Freo Mascot

The best description I ever read of the Freo mascot was posted by Tim Murphy on RSFA a few years ago:

"Grinder. ... supposedly a sneering, tough wharfie but looks more like a middle-aged boozer who's had a stroke."

Originally posted by carneagles

"Grinder. ... supposedly a sneering, tough wharfie but looks more like a middle-aged boozer who's had a stroke."

Classic

:D ;) :p

The best description I ever read of the Freo mascot was posted by Tim Murphy on RSFA a few years ago:

I can see you go to the footy regularly......., Grinder was pensioned off a couple of seasons ago.

Originally posted by masai

I can see you go to the footy regularly......., Grinder was pensioned off a couple of seasons ago.

Should have also pensioned off McAnus, Norrish, Kickett back then too.....;)

I don't think our mascots supposed to be anything. He's just some dude named The Doc.

At the derby earlier this year i saw the eagles mascot, now im guessing it's supposed to be an eagle right? Not a mosquito with chicken legs and tights.

Sorry, don't really keep up with these things. Do they still drag out a giant anchor before your home games?

And do they still run out onto the ground through that huge inflatable toilet?

Three words... The Red Army!

Now if you want to talk about jokes and over-comercialisation of footy..?

Where is the red in west coasts uniform...? uuum... I can't see any red.

What a load of ****!

Nothin' like a bunch of 17 year old uni students ****ed on a half carton of Cartlon Mid each to really instill some fear into the opposition. They look soooo tough.:rolleyes:

Doc gets my vote as the coolest, most acrobatic and most sexually empowered mascot getting round the AFL!

Anyone who gets around on their on personalized Hover-craft, joins in with the Aus-kick kids and the athletic races... and has shagged a giant Mid-Strength Beer Can out in the middle of Subiaco is all class!

That delicate eagle looking mascot thing better watch his back on Saturday night for fear of serious carnage to his chutney blurter.

Should be entertaining to say the least.

Originally posted by S.J Rollin
Doc gets my vote as the coolest, most acrobatic and most sexually empowered mascot getting round the AFL!

Anyone who gets around on their on personalized Hover-craft, joins in with the Aus-kick kids and the athletic races... and has shagged a giant Mid-Strength Beer Can out in the middle of Subiaco is all class!

That delicate eagle looking mascot thing better watch his back on Saturday night for fear of serious carnage to his chutney blurter.

Should be entertaining to say the least.

Love your work SJ!

and just to concur the legend that is Doc... check out these offerings from the Kanga's board:

in relation to the Kanga's Mascot ...Mr Roo. Probably Doc's nearest competition.

The Freo guy was giving us **** all day ... where were you? Very dissapointed in your effort, hopefully Denis will drop you back to the twos and see if you can get your passion back.

But that Michael Jackson look a like was there all day...

The Doc has an infinite amount more soul than Whacko Jacko...

The dockers mascot may be in for a 'please explain' due to taunting the North cheer squad AND running around the boundary while the match was in play....That thing was plain scary!

Wayne Jackson is nothing more than Doc's batty boy!...if he's lucky that is.

That Freo mascot was clearly John Bon Jovi from the Living On A Prayer days.

take his hand... you'll make it I swear!

But where was he all day? Hard to have an attitude from afar....

and again some stern words for Mr Roo who was hopelessly outclassed.

Top Work Doc!!! you are a fair dinkum legend and looks like you are performing away just as good as you do at home. Reckon you can have a word to the rest of the lads about that?

Keep up those pelvic thrusts and make sure you get one of those snap lock lunch bags with the powder in it from Miss/Mrs Wong and stir up a few of those coke crazed weagles this week.

Originally posted by funky_monk
Three words... The Red Army!

Now if you want to talk about jokes and over-comercialisation of footy..?

Where is the red in west coasts uniform...? uuum... I can't see any red.

What a load of ****!

Nothin' like a bunch of 17 year old uni students ****ed on a half carton of Cartlon Mid each to really instill some fear into the opposition. They look soooo tough.:rolleyes:

spot on there FM to put it nicely, they suck.

the best thing about them is the beer can mascot that gets out on the ground. nothing like seeing the kiddies have their picture taken with a giant beer can.

The Red Army is Red because they are sponsored by Carlton Mid....there have been a couple members call in on 6pr sports today this week, and they sound like reasonably normal humans. Speaking of PR, I was the 7th caller for the Breakfast bonus word tonight....buggah! :mad:

If Doc is the mascot I'm thinking of, I always thought he looked a bit like Waterhouse. And just how important (or wrong) is it for your mascot to be "sexually empowered", anyway?

The Red Army is really just a coterie for light beer drinkers. We like to cater for everyone.

And just how important (or wrong) is it for your mascot to be "sexually empowered", anyway?

Dont be such a prudish wowser carneagles!... Its Very Important!!!

aint no point prancing around in a costume unless you put in a few testosterone fueled, booty-licious hip gyrations into the rountine... His struts, pivots and gestures say one thing. He is a well oiled sex machine!

Speaking of lubricants... his chicken legged, feathered friend better pack the KY in the kit bag for Saturday night as it may turn real nasty.

But I have to agree on your other comment... we often call him Clive.

When he was first introduced i heard that he was state gymnastics champion,as he did a lot of flips and cartwheels and stuff,not sure if its the same guy now or not.
always get a laugh out of him before the game,especialy against port when he had his hovercraft parked in the way of a running race and had to get out of the way in a hurry

DOC's A LEGEND,DOC ROCKS