List Mgmt. Forwardline woes

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

As I said , I dont think weideman is the answer. At this point he and Brown are at MFC so out of the two I would prefer they went with weideman. It was a comparative statement on who we should play On our current list.
Let’s see if we can get a trade done , that would be good.
We are still stuck with Sideshow Bob.
Brown is flopping about like a new born foal, you’ve got a big cat in the bushes just licking it’s lips for an easy kill. And yet, with this, Weidemann still can’t get a game!

We need another midfielder with a lot of class. Our delivery needs to be a lot better. A lot. Petracca isn’t a good kick, Oliver isn’t a good kick, Viney isn’t a good kick but has improved. I’d be playing Salem up the ground as he is better than those three. Or even Rivers.

For the rest of this year, could be one or three games;

Out - Brown
In - McDonald / Smith

Love react given for this alone.

Everytime we go forward I can see it coming a mile off and just sigh.

Here We Go Again GIF

Everytime we go forward I can see it coming a mile off and just sigh.

Here We Go Again GIF

And then when we get our precious repeat stoppage we set up for a throw in rucking Trac who doesn't even contest it or Brown who gets rag dolled 100% of the time and the opposition walk it out.

Its an absolute shit show.

It’s attitude adjustment from Goodwin that is required.

Forward line is supposed to be there to kick goals. But go through our forward line:

Spargo - there for defensive running/workrate
ANB - there for defensive running/work rate
Melksham- Defensive forward
Sparrow - Out of position mid there for tackling

4/7 regular forwards not goalkickers.

Clearly Kosi has weapons but because of our attitude and system we take them away.

Fritsch is a gun forward but we play a style which kills his strengths.

Yes, we need better talls but on the rare occasion we actually move the ball properly even Brown still looks dangerous. I think any two competent AFL standard talls would make do in our forward line of our entries were fixed.

This is bloody spot on. Super frustrating that Goody is sticking to this so stubbornly despite most good teams working us out.

And then when we get our precious repeat stoppage we set up for a throw in rucking Trac who doesn't even contest it or Brown who gets rag dolled 100% of the time.

Its an absolute s**t show.

I must have missed when Trac rucked but yeah, why on earth stick Brown in there, the big unco ****. That's time for Jacko surely?

Also just realised that in my original post I appear to have forgotten that TMac exists, but **** it who cares

He's a free agent. Doubt we'd go for him tho. Too high risk.

Knowing that he is about to finish playing AFL if he stuffs up again, that should resonate a bit more. ‘Mate, this is it, you’ll never make 500k a year again in your life because you’re a clown and you’ve got a reputation. Here’s a deal for 4 years, take it, behave and retire a better person with your misdemeanours put behind you’

JDG can only play footy, he could be not on a list by 2024 if his hands go wandering again.

I must have missed when Trac tucked but yeah, why on earth stick Brown in there, the big unco *. That's time for Jacko surely?

Also just realised that in my original post I appear to have forgotten that TMac exists, but * it who cares

Trac nominated himself coz for some reason we didnt have a single bozo over 6'0 in the area, instead of contesting Trac just watched Hickey take it out of the air, then instead of tackling Trac just watched Hickey clear the area with a kick. DNA spewing out all over the place.

Getting quality ball users is the easiest way to fix our scoring issues under the current game plan given there is no KPF worth trading for out there (that we know of right now)

Or ask the AFL if we can play Brisbane and the Dogs every week.

troll dancing GIF
Lobb for Jackson is probably our best chance.

Trac nominated himself coz for some reason we didnt have a single bozo over 6'0 in the area, instead of contesting Trac just watched Hickey take it out of the air, then instead of tackling Trac just watched Hickey clear the area with a kick. DNA spewing out all over the place.
It’s pathetic.

Football is essentially about pressure now. It’s less about delivery because the idea is to kick to space. If our forward line isn’t pressuring at F50 stoppages then the opposition can move the ball out with ease because the midfield and defence press up anyway leaving a paddock of space out wide and up forward defensively.

We won a premiership having a pressure driven F50, why concede stoppages up there? It’s negative and dumb. If the plan is for Gawn to sit a kick behind play then with the time our forwards give their opponents they can see Gawn and avoid him.

Solution; Gawn rucking at F50 stoppages tapping it goal side. Midfielders that can score (Harmes, Petracca) need to be up as well looking to score. If the opposition does clear it, at least it’ll be under duress.

Wasn't bullshit you read on twitter, got a feeling it came from a mate who works with greyhound racing Victoria. The bloke who works for the Western and related to Lobb or his Mrs told him directly.

Greyhounds and Caravans. Best sauces in the world.

So obviously Goody is going nowhere, but do we need a new forwards or mids coach? Someone is telling them to bring the ball into the forward line in the most inefficient and and predictable manner, who is it?
Maybe forwards? Our leading patterns are poor generally, despite having decent leading players like Brown, Fritsch, McDonald (when fit) as the bigger targets. Of the smalls Kozzy is the only one who's reliable as a crumber at getting to the feet of packs and making an opportunity.
Both areas need work though.

It’s attitude adjustment from Goodwin that is required.

Forward line is supposed to be there to kick goals. But go through our forward line:

Spargo - there for defensive running/workrate
ANB - there for defensive running/work rate
Melksham- Defensive forward
Sparrow - Out of position mid there for tackling

4/7 regular forwards not goalkickers.

Clearly Kosi has weapons but because of our attitude and system we take them away.

Fritsch is a gun forward but we play a style which kills his strengths.

Yes, we need better talls but on the rare occasion we actually move the ball properly even Brown still looks dangerous. I think any two competent AFL standard talls would make do in our forward line of our entries were fixed.
A good post. Agree with all of that.

Honestly, you replace two of those guys with a couple of blokes who just love to kick snags, the whole dynamic will change instantly. True forwards will not camp themselves in the pocket waiting to lock it in, run it out of bounds or some other boring shit. They’ll get on their bike to get chance to send one through the big sticks. We’ve got one ready to go in Chandler, who I reckon is a goal hungry campaigner, and good on him too.

Greg Stafford was previously our ruck coach and was only kept on as our forward coach due to covid/salary restrictions I believe.
Whenever there is mention of getting a new forward coach, the old argument of he won us a Premiership is repeated ad nauseam.
Our forward setup is barely working anymore this year and a change needs to happen, get a new forward coach in and create a new plan.
Or if they're going to keep Stafford, at least change the setup. Also the mids and forwards need to train and work on their entries and leading, its dogshit at the moment.

And then when we get our precious repeat stoppage we set up for a throw in rucking Trac who doesn't even contest it or Brown who gets rag dolled 100% of the time and the opposition walk it out.

Its an absolute s**t show.

Does my ****ing head in these useless campaigners play two rucks and still don’t have a ruckman at every throwin. IF WE BASE OUR GAME OFF LOCKING IT IN WHY THE **** DO WE GIVE AWAY THROW INS

Maybe forwards? Our leading patterns are poor generally, despite having decent leading players like Brown, Fritsch, McDonald (when fit) as the bigger targets. Of the smalls Kozzy is the only one who's reliable as a crumber at getting to the feet of packs and making an opportunity.
Both areas need work though.
I’m actually not sure I rate Kossie‘s crumbing. He also doesn’t do as much damage at forward stoppages as he could. Maybe he just gets a lot of oppo attention at these times but they’re not strengths of his game.