Fremantle VS St Kilda

saintsrule said:
Spitting at is different from spitting on, disgusting yes, but I am wondering what verbal sewerage provoked this, as it was uncharacteristic of the player involved.

There seems to be a perception among Freo supporters that The Saints resisted handing over the 4 points to Freo, when in fact they could not have done so, even if willing. The debacle was always going to be decided by the AFL.

Don't underestimate the improvement in the Saints side either, although not so mediaised as Freo's.

Anyway I'm doing my raindance just in case!

i've no idea whether the Saint resisted the 4 points etc. Really all i'm hoping for is a great contest this weekend. The last few games have been absolute nail biters. The longmuir goal last year is probably the most exciting game i've ever been to. Some may see that as dissappointing, but it was something else.

Two form sides going head to head. Should be a cracker. I have no real angst against the Saints, i hope you win a flag. Its been a long time between drinks.

rgauci said:
I'm sensing hostility normally reserved for the derby's. And i'm loving it. Our style of play is vastly different from what it was 4 months ago. There has been some real crackers between the two clubs and i'm looking forward to a spiteful clash.

I mean in tassie, the siren debacle help sideline the fact one of your players spat at/on our player. Disgusting really. I hope we give you an absolute thrashing. But i doubt we will. It'll be a close one, but i'm tipping Fremantle by 12 points.

The only worrying factor is its absolutely *****ing down at the moment. Torrential rain. Weather could be a factor. If this game was played in the sunshine i'd have no worries discounting you completely.

Its 1-1 in the umpire debacles. The Hamill free kick is equivalent to some of the soft free kicks our talls forwards recieved in the second game last year. The siren debacle was won fair and squarely by us. So don't go feeling down because of the umpires.

umm if you can remember last year round 21 in perth. umpires were disgraceful

goals from free kicks

freo 5
saints 0

rgauci said:
i've no idea whether the Saint resisted the 4 points etc. Really all i'm hoping for is a great contest this weekend. The last few games have been absolute nail biters. The longmuir goal last year is probably the most exciting game i've ever been to. Some may see that as dissappointing, but it was something else.

Two form sides going head to head. Should be a cracker. I have no real angst against the Saints, i hope you win a flag. Its been a long time between drinks.

:thumbsu:

SIR SAINT HOTDOG said:
umm if you can remember last year round 21 in perth. umpires were disgraceful

goals from free kicks

freo 5
saints 0

Absolutely true. But you'll also remember that 4/5 possibly 3/5 were correct. I was at the game and it didn't become apparent that any of the umpiring decisions were questionable until i left the game and watched it on TV. There was no mention on the radio of 1-sided umpiring. I listen to the radio while at the game.

It was the TV broadcast highlighting the fact we had scored goals from free kicks. You'll also remember that you had free kicks inside 50 but just didn't convert.

Was it truly 5 goals, i thought it was only 3.

I am LOVING this. Because we have been crap for 100 years, we've never had any rivalries with anyone, so rivalry round is always a little embarrassing. Now all of a sudden we have two teams to hate - Geelong and Freo, except that our games against Geelong are always disappointing. I reckon Stkilda-Freo games are just about the most exciting ones in the comp.

It will be a beauty. Maybe Freo's win over Adelaide will have them just a little cocky? Never mind Kosi and the Clarkes, Baker is a huge in for us. We'll play him on Farmer and Farmer won't get a kick.

The AFL officially apologised to St Kilda after that match (and after the port match) both were lost by under a goal, an apology doesn't give us the points though.

The way I see it, the Saints will give you your home ground advantage and come over there and beat you.

Your 6 in a row wont help you.

PS The Saints have won 6 of the last 7.

Soon you will have the same record. We will have 7 of 8

The only difference is that is the best form of Freo's existance!

StKildonan said:
The AFL officially apologised to St Kilda after that match (and after the port match) both were lost by under a goal, an apology doesn't give us the points though.

The way I see it, the Saints will give you your home ground advantage and come over there and beat you.

Your 6 in a row wont help you.

PS The Saints have won 6 of the last 7.

Soon you will have the same record. We will have 7 of 8

The only difference is that is the best form of Freo's existance!

I challenge you to find any reference to that apology. I don't remember any such thing. I do remember an apology after the port game.

