Review Fremantle vs. Essendon

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

I'm not sure we ever lost the pressure aspect of our game but I thought our pressure in that 2nd qtr was sensational. Slippery conditions and butchered inside 50s turned the game into circle work in the 2nd qtr but we were very very good. Football 2015 is all about slick ball movement and momentum and many games have been won this year by 1 or 2 qtrs of super fast slick footy. Fortunately we seem to be the best at doing it.

that balled seemed really greasy tonight - there was even a point where Clarke put it down to wipe his hands (not from a mark)

Decision making going into the F50 went a little awry in the second half but again we set up the win with another dominant first half. I thought Sandi was an absolute monster tonight, I've grown pretty used to Sandi>Fyfe>centre clearance>scoring opportunity by now.

One slight negative is that Walters has had a very average start to the season, trying to play above himself at times and making poor decisions. Possibly suffering from last week's hit still but it's yet to come together for him so far this year.

Our midfield unit really made the Essendon mids look like drunken infants tonight; special mention to Zac Clarke for playing the perfect foil-role for Sandi tonight; got his fair share of footy around the ground and did some damage up forward too. Playing one recognised ruckman against Freo hasn't paid off for any team this year.

Very good win over all. Dominate in every way throughout.

Fyfe - sandi - Mundy - Barlow - Neale all moved out of the centre through most of last quarter and a half.

If fyfe kicks one of his two and we don't butcher a couple of other entries it woukdnt be so bad. The game was never in doubt. Ballas, pav and maybe looked good. Sandi took some big marks and tapped to our mids brilliantly. Some of the clearances we get are so easy and clean it must be demoralising for opponents.

Pearce and Walters butchered the ball going into fifty a bit tonight and some field kicks behind the leading players which for Walters was surprising.

A. Pearce was good with his body and good on the ground. Long way to go but glad we are getting development into him. Big positive tonight.

Ballas was better tonight, he was due, Walters is too, one of my favorites but Son Son has only been average this year. I don't exactly buy David King's theory about our second halves, it's a bit of a worry that we don't play four quarters often enough, one day it could seriously hurt us. Dominant performance, but allowing opposition to score cheap goals in the last quarter undoes some of the good work. Overall pleased, but still room for improvement.

I'm not worried about the drop-offs as such. I think it was perfectly paced myself. With one BIG qualifying note. Go slow, chip around, control the ball, make it a 2 goal quarter, whatever. I reckon that's smart footy given the demands of the game. But when you DO get your chance to break fwd, and you've got a lead-up player inside 50 1-on-1, then FFS KICK IT TO HIS ADVANTAGE.

We butchered, I mean Butchered in major way a few easy opportunities in the last quarter to make sure the control was properly executed with kicks that an under/12 player would see is there. There was a couple by D.Pearce (who's game overall was OK, not Pearce (which one:) bashing), and Walters was another comes to mind. That's the only thing that shits me a bit. Should have been a 2 goal each, slow, bit of a nothing but controlled last quarter. Other than that, I call that a perfectly paced game for mine.

This is utter garbage. Essendon "couldn't play like they did in the last" because we made them play the game on our terms right up until 3/4 time. I suppose you reckon if West Coast had played like they did in the last quarter against us they would have won?

It is blatantly obvious that Freo switches to "preparing for next week"once the game has been won. This has happened in 4 of our 6 games this year.
Utter garbage? Yeah all the fluffed kicks, not getting back. We really made them play on our terms. They came out had fast ball movement and caught us out a heap of times.

It's a long season, I have no problems with them easing off every chance they get. Whatever they're doing is obviously working because we're coming out of the blocks like demons every week.

Just keep banking the 4 points. Don't need to worry about percentage when you're two games clear on top of the ladder.

Utter garbage? Yeah all the fluffed kicks, not getting back. We really made them play on our terms. They came out had fast ball movement and caught us out a heap of times.
Chill buddy, it's round six of a very long season. We'd all like to see them smash every team we play but it's not physically possible. I'm happy to see them bank every win they can, and start building to peak form in the last quarter of the season.

