Fox Footy AA side

• Thread starter Thread starter kirky

dyertribe said:
That frustrated the hell out of me. Had Barnesy relented and pushed for Bassett's rightful place in a pocket, he may have had a case, but there was no way in hell they would've picked him in a KP slot.

Didn't like Dunstall's dismissive smirk when Barnesy pushed it for a final time, though. Showed a lack of respect for Fred I thought.

I'm starting to understand now why Sam Newman has such distain for Dunstall. He is a buffoon as is Barnes.

macca23 said:
No Roo, Goodwin or Rutten.

Jason Dunstall is an absolute jerk who steered everything away from any Adelaide player suggested by Mike Sheehan.

An Adelaide fan rang up to suggest that Rutten should be in there instead of Fletcher, and Barnesy was telling Dunstall to hang up on him.

Rather than being a TV commentator, Barnesy is better qualified to be a specimen of Neanderthal man in a museum. No fkg idea.

The way that they selected it was half-arsed and flawed and their chosen team reflects just that.

Very ordinary TV.

well you were obviously watching!!!!!

cro_Magnum said:
when reviewing last week's game, Walls praised the Crows, showed some clips and told us how they 've improved (along with the mandatory "I was the only one to pick them for the 8"). Sheahan's only comment was a dismissive "just look at the opposition"

Sheahan's a tool but he is right about the opposition. Richmond were rabble in the 2nd quarter & stopped dead in the last.

We are 3rd & have lost to the teams in 1st, 2nd & 4th spot as well as Brisbane who will probably make a run at the finals.

We will get more credit after we flog Melbourne & West Coast after the break.

outback jack said:
i believe he actually takes contested marks, ie one on one, but the stats are very dodgy imo. A slap across the chest is a contested mark. I'm sure tredders has a high contested mark tally too.

warren also has a high amount of 'handball over the top, kick the goal, and celebrate like i ran from the back pocket to kick it' goals!!!!

sapaul said:
Nah, John Barnes, Jason Dunstall :rolleyes: , Wayne Schwass and Mike Sheehan. Almost every week this year Barnes says "Mark Ricciuto is carrying the Adelaide side". :rolleyes:
Remember that Barnes is a runner for Essendon, so of course he would be pushing there barrow. And lets be honest, making FoxFooty's AA side is about as much a honor as starring on their there quality shows, such as AFL lovematch. :rolleyes:

kirky said:
B: Clement Fletcher Barry
HB: Milburn Hunter Hodge
C: Embley West Akermanis
HF: Robertson Pavlich N.Brown
F: J.Brown Tredrea Williams
R: Everitt Cousins Mitchell

I: Gilbee L.Ball Hall Cox

Coach: John Worsfold
Does anyone else think this forward structure wouldn't work? OK if you're picking "the best three tall forwards so far, regardless of position / role in the team" but it's not a serious proposition for a "real team" if you know what I mean.

dyertribe said:
Brown has been super impressive in 5 of the 8 games he's been back, while Tredrea has his fair share of impressive performances and BOGs in his 13 so far.

There's an argument to say Brown is rapidly closing the gap and finally fulfilling his potential, but to say he's had a better year than Tredrea is going too far - even using your qualification of 'shaded'.
Both are true guns and I'd love either in our side. I think Tredrea has had 8 good games out his 13, Brown 5 out of his 8. Perceptions that Tredrea hasn't had as good a year as in the past are tainted by the Power's overall performances.

Loking at stats though Brown is averaging a better return than Tredrea:

Tredrea (2005, 13 games*)
Disposals: 199 @ 15.30
Marks: 112 @ 8.61
Goalkicking: 38.24 @ 2.92 gpg & 61.2% conversion

Brown (2005, 8 games*)
Disposals: 153 @ 19.13
Marks: 67 @ 8.38
Goalkicking: 27.10 @ 3.38 gpg & 73.0% conversion

Stats would suggest that Brown is not only closing the gap, but on this seasons performances may have edged ahead. Time will tell whether he can keep it going.

Any team that has involved John Barnes picking it has to be taken with a grain of salt....as is any TV show that he appears on. Until he is railroaded out of Fox League Teams, I for one, will not watch.

Goodwin is teh only Crow wiht a rightful claim IMO.

Roo has been good but down on previous years. He will likely get the nod aynway onr eputation.

