Autopsy Fremantle defeated by GIANTS

Overall, I am fairly happy with how the boys went yesterday in context of our rebuild, the environmental conditions the side we were against.

There were times of the game we were quiet but I don’t feel we ever gave up.

It must be noted that we were playing a side that is possibly the most talent stacked side in the history of the AFL. Even their free agents of Griffen and Delideo were stars at their former clubs.

As GWS starts tapering off in the next 4-5 years and when we should be in our prime.

I am not too concerned about the game plan at the moment as you can see Ross continues to change and adapt. As long as he keeps getting games into the kids and evolves the game plan to peak in 4-5 years time I will be happy.

I know right, you ask people at the start of the year or say start of the game (before the port and gws) games and you ll get "oh just hope we're competitive blah blah blah a 5 goal loss will be respectable , "if we're 2-2 after 4 rounds we're on track etc"
Now granted we struggled against port but remember the very next game they beat Sydney on their dungheap.

Yet once the games are done and dusted out come the nuffies with their preconceived and confirmation bias's, namely Ross is a s**t truck). I just don't get what people are expecting if this team atm??

The club said we in a 4 year rebuild (year 2), Ross said we're in a 4 year rebuild, fans accept we're in a 4 year rebuild but yet we lose to widely acknowledged top 4 contenders away from home and all of sudden the world is caving in:drunk:.

Like grape bear said , yes we are emotionally invested but we really are conditioned to have a I WANT IT NOW attitude in today's society and it certainly shines through in our support for our football club

it d just be nice once in a while if some people practiced having the noble art of perspective .
I hear you, but frankly the bolded is just not part of the majority of human psyches. It makes it frustrating as hell to read this board.

Luke Ryan has played 14 AFL games.

When he is on, he is so on and we are a four goal better side. When he has a poor game, it shows.
I think people forget this. They expect that he will play like a 100-gamer, because he was so good when he came into the team. But ATEOTD, he's a late draft 2nd year player that came into the season having played only 10 senior games. He's going to have bad days too.

Yet once the games are done and dusted out come the nuffies with their preconceived and confirmation bias's, namely Ross is a s**t truck). I just don't get what people are expecting if this team atm??

I'm expecting us to pick a third tall forward like most every other team in the AFL. If we do that and still have defenders taking 15 marks against us, then I will concede that it's not Ross Lyon's fault.

But as long as we insist on playing a small forward line then as far as I am concerned, that is the fault of selection.

View attachment 483442

^ this is a big problem, once the balls comes in it rarely ever actually went through for a score, we need some genuine goal sneaks in the team to take those opportunities. This is why I’m not giving up hope on Bennell getting fit and slotting into our forward line because that’s what he can provide for us.
I'm expecting us to pick a third tall forward like most every other team in the AFL. If we do that and still have defenders taking 15 marks against us, then I will concede that it's not Ross Lyon's fault.

But as long as we insist on playing a small forward line then as far as I am concerned, that is the fault of selection.
yeah look it's pretty obvious the main criticism, certainly mine of Ross had been his inability to manufacturing a consistent, efficient fwd line structure.
It's all about balance def and attack and clearly he still haven't got the balance right(I think it's getting there) but he's always going to be defence first(as slot of good coaches).
There have been mitigating circumstances of course , namely he's never had a real plethora of fwd line talent to work with(again changing)
I also agree we need another tall target but atm the stars haven't quite aligned- cox would be ideal and I hope he comes in soon (form permitting) , the other way is to play a second ruck.
We're limited there tho due to sacrificing run especially with so many first year players unable to share the load.
It is very much a balancing act for the coaching committee

We're limited there tho due to sacrificing run especially with so many first year players unable to share the load.

Wouldn't be sacrificing a lot of run to take out Ballantyne, who mainly specialises in falling over and missing the sticks.

Im getting a distinct 2012 vibe about this season, but with less talent but younger. I dont think we will get totally smashed much this year but I think well win a fair few of the games we should win. Looking at our list back then we definitely dont have the top end talent we had in 2012 but our bottom end looks a little better. Our list now feels more youthful but we are missing some of those B/C+ level players that could chip in reliably, ala Barlow, Clancee, Duffield, Mayne, ibbotson, McPhee, Mzungu, Crowley etc. When you go through our current list we have young replacements for many of them that arent quite there yet.

