Forward Structure 2010

Could be a host of combinations through the season. The good thing is that there do seem to be plenty of options. Whilst Waite is getting full fitness back one mix I had was HF Yarran Kruz Simpson F Betts Waite Setanta. Could also see Walker, Henderson, Hampson and many others in there at times.

HF: Yarran :: :: Lucas
FF: Betts :: Henderson :: Garlett

Ideally, we'd have Waite just floating wherever the hell he felt like.

Leave the forward line more open for Hendo, with Betts and Garlett crumbing and Yarran and Lucas being dangerous around 50.

Half considering Robinson for a Max Rooke type role as a makeshift CHF.

No room for McLean or Joseph Ricksta?

Three talls on the bench?

Whoops! I forgot about Joseph, He could probably take Yarran's place on the bench, also I just realized that I named Warnock as the starting ruckman and the first man on the bench :eek: Hampson should be the first man on the bench (sorry guys),

I think Brock McLean will get a game in the first 3 weeks with the absense of Judd but if he doesn't prove himself in our already "bursting with talent" midfield I think he may struggle to keep his place in the side :(,

Also as for the three talls on the bench, I just tried to pick a best 22 and put them in the positions I thought would best suit the team, in 2009 I seen Hampson beat Cox in the ruck pretty convincingly when we played WCE so I think he is a good fit as our 2nd Ruckman behind Warnock, Joseph proved himself to be a gun this year so yeah he gets a gig as well, as for Bower and O'hAilpin...im not too sure if they will fit in our best 22, Who do you suggest would get those spots??

Half considering Robinson for a Max Rooke type role as a makeshift CHF.

Walker is admittedly not as physical, but very attacking and aggressive and could also play that lead up role.

Interesting the amount of people that have us playing three talls in the forward line, we didn't do that this season and just had the two and a focus on forward pressure. Are we expecting this to change now Fev is gone?

Don't know if this is relevant or if you guys even care...but....there was a VERY reliable source at a party I went to the other night....that had had a tad too much to drink...are you lot aware you were an inch away from having Pavlich??????:eek: And I mean "Maxwell Smart missed by that much" away.

If this has been done before, I apologise, but it was news to me.:o

I think Brock McLean will get a game in the first 3 weeks with the absense of Judd but if he doesn't prove himself in our already "bursting with talent" midfield I think he may struggle to keep his place in the side :(,

Completely disagree with this.

We wouldn't have traded a good pick for a player that would struggle to keep his spot in our side.

You are underselling McLean a fair bit with that comment.

When he's fit he is a gun and easily in our best 22.

He's one of the types of midfielders we've been screaming out for.

A tough nut inside midfielder to get his hands dirty to get the ball and feed it out to the other midfielders, as well as block for them in congested situations.

You are right that our midfield is now bursting with talent and McLean is an integral part of that developing core midfield group.

Not sure how much you saw of him when he was fit and firing for the Dees, but he's a gun.

I'd be looking at something like this:

HF: Chris Yarran Setanta O'Hailpin Mitch Robinson
FF: Eddie Betts Lachie Henderson Matthew Kreuzer

The great thing about our talls is that they are flexible. Both Setanta and Waite can play both forward and back, and should Austin start playing more consistent AFL footy, he has shown he can play forward and back also.
HBF out of all the posters on here I have the utmost respect for you, but i can't agree with u this time. When are you people gonna realise that yarran is nowhere near ready to play seniors yet and probably won't be for a while yet so forget about him for now.That's point no 1,point no 2 is o'hailpin has no idea how to play full forward and can't be relied upon to kick the majority of our goals,basically he's still learning and whether he finally understands the game in it's entirety well the jury's still out on that one, is he even in our best 22? for me no,but im hay to be roved wrong.SO, having said all that, my preffered forward structure,right or wrong,it's only my opinion,would look something like this, BETTS HENDERSON ROBBO WAITE KREUZER WALKER Take a look at that forward line and u will find speed,marking power,six fairdinkum targets,and the ability to hold the ball in our attacking 50 due to big experienced bodies and an animal named ROBBO.

Don't know if this is relevant or if you guys even care...but....there was a VERY reliable source at a party I went to the other night....that had had a tad too much to drink...are you lot aware you were an inch away from having Pavlich??????:eek: And I mean "Maxwell Smart missed by that much" away.

Yeah there where a few whispers surrounding the Pav very late in trade week. Dont know what we would have had to give to get him though.

HF: Yarran O'hAilpin Waite
F: Betts Henderson Walker

Carlos in the Mooney role as our psycho chicken who competes and drags their CHB up the ground.

Waite and Walker playing on third and fourth tall defenders who can't match their agility, pace and leap is....
[YOUTUBE]-LAJvSenKIQ[/YOUTUBE]

I see Henderson playing a similar role to Hawkins out of the square.