Rutten has been good but has a long way to go.

Bassett would be the second candidate and may be worth a shot on the bench but I think he is too unfashionable. As Carey says though (and we have been saying for years) he is the best player at leaving his man to help out a team mate in the AFL.

Jars458 said:
Goodwin is teh only Crow wiht a rightful claim IMO.

Roo has been good but down on previous years. He will likely get the nod aynway onr eputation.

Bassett would be the second candidate and may be worth a shot on the bench but I think he is too unfashionable. As Carey says though (and we have been saying for years) he is the best player at leaving his man to help out a team mate in the AFL.

Completely agree, great summation here.

Goodwin has probably been the outstanding midfielder for us. Bassett has been awesome for us, so you could maybe fit him in at HB (surely he has had a better year than Milburn ?) Roo and Rutten have had solid years, but perhaps not worthy of AA.

I saw the Fox footy "Leigh Matthew Awards" restorspective on Monday night, where Leigh said that unlike a Brownlow this AFLPA award first required that a player gain the respect of his peers. Ie it was unlikely you would win it for one good season, but instead you had to have your name up in lights already.

For that reason the likes of Bassett and Rutten are outsiders to break into the side. Bassett could have a better year than (lets say) clement, but chances are Clement would get a guernsey over him. Unfortunately it comes down to how much you get seen, and lets face it, victorans dont go out of their way to watch the Crows play. How often do you here comments such as "player (or club) X doesnt get the recognition over here (Vic) that he deserves, we just dont see enough of him"

For mine, Crows are stiff not to have at least Goodwin in there, possibly at Gilbee's expense.

Unfortunately, I find that this is the way it appears to be for non-Victorian based players in All australian teams. You either have to have an absolutely brilliant season to break into it for the first time, or you have to string a couple good ones together.

dyertribe said:
OJ, if you could put your anti-Warren bias aside for five minutes, could you please logically explain why?

Agreed, Tredrea is the logical and correct choice. I think they got it right with Tredrea at FF rather than at CHF too. If this team was actually playing, the forward line would be awesome. You could go to a roaming CHF, but if the pressure was on, you could bomb long to a forward with a massive body and excellent hands.

The only real mistake they made IMHO, is not to include Goodwin. I haven't seen him play better in his career and he has been one of the main reasons that we are going so well. His delievery to the forwards has been first class and is a cut above West for mine. Thompson should have got consideration, but he still gives away too many frees and commits too many clangers. As he improves, which hopefully he does, he should be well in contention come end of year. He is one player I am really looking forward to seeing at full finals intensity.

Jars458 said:

Has a long way to go to what? A player doesn't have to achieve Silvagnian levels of performance to be AA FB. There is no absolute standout but they aren't going to leave FB vacant, so as long as you have performed as well or better than the other candidates you're in with a show, and the Truck is right up there.

Malibu#27 said:
Unfortunately, I find that this is the way it appears to be for non-Victorian based players in All australian teams. You either have to have an absolutely brilliant season to break into it for the first time, or you have to string a couple good ones together.

Fortunately the selectors for the All Australian side are not all Victorian and we do have representation from SA....isn't Kerls or Barrie Robran on the selection committee? And I think KB and Gerard Healy are too...I think? I certainly think Healy has an unbiased view when it comes to selection.

At the end of the day, who gives a ******** what a group of scribes and meathead Essendon runners think half way through the season.

I am sure if they keep their form up, Bassett, Goodwin, Roo and Rutten will get fair consideration at years end.

Truck Rutten said:
Has a long way to go to what? A player doesn't have to achieve Silvagnian levels of performance to be AA FB. There is no absolute standout but they aren't going to leave FB vacant, so as long as you have performed as well or better than the other candidates you're in with a show, and the Truck is right up there.

As a player.

He hasn't earned his stripes. If he was the clear candidat he would be picked but if the candidates are close, past form and reputation will come into it, and rightly so.

Jars458 said:
As a player.

He hasn't earned his stripes. If he was the clear candidat he would be picked but if the candidates are close, past form and reputation will come into it, and rightly so.

Past form and reputation should have nothing at all to do with AA selection. It's only the year in question that counts for anything.

