Four teams From Melbourne

Jul 22, 2000
Port Adelaide
With the rapidly developing national nature of Australian Football, the relevance of Melbourne suburb names for Australian football teams is fast becoming like the Jurassic age.

We got rid of a traditional Victorian Football Club in Fitzroy..

How long do you think your club will last...

You have no idea how much fans of Tasmanian football, WA football and SA football delight in hearing rumours of the demise of yet another Victorian club.. the sooner the better...

What do you think....and which clubs do you think they should be.......

Because it will happen ..

So we shouldn't be using suburb names in a national competition.

I think you should take a look at your own name sunshine.

**** me!

The names of the suburbs are irrelevenat. Essendon don't represent the suburb of Essendon anymore. They represnet the one million suporters who barack for the Bombers across the country.

In theory, you could call all 9 Melbourne based teams "Melbourne". Eg, the Melbourne Magpies, Melbourne Blues, Melbourne Bombers.

But why would you make a change for the sake of it, when there is no need ?

If you were starting a comp up from scratch, you would probably have 5 or 6 Melbourne teams, but this is NOT a comp from scratch. This is a competiton that has ben running since 1897.

If you get rid of, say, 4 Melbourne teams, you are getting rid of 40 % of your market. 40% of football followers would lose interest. That would not be a sensible decision by the AFL.

The only way to get around that scenario is to have those suporters die off over the next 50 years and be replaced by "new" supporters of the remaining 5 Victorian clubs. This would take 50 years (obviously)

There is NO correct number of Victorian clubs. The correct number is whatever the market will hold. If 9 can get by and pay their way, then 9 it shall be.

The best way to ensure high membership sales, and to maximise attendances and merchandise sales (which is what the AFL wants) is to ensure that all the clubs that Australians (yes AUSTRALIAN'S, not just Victorians) barrack for are up and running.

PA 1870

I guarantee that in 100 years time there will still be suburban names for the Victorian clubs. I gurantee.

And what kind of name is Port Adealide anyway. Sounds suburban to me. Oh, but I forgot. Port are "special" aren't they. Special enough to finish 15th this year !

I would get shot for saying to much in favour of the Vics but again you are wrong Port Adelaide 1870 (in reality PA 1997)

I would shead a tear if any one of those Melbourne clubs folded I like the comp the way it is however I do want to see a Tassie and Darwin side in the comp.

and about suburb names what do you think Port Adelaide is ?

at least Adelaide is a city !

The title AFL is a complete misnomer. The competition should be called "Extended VFL". As long as there are so many Mel. clubs, which causes an uneven and completely unfair draw, the idea is a farce. Re-locate and drop a couple of the Mel clubs and make 'em travel 11 times a year and see how things work out. Each team HAS to play each other twice a season - how else do you get a true result????

Crow Mad,
I have never agreed with a crow supporter before except when discussing the brilliance of ex Port players in their side.

However, you have made sense, your answer was based on thought and relevance to Football as a national code, your remarks pose a fair and rational comp.

The Victorian responses i.e. Dan24 etc, always resort to personal abuse and putdown as well as the abuse and putdowns of pre AFL football outside of Victoria.

By the way Chev1977, Port Adelaide was incorporated as a city in 1901.

The suburb is not big enough to be a city ! FACT

dont you mean the Port Adelaide district (which is huge) ?

I cannot possibly fathom that you are telling the truth.

Most of your HISTORIAL ideas are really made up in your own mind !
Geelong is a city ! Essendon, Carlton, Collingwood etc.. are suburbs just like Port Adelaide (I know I lived there once)

I hope Richmond last forever.....although i can't believe what you said about interstate footy followers hoping that a victorian team gets demolished. Don't worry mate, we're thinkin the same thing about one of the south australian or wa teams. So stuff you.

Thanks for all your replies most are quite interesting. I still find the personal abuse quite amusing ? What is your reasoning, please remain centered on the original questions posted and refrain from personal abuse and put downs, because my opinion or facts may not ad up to your misunderstandings or lack of historical data or fact, gives no right to attack me on a personal level,

I understand that much that I put forward is mentally challenging and at times quite contreversial also sometimes not in keeping with tradition as it may be known in Victoria,

That ,however is why it is put up for debate.

Once again ,please argue with the original point in mind.

Port Adelaide was incorporated as a township in 1855 and as a city in 1901.

Who give s a flying f*ck whether Port Adelaide was incorporated as a city in 1901. What has this post deteriated into ?

As for Crowmad. The non-victorian teams have to travel 10 time a year. Victorian teams have to travel 4 or 5 time a year. True.

BUT, Victorian teams don't have a home ground advantage (except Geelong). Vic teams play a hepa of neutral games (like Carlton home natch today against Richmond), where there is no advantage whatsoever.

This year, Essendon played 4 games where we had an advantage (when we payed interstate sides at Colonial). We also had 4 games where we were at a disadvantage (where we had to travel). The other 14 games were neutral.

So, our draw consisted of 4 advantageous games, and 4 dis-advantageous games.

Now look at West Coast and Adelaide. They had 10 games where they had an advantage. They also had 10 games where they were at a disadvantage (where they travelled)

They then had two neutral games (the local derbies)

So, as you can see, West Coast, Adelaide and Essendon are all treated the same in the draw. These three teams all had the exact same amount of advantageous games, and dis-advantageous games each, which cancel each other out.

