Injury Fremantle 2023 Injury Thread

wayToGo_

Oct 24, 2015
So by my count we have 32 players fit and available. We are apparently taking 30 on the plane. Does not leave many left over. Although I'm assuming Ryan, Cerra, Switta and Pearce will all travel as they might be available for the Essendon game?

Madas

Aug 16, 2020
Sturt has had 3 totally unrelated contact injuries.

Concusssion
Ankle (which are common as **** AFL wide now)
Knee (that we don't even know the severity of)

It is literally just bad luck and there is no information there that suggests "injury proneness".
We shall see

May 2, 2017
QLD
We shall see
See what? Explain to me the mechanisms that you are concerned about driving his injury proneness in the future.

My understanding is your brain getting bumped when you whack your head on something has nothing to do with some 90kg man standing on your ankle or another 90kg man jumping on your leg, but I'd love to learn.

Sep 20, 2014
dbrw8uk-31a218b8-1635-44e3-9275-1d37d871d88e.gif

sumavich

Aug 29, 2006
perth
Hopefully continuing on didn’t do worse damage to the young bloke’s shoulder. He was going against kennedy as well later. Very brave. Put some weight on and he could be a superstar of the AFL

nurries

Mar 11, 2003
Freo
Sturt has had 3 totally unrelated contact injuries.

Concusssion
Ankle (which are common as **** AFL wide now)
Knee (that we don't even know the severity of)

It is literally just bad luck and there is no information there that suggests "injury proneness".
Bad luck? No it’s Freo normal luck. I’m not surprised anymore

Madas

Aug 16, 2020
See what? Explain to me the mechanisms that you are concerned about driving his injury proneness in the future.

My understanding is your brain getting bumped when you whack your head on something has nothing to do with some 90kg man standing on your ankle or another 90kg man jumping on your leg, but I'd love to learn.
He's played 4 out of roughly 50 games ( ICBF looking it up )
And now he's another TBC so let's add another 6-8 because it's Freo
If I had a guy working for me with that kind of attendance I'd probably be having him around for a Friday beer and saying " look mate , this isn't working, how about you consider a career working in the post office or something, maybe footy just isn't your thing ?!"

wayToGo_

Oct 24, 2015
I've definitely been desensitised to injuries these days.

Seeing Switta go from 4 weeks down to 1 was the most surprising thing for me today. Chapman out for 3 months still sucks plenty though.

I'm keen to know what the TBAs end up as before reacting too much to them. Other than Hill we've only really seen TBA put against players immediately after they've been injured (or re-injured) and then we get a timeframe the following week. Crossing fingers Hughes, Hamling and Sturt all aren't too long - like that ever works?!?

wayToGo_

Oct 24, 2015
If I had a guy working for me with that kind of attendance I'd probably be having him around for a Friday beer and saying " look mate , this isn't working, how about you consider a career working in the post office or something, maybe footy just isn't your thing ?!"
Not sure what you do but if you had a workplace where people get injured as frequently as AFL footballers do I'd think maybe revisiting your safety measures might be the priority over firing the injured party who will likely then sue you for compensation.

arsesmart

Sep 25, 2018
If things kept falling on and injuring him in your workplace you might see him in court after that Friday beer.
[jinx]

Dockeroo

Nov 1, 2019
Jlo looks like some ******* spanner now with his half time interview about Chapman:
“It’s just a stinger, he just needs to battle on through the second half now”

2 days later he’s getting a shoulder reconstruction. Staggering incompetence. * me, unbelievable.

On a related note, where does the money to treat injured players come from? Is it part of the soft cap annual spend?
If so, arent the perennially injured like Pearce, hamling, Sturt etc costing us a fortune getting specialist treatment and rehab the majority of their time at the club in recent years?

malpaso

Aug 30, 2004
Chicago Bulls, Kansas City Royals
Jlo looks like some ******* spanner now with his half time interview about Chapman:
“It’s just a stinger, he just needs to battle on through the second half now”

2 days later he’s getting a shoulder reconstruction. Staggering incompetence. fu** me, unbelievable.

On a related note, where does the money to treat injured players come from? Is it part of the soft cap annual spend?
If so, arent the perennially injured like Pearce, hamling, Sturt etc costing us a fortune getting specialist treatment and rehab the majority of their time at the club in recent years?
Thank you for that complete nonsense.

Oct 20, 2010
East Fremantle
I hate to be the bearer of bad news but Freddy has to be injured too, he will be our sneaky one this week IMO

His chasing in that second half was so piss poor that I just can't believe he didn't pick up an injury, remember when he went down after his goal?

Madas

Aug 16, 2020
Should have just left it at we shall see
Which simply means " you could be right or I could be right "
Neither of us know what's gonna happen So what does it matter .

All I was saying is that there's got to be a point where the club ( company ) says this isn't sustainable.
Not sure how long you think that piece of string is but I reckon if a player has barely played after 3 years questions need to be asked whether they are holding someone else back

nurries

Mar 11, 2003
Freo
As soon as the medja started talking about finals, the place turns to shite.

for god sake shut the * up you bunch of campaigners until we areactually in the finals. We haven’t achieved jack so don’t give the players a chance to drink their own bath water.

ilikepotatoes

May 27, 2011
Australia
Liverpool, Pistons, Glory
As soon as the medja started talking about finals, the place turns to sh*te.

for god sake shut the fu** up you bunch of campaigners until we areactually in the finals. We haven’t achieved jack so don’t give the players a chance to drink their own bath water.
Feels like this doesn't it?

Aug 16, 2009
UK
Dragons FFC, Old Easts
As soon as the medja started talking about finals, the place turns to sh*te.

for god sake shut the fu** up you bunch of campaigners until we areactually in the finals. We haven’t achieved jack so don’t give the players a chance to drink their own bath water.
Pretty sure Fyfe said the F word didn't he?