Truck is as good a chance as any of the other candidates at this stage. And unlike a couple of the other dour scraggers in contention, he's also creative, attacking and has great skills. He's been far more consistent than some of his better known rivals this year.

kirky said:
For those interested this is the side they came up with for the first 12 rounds:-

B: Clement Fletcher Barry
HB: Milburn Hunter Hodge
C: Embley West Akermanis
HF: Robertson Pavlich N.Brown
F: J.Brown Tredrea Williams
R: Everitt Cousins Mitchell

I: Gilbee L.Ball Hall Cox

Coach: John Worsfold

There were certain criteria like 3 tall backman and 3 short/medium backman and same for the forwards.

As I said another thread, how the hell do you have 4 players (Everitt, Hodge, Mitchell and Williams) from the second bottom side and yet no Rutten or Roo??? Dunstall, Sheahan, Schwass and Barnes, I have now classified as football dunces!!!!

Putting Nathan Brown in is ridiculous, i take it was just a halfway one, but still even putting him in there is stupid, hes been out injured for the last 3-4 weeks, i really wouldnt expect anything less from these blokes though, they just continue to show they think its still the VFL.

RooDog said:
Putting Nathan Brown in is ridiculous, i take it was just a halfway one, but still even putting him in there is stupid, hes been out injured for the last 3-4 weeks, i really wouldnt expect anything less from these blokes though, they just continue to show they think its still the VFL.

It was for the first 11 games, of which he played 10 - fully warranted being there.

Games: 10
Disposals: 202 @ 20.2
Marks: 66 @ 6.6
Goals: 34 @ 3.4
Tackles: 10 @ 1.0

Jars458 said:
As a player.

I cannot agree with that Jars cause we are taking players playing THIS year not in the past, and reputations should have nothing to do with it.
This picking anything pre and mid season is a dangerous practise.
I realise people like to have their predictions and picking a player for this award and a player for that team, but when I feel a panel of biased so called gurus from a state where they believe nothing outside their borders is worth taking serious then I dont take their choices seriously.

Markthirtytwo said:
I cannot agree with that Jars cause we are taking players playing THIS year not in the past, and reputations should have nothing to do with it.
This picking anything pre and mid season is a dangerous practise.
I realise people like to have their predictions and picking a player for this award and a player for that team, but when I feel a panel of biased so called gurus from a state where they believe nothing outside their borders is worth taking serious then I dont take their choices seriously.

Thats SA paranoia in my view. We have had more than a fair go in the past when you look at our selections in the team.

I only think past comes into it when the current years form is too close to call.

Funnily enough (or should that be ironically?) there was an article in this mornings Herald Scum written by Wayne Schwass where he rates all the AFL captains on various things (availabilty, leadership etc..). Guess who came in at number One? That's right the same guy who can't make the Fox Footy AA team at the halfway point. :confused:

Roodog - Dunno how you can complain about Brown being there. Would have been leading the Brownlow when he went down.

Dunno where they plucked Hunter from. Wouldnt have him there. Ditto Barry - hasnt been as good as last year.

I remember Robert Walls, who I believe is on the AA selection panel, on On The Couch at the start of the year saying that some players names will be pencilled in for AA selection before the season begins and its up to the challengers to knock them out of those spots. I would assume guys like Tredrea, Clement, Judd, Scarlett, Riccuito to be those sorta players.

I think Tredrea has certainly done enough this year to still be picked as AA CHF. Pavlich has played a bit better but if the AA selectors were choosing the team now I reckon they would go with Tredrea at CHF, Pavlich on a flank, with one of Richardson/Brown/Hall at FF and another on the bench.

I reckon Croad or Maguire are the safer bets for CHB than Hunter at the moment but again dont write off Chad Cornes who might be one of those pre-picked players.

Bassett, Rutten and Goodwin are unlucky. Goodwin especially. He'd be ahead of Ball for mine. Rutten...would be in the top 3. Ditto Bassett. Riccuito has been up and down but wouldnt be too far off.

Macca19 said:
Roodog - Dunno how you can complain about Brown being there. Would have been leading the Brownlow when he went down.

you have been watching footy long enough to know how daft it is to make statements like so so would have been leading the brownlow.

Further, what's the point of selecting a guy, who cannot make it?

Hunter is just a trade off, to give fair due to WC.

meh. If your choosing a side from Round 1-11 then hes gotta be there. If your choosing a prediction of who will be there at the end of the year then you wouldnt. Players have been picked whilst missing big parts of seasons before tho.