Autopsy Fremantle With a Golden Win in a Wet Slog

Do we win that without Fyfe out there in the last quarter? If we’re talking about his impact purely as a player then yes we probably do.

But it’s the impact he has an experienced leader & the fact that as a teammate you stand a little taller when he’s out there with you. You can’t measure the impact that has on our young group.

We have so many young players who have played very little footy with him that they would still be in awe of him as a player & wouldn’t want to let him down in that last quarter.

In my opinion I think as a coaching group, the day couldn’t have gone any better.
When Fyfe came on it , he shook the ground and instilled fear amongst the suns players who had only heard of the myth and legend that is the man, who could take on three players with his bare hands

But Fyfe was a good contributor in getting some of the ball moving in our direction. Whether we win if he wasn't there, is if Only

I reckon Bolton, Jackson and Clark would be AA right now. Brayshaw and Serong in strong contention.

Reid top 3 for the rising star.

Amazingly, Longmuir may be in contention for coach of the year if the second half of the year stays on course.
If Fremantle keep winning and somehow sneak into Top 4, expect Serong and Brayshaw in there too.

When Jackson kicked it there i was thinking wtf he is doing.

GC could have been out on the other side
Even JLo addressed that, was clearly a miskick, should have gone to the contest in the pocket near the boundary.
While it was in the air I was like oh we're f*cked now, looked like it would be an intercept mark and rebound but it swung away and Bolton gave that amazing chase.

These are our top five goal scorers for the year so far heading into the bye:

View attachment 2331006

That's a good spread of players with decent tallys to the midpoint of the season. Same again in the next half of the season and it could be Treacy 46, Amiss 34, Freddy 34, Bolton 32 and Reid 28 goals for the year. Finals on top of that too if we are good enough.

Very valuable contributions to our scoring capacity from two new recruits in Bolton and Reid. And let's not forget our new goal scoring secret weapon in Moose sitting back there just waiting to get forward to join the fun.

I reckon Bolton, Jackson and Clark would be AA right now. Brayshaw and Serong in strong contention.

Reid top 3 for the rising star.

Amazingly, Longmuir may be in contention for coach of the year if the second half of the year stays on course.
WTF ?

He’s taken a team that should’ve made finals last year into a team that might make finals this year

You see some stupid shit written when we lose but when we win … FMD

Footy is a tight contest. A couple of those Chapman turns inside to handball that didn't make it to the team mate and we lose.

Their set shots were all over us, except scoring the goals, that handball miss that lead to the Wagner goal, could have gone the other way.

Gold Coast would feel like they could have/should have had that win.

gotta acknowledge switta has put in some good games as of late. some of those efforts to 50:50 a contest he probably should be losing were very admirable

chapman impressed me as well, has been a bit shaky at times in my opinion but this game he showed clean mitts and was solid up against some strong boys.

treacy was disappointing, could not get a handle on the ball to save his life

bolton and jackson i will say again are so so far ahead the best players on the field, seriously impactful. as others have pointed out, boltons efforts have really surprised me with his downhill skier tag, the bloke wants to win with us as badly as anyone. how lucky we are to have him

coxy is putting together a solid season now which is great to see, ryan as well has pulled his finger out big time. love those boys so glad i haven’t had to pot them as of late

When Jackson kicked it there i was thinking wtf he is doing.

GC could have been out on the other side

Yeah a skewed wet weather kick. At the same time as Jackson is getting the ball, giving it, and getting it back, have a look how much energy he has at the end of the game compared to Witts who just can't go with him.

Don't know how it plays out if Bolton doesn't make that tackle. If the Suns were going to rebound forward from that kick, they might have had to run it out with those extra numbers they had that were deep and bunched together near Holman and from the vision behind the goals, down the field it was closely marked 1 vs 1. Someone would have had to break away into space to receive it or they kick it to a contest.

But 30 seconds left seems interminable when your team is ahead hoping for the siren and once they have control of the ball anything can unfold and there's usually another handful of critical moments that play out either way.

Rioli cooked it.

It looked like Rioli was immediately concerned about Brayshaw being injured after it happened.

Initially I thought Brayshaw might have been pinged for going low, but he gets to the ball a metre in the clear, it's just that he skids and loses footing, falls backwards as he gets possession. Bolton's bump on Rioli would have been behind the action if Brayshaw was able to grab the ball with forward momentum.

It looked like Rioli was immediately concerned about Brayshaw being injured after it happened.

Initially I thought Brayshaw might have been pinged for going low, but he gets to the ball a metre in the clear, it's just that he skids and looses footing, falls backwards as he gets possession. Bolton's bump on Rioli would have been behind the action if Brayshaw was able to grab the ball with forward momentum.
Yep that’s the way I saw it.
It wasn’t Shai bumping Rioli into brayshaw ,he was doing the exact correct thing and was trying to bump Rioli to make space for brayshaw, it’s just as he did Andy slipped

Thought Banfield played well off half back. He looks so composed. That was an error. For mine Flanders barely moved - it was more of a fake move to try and coerce ole banners to do what he did. He needed to be better and I’m sure he’ll learn from that.

GC had a genuine ploy to try and draw 50m penalties. There was another one in the middle of the ground very similar. Also Mac Andrew dropped the ball with Serong I think it was and the umpire saw through it. On the whole the umpires weren’t too bad except two infuriating deliberate out of bounds Free kicks. One against Banfield which was actually a smother and that call led to a goal and another against Cox that he chipped forward whilst being tackled and went close to another Freo player. On first live view I didn’t like that Free kick where Jed Walter threw his arms out against Draper but on replay it was clearly a free kick.
What ???
That was a disgusting performance. It actually needs investigating because of its one sided feature.
It had played straight into Hardwicks gripe in the media and sets up the league to reactionary umpiring.

Autopsy Fremantle With a Golden Win in a Wet Slog