Freo

• Thread starter Thread starter Leigh Roy

Crown?

Can't Bassett go on Pavlich? Okay maybe not but he's one of my favourites so I reckon he'd do great.

Burns is looking more comfortable up the ground but hopefully he and Welsh can again work in tandem. Burton of course is taking on all comers, will he get a bit hmmm what's the word......acclimatise to the wide expanses and not be able to do what he's been doing since the break? He handled Optus fine.

Bell and Pavlich are dangerous when combined, their link's got to be severed.

What's the crown you speak of?

And don't say that, Bell will probably murder us this week now!

How We will line Up

Hayden Haddrill Parker

Woods Polak Walker

Carr Haselby Hedland

McManus McPharlin Farmer

Medhurst Croad Waterhouse

RUCK: Simmonds Bell Pavlich

INT: Schammer, Sandilands, Grover, Cook

IN: Croad Waterhouse

OUT: Longmuir, Koops

Run out of Patience with Longmuir

Originally posted by |D_J^B_J|
Do you remember the round 22 game of 2001? ;)
One in a 100. I said he hardly ever hurts you with his possesions. He usually gets a lot of kicks inside his defensive 50. I think him and Wayne Campbell tend to do this.

He will have an odd game where he will kill you and even get a couple of goals but more often than not he will get a lot of the footy and not do too much damage.

Remember round 1 this year. He got 30 touches but didn't hurt us at all. Same in round 22 last year.;)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
One in a 100. I said he hardly ever hurts you with his possesions. He usually gets a lot of kicks inside his defensive 50. I think him and Wayne Campbell tend to do this.

He will have an odd game where he will kill you and even get a couple of goals but more often than not he will get a lot of the footy and not do too much damage.

Remember round 1 this year. He got 30 touches but didn't hurt us at all. Same in round 22 last year.;)

Yeah, but that's the thing about Bell. You'll see him collect possessions in the defensive fifty but then you'll see him continue to run up the ground to be involved in the next contest. He is one of the fittest players in the league and his work rate is phenomenal.

Sure, he may not be as damaging as the likes of Hasleby, Pavlich, Headland or even Carr when he has a free midfield role; but he is a vital link man in our midfield and it wouldn't be the same without his tireless work rate, decision making and precision with his kicks that don't usually get so much penetration.

Also, he has been more attacking this year and is averaging over one goal per game.

Having said all that, I'd still tag Hasleby, Pavlich and Headland before him. ;)

One in a 100. I said he hardly ever hurts you with his possesions. He usually gets a lot of kicks inside his defensive 50. I

Maybe last year. This season he has been playing forward of centre as well... he is averaging a goal a game.

Perrie in for Carey would be my only change

Those of you who are saying to drop Torney have very short memories. He is a champ and deserves his spot. South would love him back there though.

If we were to bring in antoher "tall" I reckon Schell would be worth a gamble

Playing his old side would bring the best out of him and it would be his last chance.

Doubt Shirley will go given that Freo have a host of midfield options

I can see Stenglein on Haselby, Shirley on Bell and Hart playing on Pavlich.

Bassettt can play on Medhurst and Smart on the full foward.

Originally posted by Jars458

If we were to bring in antoher "tall" I reckon Schell would be worth a gamble

If you have the courage to pick Daniel schell, then in the words of the great British Poet, Rudyard Kipling

"You're a better man than I am, Gunga Din!" :D :D :D

Originally posted by Jars458
He wouldnt do any worse than Hentschell.

Courge is needed

Thought I doubt there will be more than the one change
I can see where you are coming from but he has missed 7-8 weeks with knee injury and has played 2 games for reserves (not full games at that). He certainly hasn't earned his spot. The likes of Hentschel, Rutten, Bock and even Smith have better form under their belt.

I agree with you there will be only one change and thats Perrie in for Carey. If Carey is fit to play then someone else will drop out for Perrie.

Perrie In. Carey Out.

Did Begley really do enough to hold his spot? He was OK, but is far from a walk up start. Shirley would be stiff and Torney has enough runs on the board for now.

If Carey is fit. Perrie in. Begley out.

Will Carey be fit realistically????Will his stiches hold in place even if plays?????Might be best to rest him this week and bring Perrie in to do the job!!!!!!!If Carey does play I would drop Shirley unless they have him for a tagging role,Begley could be quite useful up forward if need be, has a good long kick on him and can take a mark:D

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Will Carey be fit realistically????Will his stiches hold in place even if plays?????
IMHO NO chance in hell. He will miss at least 1. :(

Begley could be quite useful up forward if need be, has a good long kick on him and can take a mark:D
Pitty his kicking for goal is shocking;)

Originally posted by Leigh
In: Perrie, Gallagher, Reilly

Out: Carey, Shirley, Torney

I dont' reckon Reilly is ready to be called up as yet. He has done some good things in the SANFL since a long lay-off from injury, and had a good one on the weekend, but there are many more players in the SANFL who are commanding spots as we speak, and have been able to pull together a good string of top-notch performances.
Give Reilly a couple more weeks to put together some sort of consistencey before re-calling him.

Am I the only one that is worried as to what Sandilands can do when resting up forward. He is bloody huge and anyone one will struggle to match up on him defensively. He is a bit of a worry IMO!!!!!!:(

Stop your worrying young Stiffmeister!!

Has your memory forgotten that he rested up forward against us in the 1st game of the year??

He had the massive total of 5 kicks for the game and kicked 1 goal.

He's no worry up forward!!