It's all over if we have Yarran, Houlihan, Kreuzer, Hampson, Robinson, Walker Garlett and Lucas to rotate through our forwardline with Waite, O'hAilpin and Henderson in the key positions. :o

I'm not sure we have to be so prescriptive....I think the main point is we have fleixibility in structure and options....and we have the capacity to change structures as dictated by match-ups, playing venues and game day tactics.....grounds like Etihad might suit a smaller high hafl forwards and no CHF as such, whereas at Subi we might use Carlos, Hendo or Krooze as bigger targets across CHF, throw Waite or Walker to FF.......shorter defences we have the height to exploit between Hendo, Carlos, Waite and the resting ruckman.......teams bereft of quality small defenders we can expolit with Eddie, Garlett, Yarran. Some real options and versatility that can be thrown around as needed, and quality young men who will adapt and respond.

The challenge I see more for Ratts, other game day coaches and our forward opposition analysis, and to implement some structures now in training so that iplayers understand their roles under various structures and it becomes automatic on game day.

Completely disagree with this.

We wouldn't have traded a good pick for a player that would struggle to keep his spot in our side.

You are underselling McLean a fair bit with that comment.

When he's fit he is a gun and easily in our best 22.

He's one of the types of midfielders we've been screaming out for.

A tough nut inside midfielder to get his hands dirty to get the ball and feed it out to the other midfielders, as well as block for them in congested situations.

You are right that our midfield is now bursting with talent and McLean is an integral part of that developing core midfield group.

Not sure how much you saw of him when he was fit and firing for the Dees, but he's a gun.

You make some good points mate :thumbsu:

Who do you think will struggle to keep their spot in the side if McLean is to hold a spot in the midfield all year??

I've dropped this in many times previously, but this is the line-up I would like to see trialled first:

Waite Henderson Murphy
Yarran Kreuzer Betts

3 talls and three smalls.

Waite: No different to what I wanted to see last year. A floating wing to forward pocket sweeper.
Would be terribly hard to man up on.
Henderson: Because we need to establish a CHF and he can do it.
Murphy: Best postition for him. I can't see him being used anywhere else next year. Proven goalkicker and great reader.
Yarran: Wouldn't make as much sense if Kreuzer not there, but he can fill the forward line freak show very well.
Kreuzer: Great reader and feeder of the ball to the smalls. Pack breaker and goalkicker.
Betts: No need to summarize.

Robinson on the wing.
Walker: Wing and exchanging forward.
Houlihan: Can't see the fit in that grouping any more.
O'hAilpin: ????????????????????????

I think Murphy is a proven goalkicking midfielder, not a goal kicking fwd. Murphy loses his man upfield and then runs forward of the play and gets into no-contest situations on the HFF.

If he played as a true lead up fwd, I'd think he'd struggle with a tight marking taller defender.

Walker is admittedly not as physical, but very attacking and aggressive and could also play that lead up role.

Interesting the amount of people that have us playing three talls in the forward line, we didn't do that this season and just had the two and a focus on forward pressure. Are we expecting this to change now Fev is gone?

Yeah I reckon,

I don't think Kruezer, Waite and Hendo combind will require as much space as Fev (demanded)

I also think Kreuzer and Waite would be best served (roatating) leading up the wings from CHF to take the bridging mark, which would effectively leave only 2 key forwards in the 50 on fast possesions.

B: Thornton, Jamison, Russell.
HB: Walker, Waite, Davies.
C: Simpson, Gibbs, Carrazzo.
HF: Robinson, Henderson, Houlihan.
F: Garlett, Kreuzer, Betts

Foll: Warnock, Judd, Murphy.

INT: Hampson, Joseph, Bower, O'hAilpin

That's pretty damn close to what I'd imagine is the perfect 22. I'd like to drop Simpson/Houlihan/Davies for Mclean though.

Having 3 talls on the bench isn't a problem, because Hampson, Irish and Bower are extremely agile for their size. The only thing letting Hampson and Irish down seems to be their brain/skills depending on the situation.

Yeah I reckon,

I don't think Kruezer, Waite and Hendo combind will require as much space as Fev (demanded)

I also think Kreuzer and Waite would be best served (roatating) leading up the wings from CHF to take the bridging mark, which would effectively leave only 2 key forwards in the 50 on fast possesions.

Fair enough, it'll be easier to name our best six when we know what sort of game plan they have for the forward line.

I personally prefer just having two talls, especially with the quality of small/medium sized options we have, but ericpascoes post saying we will probably rotate Kreuzer, Hampson and Warnock through the forward line, ruck and bench makes me think Ratten might be leaning towards playing three talls down there.

Either way, ****ing go Blues :thumbsu::footy::thumbsu::footy::thumbsu::footy:

Backs: Joseph, Jamison, Thornton
Bower, Waite, Russell

Midfield: Gibbs, McLean, Walker

O/B: Hampson, Judd, Murphy

Forwards: Yarran, O’hAilpin, Robinson
Kreuzer, Henderson, Betts

Inter : Austin, Armfield, Simpson Jacobs

Emg : Carrazzo, Johnson, Browne, Scotland, Hadley, Griggs, Warnock, Garlett, Houlihan

This will be 31 players that we will be picking our team from we also have
Lucas, Zach Tuohy, Peter Labi, O’Keeffe, Anderson and Tiller to prove that they can play

I did have Warnock in as first ruck but he has to prove he can stand up and not be injured all the time

I don’t think Wiggins and Fisher are up to it

You make some good points mate :thumbsu:

Who do you think will struggle to keep their spot in the side if McLean is to hold a spot in the midfield all year??