Sorry if we offended you Mr Know it all.
rolleyes.gif

Dan 24, Flying F*ck ??? parochial Victorian debating terminology?

I was responding to a statement from Chev that was made from a lack of factual data, it had nothing to do with the overwhelming amount of games Victorian sides play in Melbourne and dont have to disadvantage themselves by travelling interstate...

Thanks for your input, it can be quite informative sometimes

PA 1870.

Given that the AFL's agenda is a much reduced proportion of teams from Melbourne ...which ones shall we cull.
Knowing full well that the AFL will not abide mergers unless the total number of clubs comes down to SIX in Melbourne..

What about these

strike out- Saint Kilda, Kangaroos, Western Bulldogs,

Clubs left would be

Melbourne and Geelong would stay for obvious reasons
the Collingwood Blues or the Carlton Magpies
The Richmond bombers or the Essendon Tigers
Hawthorn would go unless they merged with
Melbourne and were the Melbourne Hawks

So we would have Hypothetically the AFL made up of

Melbourne Hawks
Carlton Magpies
Richmond Bombers
Geelong Cats
Fremantle dockers
Port Adelaide
Adelaide Crows
Sydney Swans
Brisbane Lions
West Coast Eagles

With room for possibly a second Sydney side
formed by a Sydney syndicate ( no relocations) we've seen the Kangaroos disaster.

Canberra
Tasmania

maybe far distant a N.T. side.

with a national MVP medal and links to the history of Football , administrators, officials and champions Australia wide

Not just the former VFL, melbourne competition.

How does that sound ?

Your thoughts ..Please.

No sorry don't like that idea. Why would you merge all the clubs. Why not keep some traditional clubs?
How about:

Richmond Tigers
Collingwood Magpies
Adelaide Crows
West Coast Eagles
Brisbane Lions
Sydney Swans
Geelong Cats
North Melbourne Kangaroos
Essendon Bombers
Carlton Blues
Fremantle Dockers
St.Kilda Saints
Melbourne Demons
Hawthorn Hawks

Notice there is only 15 teams. Guess which team is missing.

I've got an Idea, how about the bottom two sides get relegated back to the local competitions and then the four major state based competetions premiers play a round robin to see who gets to go up to the big time. so the VFL, Westar, SANFL, and TassieFL All send their premier sides to and end of season playoff for the two spot vacated by Port Adelaide Power and Saint Kilda, Who Knows the Port Magpies might get the gig! mwhahahahhahaaaa

Hey PA 1870,
over here,in the home of footy,we don't give a flying fart about your thoughts or your silly little club (Port Power....who?)
Have a warm Milo and a good lie down.
Nite nite.

What Kind of Drugs are you on Port Adelaide. In 2 posts you have shown that you know nothing about football. Getting Rid of the Brownlow, Getting Red of Melbourne Clubs. Youre kidding yourself.
Everybody knows that the best footballers are from Melbourne, like the best Rugby League players are from Sydney.
There are in excess of 350 players from Victoria in the AFL (over 50% of the league). So now you want to cut the amount of Victorian teams from 10 to 4. That would kill the competition, because the 4 Victorian teams would be INVINCIBLE!!!. There would only be 4 teams in the race for the competition unless you have only 1 WA team and 1 SA team (basically state teams). Then we would see the amount of teams in the competition down to just 8 teams. Considering then Brisbane and Sydney would find themselves not able to compete with any sides except each other, the AFL would have to dump them out of the competition and suddenly there is only 6 teams in the competition. Are you trying to ruin the AFL or something.
Get Rid of Footscray, i'm not a Bulldogs supporter by any mean but i would be shattered if they left the competition. When Fitzroy were killed, i was almost in tears, and i couldn't care less about Fitzroy. So getting rid of Footscray, North Melbourne and St Kilda, there goes about 1.5 million supporters.
You can't be serious trying to merge Collingwood and Carlton, the clubs would be at each other throat. Can you imagine trying to get Eddie McGuire in a room with John Elliot.

If you really want to get the competition down to 6 teams, how about the AFL re-introduce the State of Origin after the Grand Final is finished, with all 6 states playing each other in a round robin and the top 2 teams contesting the Grand Final.
If you want to have your 'Australian' Medal, maybe the B and F from the State of Origin series could get the 'Australia' Medal.

------------------
for all your footballing needs visit my AFL web-site at www.bigfooty.com/users/afl/eastsydney

Great Posts Guys !!!!!!!

Lively and rational and reasonable

WCE2000 some great points
Richmond#1 your relegation system sounds brilliant, however have you thought of the difficulty of raising the 15 million a club needs to compete at AFL level these days ?

Thanks for your input guys.

PA

Interesting post. Only one problem. They merge my club, I give up footy. I'll go to the local league and the AFL can go jump. Same with nearly everyone else here in Melbourne. End result, no AFL.

Clubs may fold as the amount of money required increases but the AFL need to remember that with each club that goes under they (and Ch$$) lose a substantial chunk of their market, and therefore $$$$$.

Four teams From Melbourne