I remember that season being so existing, we were playing this new intense, accountable but often disorganized and confusing, sometimes awful brand of footy. I hope we are seeing that cycle begin this year.

Overall, I am fairly happy with how the boys went yesterday in context of our rebuild, the environmental conditions the side we were against.

There were times of the game we were quiet but I don’t feel we ever gave up.

It must be noted that we were playing a side that is possibly the most talent stacked side in the history of the AFL. Even their free agents of Griffen and Delideo were stars at their former clubs.

As GWS starts tapering off in the next 4-5 years and when we should be in our prime.

I am not too concerned about the game plan at the moment as you can see Ross continues to change and adapt. As long as he keeps getting games into the kids and evolves the game plan to peak in 4-5 years time I will be happy.

Agree.

Once you remove 2 or 3 average players, plus a few more build a better fitness base we will be good.

2019 we should approve a lot .

Some thorts
- How long before our supposedly star studded mid - field starts to
cop some heat from the media , Sandi laid it on a plate for them all
day for very little actual reward

- At the crossroads as far as the rest of the season goes if I had to bet
on which way we go I would have to say backwards unfortunately our
early season pluses are starting to get overtaken by our recent
historical problems

Point 1: We have no depth. You can't expect the same blokes to carry the midfield week in, week out. With 4 very inexperienced players in the side, you're going to get inconsistency.

Point 2: We are one win and percentage away from first place. This statement is a massive hyperbole.

5 goal loss against a premiership favourite away from home in crazy weather. If I had told you we would be 2 kicks behind going into the last 1/4 before the game you would have taken it. Yes we faded - I think that is somewhat expected with travel plus so many 50 game or less players and a heap of 20 or less players.

My frustrations are with players like Sheridan who burnt us terribly a couple of times when we were in the game in the last. He is useless.

Add Brad Hill - keep tucker and add Langdon - get Blakey in the middle and put Hughes back and we are looking for more mobile. Logue back in a few weeks would be bloody nice too but I think we are looking at at least another week until they decide what to do with him.

Can someone explain why Finlayson got a free kick from Leigh Fischer towards the end of the third term (4.40 mins left)? Geez he's a cockroach. Mundy kicks it forward to Tabs who stands underneath it with 2 outstretched arms and Finalyson is running back with the flight and get the free?
Then that other moron Dunstall bangs on about how good Finlaysons defensive spoil is but no explanation regarding a free which clearly wasnt there. Tabs and a team mate are looking at the ump with there arms out going what was that for u *******.
Earlier on in the quarter that Dunstall flog let out a sigh of frustration when De Boar kicked for goal which duelly split the big stix before spending the next couple of minutes trying to defend himself for jumping the gun on his set shot routine. Reputations count for nothing just get someone who can call the game and umpires without bias or malice.
Rant over.:rage:

I did enjoy the comment from the commentator bout the sandpaper on the ball at halftime trick after Griffen missed with a big hooking punt. That gave me a chuckle.

I'm expecting us to pick a third tall forward like most every other team in the AFL.

I wouldn't even class McCarthy as a second tall, he barely competes in marking contests and seems to lose more than he wins. He's at his best as a third/fourth tall who can out mark smaller defenders, lead into space and crumb. Basically we are playing 1 tall forward who also has to chop out in the ruck and provide a marking option on the wing/half forward.

We are desperately in need of another marking threat in the forward line to at least half the contest and help provide a another big body presence to help create space for teammates. Particularly when Taberner drifts up the ground; several of Taberner's forward 50m entries was the result of him trying to move the ball on quickly, but then not having anyone else to compete for the mark.

Another tall marking option would also help to take the pressure off both Taberner and McCarthy. The problem is Kersten isn't exactly a contested marking player either, so our other alternative is playing a slow ruck man.

I wouldn't even class McCarthy as a second tall, he barely competes in marking contests and seems to lose more than he wins. He's at his best as a third/fourth tall who can out mark smaller defenders, lead into space and crumb. Basically we are playing 1 tall forward who also has to chop out in the ruck and provide a marking option on the wing/half forward.

We are desperately in need of another marking threat in the forward line to at least half the contest and help provide a another big body presence to help create space for teammates. Particularly when Taberner drifts up the ground; several of Taberner's forward 50m entries was the result of him trying to move the ball on quickly, but then not having anyone else to compete for the mark.