I may be wrong...

Saints say umpiring sins have been costly (no link - archived already)
By Michael Gleeson
May 8, 2006

AFL umpiring boss Jeff Gieschen has told St Kilda coach Grant Thomas that the umpiring in the Saints' loss to Port Adelaide a fortnight ago was about the worst in Gieschen's time at the league.

Thomas yesterday confirmed details of a meeting he had with Gieschen at Moorabbin, reported in The Sunday Age , in which the club protested at the umpiring.

The Saints counted 14 umpiring errors in the match. Gieschen admitted to 13 but was later persuaded to the 14th. At least four of the erroneous free kicks led to Port Adelaide goals in a match the Power won at home by four points.

"I'd hate to think it was anything else other than just a bad day. It was a four-point ball game, it was very tight, and we were very frustrated with a lot of the things that happened . . ," Thomas told 3AW.

"The unfortunate thing was when we inquired about how many mistakes against Port Adelaide, it was zero, so 14 to zero, it does hurt a side when it's that balance and Jeff acknowledged it was a very poor performance, one of the worst that he's been associated with, and I think two of the South Australian umpires didn't umpire the following week."

Thomas asked whether the umpires were treating St Kilda with greater severity given his outburst last year, in which he suggested umpires' egos affected their jobs. It precipitated the "whispers in the sky" affair after several decisions went against the Saints against Fremantle in Perth.

It was claimed that an umpire said, as he boarded the plane after St Kilda's narrow loss, words to the effect of "now I know what it is like to have a win". The AFL investigated the issue and could find no merit in the claim.

"I think it was our right to ask that question only because you go back to the Fremantle game in round 21 last year and Jeff also acknowledged that was a poor day," Thomas said.

"We just asked the question, is there anything we need to do to ensure things are looked upon in more balance? Jeff's response was he doesn't think so but he'll make inquiries for us.

"We don't want to start World War III on this, but it's human nature if someone is offended, and they were obviously offended and that's why I got fined $20,000 and that's why I apologised … what Jeff's acknowledged is that they've had a couple of poor umpiring days and I suppose that can happen."

The St Kilda coach also raised the point of pressure loaded onto AFL umpires consistently umpiring in their home state. "It's a real cauldron at AAMI Stadium, as it is at Subiaco," he said.

"Those guys have got to front up to work on Monday and they're darned if they do and darned if they don't.

"There is never any suggestion of anything other than interpretation but because of that fact, interpretation, it puts enormous pressure on especially when there's 50,000 screaming fans and 44,000 are local fans …

"The game has got to a level of professionalism that we do require a different balance and that's the same for Melbourne-based games when you have interstate teams travelling to Melbourne."

freo grover said:
We snatched the round21 game off you last year just like the umpires did it to us in tassie last year. This year in tassie we won fair and square and you cheating pricks tried to get the points! Footy justice did prevail this year when the whole football community and the rest of the country apart from those pathetic cheating saints knew it!!

The dockers will smash st kilda on saturday night and bring you down to reality that no only will you not finish top four, that you wont even make it past the first round in the finals.

Always blaming the umpires for your teams pathetic performances. I hope you feel cheated on saturday night again, because you will lose and be brought back to down earth as the mediocre team that you are!!!

Post edited to remove personal abuse.

Please have more respect on an opposition club board

How dare you come on the Saints board and call us cheating pricks, you clown.

You are not worth arguing with so eff off.:mad: :mad:

rgauci said:
Absolutely true. But you'll also remember that 4/5 possibly 3/5 were correct. I was at the game and it didn't become apparent that any of the umpiring decisions were questionable until i left the game and watched it on TV. There was no mention on the radio of 1-sided umpiring. I listen to the radio while at the game.

It was the TV broadcast highlighting the fact we had scored goals from free kicks. You'll also remember that you had free kicks inside 50 but just didn't convert.

Was it truly 5 goals, i thought it was only 3.

Possibly a WEST Australian radio station??? FFS...:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

There has never been so much interest in a game, expressed by an opposition team on the Saints board! Hope the game lives up to expectations! :thumbsu:

garth p said:
How dare you come on the Saints board and call us cheating pricks, you clown.

