Total_Juddshanks

Premiership Player
Aug 4, 2005
Fee
AFL Club
West Coast
Other Teams
The good ones
It was with great sadness that I bade farewell to one of my favourite items of technology today.

In the summer of '03, I was a penniless student, and my parents stepped in and bought me a laptop for classes- I had no choice in the matter, they just came round my place and dropped it off- it was a BenQ Joybook which is a budget model, korean made concrete slab of a laptop.

It was never state of the art technology, but it got the job done- never had reason to replace it, and over the years, the thing which stuck out was its sheer unkillability. When I went on exchange i carted it halfway around asia with me, sent it through baggage handling on multiple occasions, dropped it down flights of stairs, used it in an outdoor bus station in drizzle, and on one memorable occasion dropped it out of a second story window into a snow drift- none of that bothered it in the slightest.

Over time, it ended up with standard cheap laptop problems, like a capacity to rapidly fry your family jewels if you used it as a literal lap top, and a battery life which was actually shorter than the time it took its processor to calculate remaining battery life once unplugged, but it still worked.

A landmark moment came in 2010, when I accidentally poured an entire cup of tea over the keyboard. It made a sort of electronic sneeze and switched off (along with all of the lights in the house.) I dried it off as best as I could, and figuring I had nothing to lose, rebooted. It worked okay for about 5 or 10 minutes, and then shut down again- this time, it wouldn't boot up at all.