We were never going to lose this game and if you'd offered me a five goal win before the game I'd have taken it gladly.

We're two games clear on top of the ladder, let's not look for negatives.

What's with activating the sub - de Boer of course - with just 10 minutes to go? I just don't get that. Could've easily been done at 3/4 time.

I'm not worried about the drop-offs as such. I think it was perfectly paced myself. With one BIG qualifying note. Go slow, chip around, control the ball, make it a 2 goal quarter, whatever. I reckon that's smart footy given the demands of the game. But when you DO get your chance to break fwd, and you've got a lead-up player inside 50 1-on-1, then FFS KICK IT TO HIS ADVANTAGE.

Indeed. Both towards the end of the second quarter and in the last, while we slowed things down through the back half without much difficulty, when going forwards the whole strategy disintegrated under the weight of bad skill errors. Classic example was when Taberner marked on the half forward flank about 60 out. Instead of going back and laying up to the hot spot, he handballs immediately to Danyle Pearce who does one of his unfortunate leftwards shuffles, followed by a kick that's too short and easily cleared by the numerical advantage of Essendon's defence. What's the rush?!

I thought the defence was immaculate tonight, even without one of its keystone figures. I'm glad Alex Pearce mentioned in his little piece on the club website on Thursday that he knew the others would look after him, and they did with some top shelf intercept marking and spoils. It's only because the mids were totally out of gas in the final term that the Bombers could get any sort of quick play going at all.

At the moment we are destroying teams in 10-15 minute bursts of devastating power football. And when challenged, we are just finding that other gear to prevail. That last quarter wasn't pretty, and the players do bear responsibility for that by trying to be too cute sometimes - but I have resigned myself to the fact that we have different demands than Hawthorn, and have to conserve energy because we can afford to. For all that we bang on about percentage here, I guess we're finally seeing the old dictum that percentage doesn't matter too much if you keep on winning!

Speaking of - my mind goes back to the BigFooty table at the 2013 Doig. I remember talking with Seppo, Wigarus, Sansian and others that for all the brilliance that season saw, I still longed for the moment where Freo - just like Geelong, St Kilda, Collingwood and Hawthorn in the recent past - were the league's unchallenged top dogs out in the clear with a crushing percentage. I refuse to be arrogant or cocky, and I truly don't know how long this can all last, but you know what? However long, after all those years of ridicule and pain directed at our beloved Dockers, I am LOVING. IT.

I am not loving Michael Walters right now. For the first time since his return in 2012, I believe he needs to be dropped back to Peel to get some touch back and Crozier or Duffy brought in. I cannot remember a time when Son Son has been as ineffectual as this. He's ducking into "free kicks" that obviously aren't going to be called his way, his elite kicking skills have slipped, he's not scoring enough, he's not tackling enough, and he's not adding anything to the midfield. He'll be back - but I don't think I can tolerate this total lack of pressure when the tall forwards drop marks for much longer...

Mate, most of their errors came from Freo's pressure. Not sure why you can't see that Essendon was never in this game.

It's not that they were never in the game, they weren't. But, they did come out and play reasonably well, while we dropped off. I'm pretty sure 3 teams came from behind today, if we're not careful it will happen to us. Like I said initially, I'm happy for the win, but I am a little disappointed with how the game ended.

Edit: Just checked, was 2, but you get my point.

To anyone that still thinks Clancee isn't best 22

giphy.gif

+ A Pierce. Seriously you could see the look of shock on his face when he got to ball from where I was sitting and to make such good decisions and execute skills as he did is incredibly promising. Needs a couple of kegs and hes good to go. Even if he never improves his skills he'll be Rance level.

+ Clancee, this guy is generally regarded as in our worst 6 without much discussion. But what we are getting out of him is what we got out of our worst 6 in 2013. Excellent

+ Zarke for me was awesome today. I think the best ruckman on the day though not as influential as Sandi (does that make sense?). Hes really getting those hands going and his stuff below his knees is getting borderline elite for his size.

