So Williams contacted another old teammate, former champion Golden Square full-forward Ron Best, to find out how he thought Williams, Toohey and Bolton should proceed.
“Ron suggested that David Bolton and I drive up to Bendigo on the Friday night, discuss the matter at his place and maybe give the Doc a call.”
Best ended up making the call and it was arranged for Bolton, Toohey, Williams and their wives to meet Edelsten at the Menzies at Rialto Hotel in Melbourne.
“At the meeting the Doc was very frank, very open. He said yes to all our inquiries — money, accommodation, everything.”
Then came the quandary, Williams says. The offer was in the region of $100,000 a year — more than double the money Geelong was paying him.
“But I really wanted to stay at Geelong. All I asked was to raise my pay from $45,000 a year to $50,000 but Goggin wouldn’t have it, so they let a lousy $5000 take me away.”
Ron Best arranged for his friend Andrew Fairlie, a solicitor in Rochester and also a Richmond Football Club director, to tie up the legal side of things with Sydney. Fairlie clinched a four-year contract for Williams and three-year deals for Toohey and Bolton.
“Of course Geelong expected to profit handsomely in transfer fees for the three of us — fees which disappeared in the VFL/AFL once the draft system of player transfers was introduced.
“The Geelong brains trust was disappointed when Dr Edelsten offered just $300,000. Geelong had expected more than half-a-million,” Williams wrote.
“They put a price of $200,000 (the VFL ceiling then current on transfers) on me and something like $180,000 each on the other two.”
What actually happened, says Williams, was that after an appeal Geelong received $120,000 for Williams himself, $80,000 for Toohey and $40,000 for Bolton.
The Cats ended up something like $320,000 — on their calculations —down the gurgler. And they actually ended up pocketing less than the Doc’s original $300,000 offer, receiving just $240,000.
http://www.footyalmanac.com.au/diesel-from-golden-square-to-gold-in-sydney/

Adams looks to have gone past Hamling

Hamling missed a few games during the preseason due to injury and Adams has made himself a lock. What a find.

Could hamling play forward? I feel like that real mobile hit up CHF is probably what we are missing, particularly with Crameri out for the season.

The classic one is Greg Williams... had a look today... after Dangers 43 possessions... Williams had 38 on debut for us..and a goal..which I remember was a 50+M barrel ...
No he played 2 years for us , 84 and 85... and was part of the Sydney traitor squad that Dr Death bought and paid for .....

Considering a few years later..it was the start of the run 89-95 , and we saw what he did to us in the 95 gf...... Id say this is my nomination as a player that was a mistake to let go..
I have heard it said he only want a small amount , I also have heard it said that his transfer bailed the club that was basically broke... but if he had stayed Id say we would have won in 89 and then the flow mean we probably go better in 91 and 92. The whole Haw Geelong thing would have been far different.
Was offered 80,000 by the swans. Was on about 40,000 at geelong at the time. Said he would of stayed a cat if we offered just 5000 on top of his existing wage. That decision cost us multiple flags. Whoever made it should of been banished from the town.

Yes and no.

Call it a sliding doors opportunity, or whatever. But would we have seen the famous No.7 playing for Geelong if Williams had stayed? I doubt it. Couchy was recruited as a centreman.

Don't get me wrong about Williams. In the 2 years he played at Geelong he was elite. But I reckon he was the sort of player we only had "on loan". Even if the club had agreed to pay Williams the little extra he says he wanted to stay in 86, I bet he'd have eventually left us for Carlton or another club.
Based on what? Your own made up theory that helps you sleep well regarding the decision.

Got out of bed on the wrong side?

This is Big Footy where opinions are expressed, isn't it? And it is the Geelong Board, not Bay 13 or the AFL Board?

I based my comment about Williams on nothing more than a perception....my perception. I did not say "this is what happened".

I still don't know whether to believe what has been written, i.e., Williams wanted a few extra bucks and Goggin said no, so Williams departed. It just seemed so convenient and simplistic.

So who's itching for a Blake vs king vs Mumford discussion?

Or how about an SJ versus Bartel. Havnt had one of those in a while.
Mark Blake, haha

I can't believe we let Justin Murphy go after only a season, gun player and I've heard he was a top bloke as well, really well liked by the playing list.. Especially by Scarlo!

Oh what about Ronnie Burns? I remember him leading our goal kicking one year with about 27 for the seasons, I think we then went and recruited Brett Spinks, Jason Mooney, Kent Kingsley and then finally Cam Mooney in successive years. I think Burns played a couple seasons for the Toyota Camry's before pulling the pin

Don't forget Mitchell white, McCarthy, Haynes and Henry playfair in our long quest for a forward.

Got out of bed on the wrong side?

This is Big Footy where opinions are expressed, isn't it? And it is the Geelong Board, not Bay 13 or the AFL Board?

I based my comment about Williams on nothing more than a perception....my perception. I did not say "this is what happened".

I still don't know whether to believe what has been written, i.e., Williams wanted a few extra bucks and Goggin said no, so Williams departed. It just seemed so convenient and simplistic.
I always get on the wrong side of bed. My wife doesn't let me sleep on my preferred side.

I never like it when people put forward perceptions based on nothing as they are usually based on human irrationality.

I always get on the wrong side of bed. My wife doesn't let me sleep on my preferred side.

I never like it when people put forward perceptions based on nothing as they are usually based on human irrationality.
Then you must hate BF?

The extraordinary irony of that is if you look at Spinks' output at Geelong it actually wasn't that bad.

We'd take 35 goals in 19 games from Kersten or Vardy in a heartbeat.

The extraordinary irony of that is if you look at Spinks' output at Geelong it actually wasn't that bad.

We'd take 35 goals in 19 games from Kersten or Vardy in a heartbeat).
That is remarkable! It will be interesting to see what unfolds in 2016 with the greater focus on goal kicking by most clubs