That's a tough question and one of the many reasons why I'm happy I don't have Ratten's job.

As we develop greater depth in each position and a better list in general it is inevitable that some good players are going to be missing out on game time that they may have previously enjoyed.

The first thing to note is that whilst we have strengthened our midfield during this off-season, we have lost Stevens who at his best was an excellent footballer and a valued member of our best 22.

So from that perspective I guess you could say simply that it is OUT: Stevens and IN: McLean.

However, they are of course different types of players so it therefore leads on to a bit of restructuring of our best 22.

McLean is limited in terms of the positions that he can play and he is exclusively a midfielder. He can't and won't play in defense or up forward.

We therefore need to find a way to fit him in because a player of his quality is far too good to be spending time in the Bullants, and as I said in my other post, we recruited him for a reason and that reason was to fill a deficiency in our best 22 and not be a superstar for our reserves side.

That means our other midfielders will have to find new strings to their bow or expand their on-field repertoire. The likes of Judd, Murphy, Gibbs and Simmo will spend time in other positions on the field besides in the midfield.

Judd will drift forward (although he will NOT become a permanent forward like the dimwits at the HUN would like you to believe), Murph has really developed as a goalkicking midfielder and can spend time on the half forward flank, Gibbs could play anywhere on the park (pockets and flanks), as could Simmo.

Not to mention the bench which will feature heavily as more emphasis continues to be placed on midfield rotations.

I expect our core group of midfielders to come from Judd, McLean, Murphy, Gibbs and Simpson, with supporting roles from a heap of players.

I guess at the end of the day we'll have to wait and see what happens as there isn't much certainty with regards to how we'll approach game day. But one thing is for certain and that is that you are underselling McLean. When fit, he's a seriously quality player and one that is easily in our best 22. Watch and be pleasantly surprised :thumbsu:

Yeah, as stated there were some strong whispers around Friday or trade week that a Pavlich deal was in the works, but they couldn't get it done in time...if thats true...that would have been insane...as much as I HATE the dockers, Pav is a star.

Carltons forward line will be like all the other top 6 teams other than the Saints. We will be top 6 because of the midfield and rotating forwardline. Pies, Cats, Dogs have no big names, rather they rely on many. Waite and Kreuzer will be the key talls. Walker, Robinson, Houlihan, Gibbs, Murphy, Judd, Garlett, Yarran, Betts, O'Hailpin, Hampson, Henderson will rotate through. It will be flexible, finally unpredictable and pretty potent. All good.

HF: Chris Yarran Jarrod Waite Andrew Walker
F: Eddie Betts Lachie Henderson Matthew Kreuzer

Others: Robinson, Garlett, O'hAilpin, Houlihan, Lucas (?)​

Just thought I would spark some discussion on potential forward structures in 2010. I believe that Ratten and Co will develop a few different structures over the offseason. The structure will be tinkered with during the pre-season and season proper. An example of the most likely structure IMO below.

Kruezer, Henderson and possible Hampson playing as a traditional deep full forward. Only short leads with quick and deep inside 50's. Forward pockets to crumb - Betts, Garlett, Yarran (no issues there). Walker, Russel and possible Wiggins, Robertson to play as high long leading half forwards that feed the ball back into the corridor for the mids to drive deep. Either Waite or O'Hailpin to play predominetly around the 50 metre arc, doubling back to play the second tall if the play is coming in slowly.

This structure looks reasonable, but I cant see much variation which is a concern. Does anyone have any ideas of any alternative structures?

Alternative structure 1. Put O'hailpin in forward 50 on his own. Will be thoroughly entertained watching him slap and kick his opponents.
I think this year will be one of "horses for courses". We now have the potential to cause headaches to any opposition makeup. The game plan will be fixed, however have subilties to each seperate game.
Our forward line will be a revolving door with almost every player getting an opportunity to circulate in that area. The plan is to be as variable as possible without confusing ourselves.
The difficulty I see is can we have 4 talls (Kruezer, O'hAlipin, Hampson & Warnock) and 3 smalls (Betts, Garlett & Yarran) in the same 22.
If we could make it work it would certainly be a headache for any opposition.
The positions I would like to see reasonably set in stone is; Jamison at Fullback, Murphy, Gibbs & Judd around the ball and Waite and Walker of both wings. The rest would be moving around to different positions depending on the oppositions players.
We now have the ability to expose all/or the oppositions pace, height and/or skill.
Unfortunately, all this might take us a half a season to get right.

Yeah, as stated there were some strong whispers around Friday or trade week that a Pavlich deal was in the works, but they couldn't get it done in time...if thats true...that would have been insane...as much as I HATE the dockers, Pav is a star.

We've tried for years to get him back. Apparently lifestyle is one reason he wanted to stay in the West. It's sad really, coz given the chance to play with cracker players, he would have been even better.

exactly..and his the type of player that both the Crows and the Blues could really do with....in fact he would add a dimension to any team