Another tall marking option would also help to take the pressure off both Taberner and McCarthy. The problem is Kersten isn't exactly a contested marking player either, so our other alternative is playing a slow ruck man.

We played Cox in that position last year. He seems to be out of favour for whatever reason now, but it's not like we don't have options.

Point 1: We have no depth. You can't expect the same blokes to carry the midfield week in, week out. With 4 very inexperienced players in the side, you're going to get inconsistency.

Point 2: We are one win and percentage away from first place. This statement is a massive hyperbole.

Agreed that one win and percentage statement is very hyperbolic

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

I haven't watched all the game, but from what I have seen, it seems that as the Giants' pressure around the ball increased after 1st Q, some of our forwards got sucked further up the ground to give an option when we struggled to get the ball out of defence.
So that's great work ethic from Tabs etc to be the outlet kick option, but it also means that all of those forwards then have to work very hard back in the forward line so that we have targets we can "lower our eyes" towards.
And GWS were just faster at getting back than we were. So we got killed by their defensive spread.
During the game, the way to handle this is to maintain possession in the midfield with short kicks, handballs and lateral movement. But we won't have the skills to do so consistently when the real heat comes on.
Personnel-wise, getting Langdon & B.Hill back will give us the offensive running power we really lacked.
Having another marking player is also important, so we can release McCarthy to HF, and always keep a marking player deep.

My preference would be for Tabs to play permanently deep and to have Cox to play up the ground as the outlet option.

People have been saying for weeks the team suffers offensively when Tabs goes into the ruck. Its amazing he barely got a game last year and now we need 2 of him. Lol.
Naturally when Kerston went back to Peel you would of assumed Cox would of been a direct swap but that hasnt been the case for whatever reason. I have the feeling Cox has been told in the offseason to lift his intensity but that hasnt happened from what I have seen down at Peel.
Darcy unfortunately got injured which foiled any plans of a resting ruck in the team and now no one in the 2's is really sticking there hand up.
So IMO injuries and form is forcing Lyon to go small. Heaven forbid if Sandi gets injured we will be in a world of hurt!

People have been saying for weeks the team suffers offensively when Tabs goes into the ruck. Its amazing he barely got a game last year and now we need 2 of him. Lol.
Naturally when Kerston went back to Peel you would of assumed Cox would of been a direct swap but that hasnt been the case for whatever reason. Im have the feeling Cox has been told in the offseason to lift his intensity but that hasnt happened from what I have seen down at Peel.
Darcy unfortunately got injured which foiled any plans of a resting ruck in the team and now no one in the 2's is really sticking there hand up.
So IMO injuries and form is forcing Lyon to go small. Heaven forbid if Sandi gets injured we will be in a world of hurt!
We have no other option but to play Meek, Cox or Hughes. Sure it's not ideal, but it'll be good for structure, development. Cox probably has to get given time in AFL.
Tabs is getting worked out in the ruck, our structures suck up forward. It leaves you thinking 'God if only Tabs was up there'. Then the kick goes to McCarthy and it's not even a 50/50 chance. Cam gets exposed.
Sure a small forward line may be benefital at quick scores. But Ballas and Matera has to be there to get ground crumbs, not be in situations they are required to be in 1on1 marking plays. Frustrating, because elite teams such as GWS have a leading FF, a tall 2nd ruck with smalls around them. Such as GWS- Cameron, Patton and Greene. Essendon- Daniher, Stewart, Green.

We have no other option but to play Meek, Cox or Hughes. Sure it's not ideal, but it'll be good for structure, development. Cox probably has to get given time in AFL.
Tabs is getting worked out in the ruck, our structures suck up forward. It leaves you thinking 'God if only Tabs was up there'. Then the kick goes to McCarthy and it's not even a 50/50 chance. Cam gets exposed.
Sure a small forward line may be benefital at quick scores. But Ballas and Matera has to be there to get ground crumbs, not be in situations they are required to be in 1on1 marking plays. Frustrating, because elite teams such as GWS have a leading FF, a tall 2nd ruck with smalls around them. Such as GWS- Cameron, Patton and Greene. Essendon- Daniher, Stewart, Green.

Yeah need Cox to play and hopefully he gets played into form. Its a bit risky though. But its the least riskiest option when you look at the rest of the talls who are either raw, injured or unsuitable eg Kerston.