+ Johnno man, Johnno is the best backline general in the game at this stage of the season. Seriously does this guy even need to try footy is so easy for him.

+ Ballas is back thank god. I thought he might have been carrying something nasty after last week but hes good to go.

+ Neale. I was at the game with my sister that watched exactly zero footy. She said Neale was the best player on the ground. I got to agree.

+ Fyfe. Did Fyfe stuff.

+ Defence. Ibbo, Spurr and Duffman, our defence could beat the all Australian forward line.

- I am am massive Sonny fan. I think the Sonny up the ground test SHOULD happen but maybe next year. Our mids generate so much power through their cores and lower body I just dont think Sonny is physically ready yet. He will get there though. He is so hard at it but the ducking has to go, the umps just arent calling those anymore.

- Heppel is overrated.

Walters was spoken to by the ump for one attempt to duck under a tackle. He seemed a little off the boil today - overcooked that kick to Pav when we were on the break

At most centre bounces in the first half where Mundy was in, he was blocking Watson and most of the time we'd win the clearance. They would then switch it up now and again, someone else would block and Mundy would stroll out with the ball

Heppell was on Fyfe - but ineffective

Kept noticing J Merrett around the place, he showed some good signs for the bombers

A. Pearce was impressive. Well supported by the others, was ignored from time to time when he was in space where we went with another option. Spoils were good, and only got outpointed by Daniher once when he was running from behind (and from memory Daniher missed it anyway)

Noticed our guys sometimes fumbling the intercept marks in the d50 tonight - more than usual

Walters and Ballantyne have both been frustrating to watch so far this year. Thank god 2013-Mayne has re-emerged
I thought Ballantyne was pretty good. Put his body on the line (who was it that he collided with off the ball when putting on a block)
Got that good run down tackle in the middle of the ground (second quarter I think?)
Kicked a couple of goals

He wouldn't make the bests lists (IMO) but he certainly wasn't terrible.

It's not that they were never in the game, they weren't. But, they did come out and play reasonably well, while we dropped off. I'm pretty sure 3 teams came from behind today, if we're not careful it will happen to us. Like I said initially, I'm happy for the win, but I am a little disappointed with how the game ended.

Edit: Just checked, was 2, but you get my point.

Agree. As happy as I am that Freo are winning, I feel kind of disappointed that they don't go on with it. I thought we were going to beat Eagles by 100pts + a couple of weeks ago but fell over line basically. Can't get away with that forever. But, yeah, a win is a win.

+ A Pierce. Seriously you could see the look of shock on his face when he got to ball from where I was sitting and to make such good decisions and execute skills as he did is incredibly promising. Needs a couple of kegs and hes good to go. Even if he never improves his skills he'll be Rance level.

+ Clancee, this guy is generally regarded as in our worst 6 without much discussion. But what we are getting out of him is what we got out of our worst 6 in 2013. Excellent

+ Zarke for me was awesome today. I think the best ruckman on the day though not as influential as Sandi (does that make sense?). Hes really getting those hands going and his stuff below his knees is getting borderline elite for his size.

+ Johnno man, Johnno is the best backline general in the game at this stage of the season. Seriously does this guy even need to try footy is so easy for him.

+ Ballas is back thank god. I thought he might have been carrying something nasty after last week but hes good to go.

+ Neale. I was at the game with my sister that watched exactly zero footy. She said Neale was the best player on the ground. I got to agree.

+ Fyfe. Did Fyfe stuff.

+ Defence. Ibbo, Spurr and Duffman, our defence could beat the all Australian forward line.

- I am am massive Sonny fan. I think the Sonny up the ground test SHOULD happen but maybe next year. Our mids generate so much power through their cores and lower body I just dont think Sonny is physically ready yet. He will get there though. He is so hard at it but the ducking has to go, the umps just arent calling those anymore.

- Heppel is overrated.

Couldn't agree more