You are not worth arguing with so eff off.:mad: :mad:

I didn't even bother answering that drivel, Garth.
He is allowed to live in his own little world if he wants.
It must be a nice place: pretty purple clouds in the sky, nice soft fuzzy animals to pet, and the big mean Saints wont come and ruin it for him.

You guys have a fair mob of support over here. Round 21 last year was a good turnout of Saints fans.

Yeah hoping for a good game.

Both teams have big games the following week but we dont have to travel so i'd say how your match committee approaches this game will have even more of a impact on your team's spot in the 8 at the end of round 22.

I presume McPharlin will be given the job, I don't think there is anyone else with the physique to match it with him. Maybe Polak.

StKildonan said:
I presume McPharlin will be given the job, I don't think there is anyone else with the physique to match it with him. Maybe Polak.

Correct, Polak won't be selected. I'm astonished on our own board people are suggesting Parker or Grover (he'll play WAFL, will comeback the following week).

People are suggesting McPharlin for Riewoldt which won't happen. Johnson/Mundy/Dodd with a combined effort to shut him down. Kosi will be interesting as well.

What about our forwards?

Farmer --> Baker
Pavlich --> Houghton
Murphy --> ???
Longmuir --> Rix ???

Farmer is going to be the dangerman.I hope St Kilda can keep Pav and Farmer down to 3 goals in total.Farmer's been finding a lot of footy lately.

Farmer --> Baker (Probably - Leigh Fisher may have a role on him too)
Pavlich --> Hudghton (possibly) Max usually takes the FF zone I'd say, so he'd probably be on Murphy if Conolly lines him up as FF.
Longmuir --> Rix (seems likely)

Pav will probably have Sam Fisher at some stage, Max at times, maybe others.

Do you think Johnson is the ideal choice on Riewoldt ?

StKildonan said:
Farmer --> Baker (Probably - Leigh Fisher may have a role on him too)
Pavlich --> Hudghton (possibly) Max usually takes the FF zone I'd say, so he'd probably be on Murphy if Conolly lines him up as FF.
Longmuir --> Rix (seems likely)

Pav will probably have Sam Fisher at some stage, Max at times, maybe others.

Do you think Johnson is the ideal choice on Riewoldt ?

Not ideal, but will most likely start on him, Johnson can be very damaging around the ground also. In tassie Thornton and Johnson combined well to nullify his effect. Unfortunately Thornton did a hammy in his comeback games during the WAFL so won't play this week.

Riewoldt will hurt us, it just depends whether Johnson can be just as damaging the other way. Dodd may be given the opportunity though i'm not sure thats ideal either. Similar to Pav it'll be multiple opponents over the course of the game.

We don't have a perfect matchup for Riewoldt. Two McPharlins would be nice. 2006 FB model for Gehrig and 2003 CHB model for Riewoldt.

Kosi is interesting also. Longmuir played back pocket on Kosi during last years game. Mundy is another option also if Longmuir is pushing forward.

i so hope we win so i can get on this board and get banned after the game! :thumbsu:

dockers to thump so hard you wont even have to fly back to victoria!

cant wait...

I can't believe some Saints fans are saying we were ripped off in our last match againts Freo. The siren had gone! Stop embarrasing your fellow supporters.

And yes, Freo did win the round 21 clash last year due to the umpiring, but can anyone remember the game earlier that year?

The hatred between the Saints and Freo is nothing. Go to a Saints Geelong match and you will see who clearly is hated among St Kilda eyes. I have nothing againts Freo supporters. There is always some tools among all fans, more so Geelong fans.

Hope for a great match. Would love to be able to be at it. Don't think the Saints midfield can go the distance at Subi, so it really is up to our forwards to try and get the jump on them early. Otherwise, if it is even untill the 3rd, the Dockers will run away with it.

Freo has a good chance to make top 4 and win their first AFL final, and let us hope they get matched againts West Coast in the finals at some point and beat them. That would really be priceless.

Freo are finally playing the footy you'd expect from the talented list they have. They were terrific against Adelaide on Sunday, and shouldn't be taken lightly. They match up pretty well against us, with Pavlich as the obvious danger, but so do we against them, Rooey giving them a matchup headache. It'll be won in the midfield; if we can match or better them there we'll win. If not, not.

Hopefully it's a good hard game, without a contentious finish for a change.