Fox Footy AFL Round Table on WCE

probably sick of hawks winning another one. Also he has two ex team mates and his crush for darling.
Johnno defenitly has a man crush on darling ! I remember last year brown saying he would love to go to dinner with darling because ' you know he is the type of bloke that orders a steak ' .
Such a blokes bloke old johnno brown

My only real complaint - other than Dermie, you know, being Dermie - was that we didn't hear much from Gerard. Best analyst of the game by a country mile.

It was probably because Dermie was talking over everyone.

A few times the other guys looked really uncomfortable while he interrupted him.

And his Lions are still arguably the greatest side ever, and easily best in AFL era. Hawks win this year and the argument is over.
Brissy won 3 in a row against vic teams at the MCG where it's their oppositions home ground .
Hawks have won 3 in a row at their home ground vs interstate teams who rarely play at the MCG
No contest

I think Champion Data also separate Key Forwards with General Forwards, don't they? Either way I think they only had three key forwards listed as elite- Buddy, Roughead and Hawkins.

Where did you read this?

The Elite key forwards are:
Roughead
J Riewoldt
Franklin

Which is pretty spot on.

Where did you read this?

The Elite key forwards are:
Roughead
J Riewoldt
Franklin

Which is pretty spot on.

It's a pretty interesting argument though. If they are all fully fit and you are picking 1 key forward (at their peak now not on the way up) Then for me it has to be either Kennedy, Walker or Hawkins (if his back wasn't rooted which is has been the last 2 years). Roughead gets a lot of stat padding for his time up and around the ground and i think his marking work isn't on the level it used to be. Franklin whilst on talent and on best season goal output blitzes everyone he isn't the sort of guy you can build a forward line around. He's just not consistant enough with the way he leads, structures up and isn't a very good contested mark. Jack whilst he kicks goals to me just doesn't provide that power or presence to be the guy that leads a premiership forward line. Kicks plenty of goals, good mark, great athletically but maybe im just biased because he's a soulless carrot top.

Johnno defenitly has a man crush on darling ! I remember last year brown saying he would love to go to dinner with darling because ' you know he is the type of bloke that orders a steak ' .
Such a blokes bloke old johnno brown
hopefully jack lives up to brownys expectations. i remember in jacks early days, browns said darling as his most wanted opposition player at brisbane. Hopefully jack can becomes elite of B+ general forward.

It's a pretty interesting argument though. If they are all fully fit and you are picking 1 key forward (at their peak now not on the way up) Then for me it has to be either Kennedy, Walker or Hawkins (if his back wasn't rooted which is has been the last 2 years). Roughead gets a lot of stat padding for his time up and around the ground and i think his marking work isn't on the level it used to be. Franklin whilst on talent and on best season goal output blitzes everyone he isn't the sort of guy you can build a forward line around. He's just not consistant enough with the way he leads, structures up and isn't a very good contested mark. Jack whilst he kicks goals to me just doesn't provide that power or presence to be the guy that leads a premiership forward line. Kicks plenty of goals, good mark, great athletically but maybe im just biased because he's a soulless carrot top.
LOL. I rate jack pretty highley at his prime. Would be interesting how rougheads career would have panned out in another side. I dont think he would have been this good if he didnt play for the hawks or had buddy taking the number one forward.

Roughead has been fantastic even after Buddy has left. Sensational player.

I think Jack is one of the most underrated players in the comp.
He cops a bad wrap for his immaturity at times, and being a Richmond player you're destined to fail.

Based on the last 2 years performance which is was CD do with their ratings - Roughead, Franklin, Jack and Kennedy are top 4.

If I could pick just 1, I'd pick Jack, closely followed up by JK.

Roughead has been fantastic even after Buddy has left. Sensational player.
he is. but i dont think he would be as good as he is, if didnt have buddy for most his career and hawks not flying. He would still be a great player but not this great.

I think Hawthorn have already surpassed Brisbane's achievements. They've won 4 flags in 8 years and played in 5 grand finals. 2011 they won 18 games and finished top 4, 2010 they finished top 8, 2009 they missed the finals.

That being said I think Brisbane were the better side.

Agreed. That Brisbane team was really something else and we managed to be their bogey team.

The panning camera is weird. It's way too dramatic!

The web didnt fail in the GF, we failed the web. The web works primarily through us putting pressure up-field on the ball carrier, so that any ball coming into the backline is classed as "dirty ball", which sound exciting but it just means the ball carrier doesnt have time to settle and pick a clean target. We were standing around like stunned mullets for the most part in the GF so that intense pressure we put on the ball carrier in the previous final we played them in was not there. This allowed the Hawks to use their supreme skills with ball in hand to cut us up and get easy scores. Hopefully we have learned from that debacle, so that if and when we get there again, the same thing doesnt happen. :)

Telling what Brownie said about the Grand Final, that we played our worst game of the year, made a heap of mistakes and failed on so many levels...yet were still somewhat in the game in the 3rd quarter.

So I don't think a lot needs to change in terms of 'the web' or how we play at the MCG - infact, the game against Richmond at the MCG was when the world took notice of how good we were (probably because it was Friday night and finally some Vics saw us). So I think the web works against all teams and doesn't need to be changed just for the Hawks.

Still, to make it to the Grand Final needs A LOT of things going right, and while we had a lot go wrong last year, we also had quite a few things go right. So far my main concerns surrounding guys like Gov, Shep, Naita, Gaff and Shuey being able to maintain the level we saw last year have been put to rest, lets hope we see some similar improvement from the next crop and Emac slots in well at FB to bolster our defense.

Agreed. That Brisbane team was really something else and we managed to be their bogey team.

A bit overplayed in reality.

Our record against Brisbane 2001-2004 is 4-2 which is better than anyone else at the time but they did beat us. 2003 was the only one of their premiership years that they didn't beat us, but beat them in 2002 then in every game from 2003-2006.

Question will be have we improved more than dogs and north. Our midfield can't afford any injuries. Not that we won't win a game, it's more that mcginnity will play. Turn.tv.off.

Yes, we have more players coming into their prime, whereas North have a lot of older players who might slow down.

Dogs are still very young and will have their good and bad games, but are an exciting team. They lose a bit with no Crameri and with important players like Murphy and Boyd getting on could need a few more youngsters to step up. Their draw is also a lot tougher this year (although they do play their first 7 games at Etihad).

From a personnel point of view:
We've added Jetta, Redden (and Emac).
WB have added Suckling (and Libba).
North have added Anderson (and Wells).

So I'd say we have the biggest upside in terms of imports too.

I reckon the Dogs have more upside than we do, just not yet. The core of their playing group is pretty young and inexperienced. Their EF side had 17 players with less than 100 games experience and 9 of those had less than 50. T Boyd, Johannisen and a few others didn't feature either. Youth is no guarantee of success but it's promising to be making finals with that sort of list profile.

North on the other hand will go close to breaking Brisbane's record for most experienced team of all time. They were ordinary when Wells wasn't injured so I don't see how him coming back is going to make a huge difference.

Our 3 'new' additions all add something. Jetta gives us real pace and goalkicking which is an upgrade on Rosa who was more of a ball carrier. Good player but Jetta adds a different element. Redden isn't Dangerfield or Judd but he is a good player and adds another midfield rotation so we stick with Priddis, Shuey, Gaff etc. and have Redden instead of Hutchings or a needing a kid like Duggan to step up straight away. Mackenzie is a no brainer. Last year we lost our FB and CHB 10 minutes into the season, this year we have him back so have more defensive options. Mackenzie on the best forward and McGovern on the next best with a bit more freedom suits me.

Fox Footy AFL Round Table on WCE