Friday night qualifying final at the MCG???

Mar 12, 2003
Brisbane Lions
Brisbane
Worst case scenario - Collingwood beats Essendon, Brisbane beat the Bulldogs

Collingwood 2nd, Brisbane 3rd - Qualifiying Final at the MCG

But when will it be??? It won't be on the Sunday because that will be the Port Adelaide game, if Adelaide aren't playing them they will be playing on the Saturday cos they can't have a 6 day break. Then, if Collingwood are 2nd then obviously Essendon have lost which means they have probably finished 7th or 8th, giving them an away final against a higher ranked side meaning that the AFL will try to please the higher ranked side (the team that plays them - 5th or 6th). Therefore that game will not be on a Friday night, because it would give this 5th/6th placed team a 6 day break.

THEREFORE IT LEAVES ONLY ONE GAME AND THAT IS COLLINGWOOD V BRISBANE ON A FRIDAY NIGHT AT THE MCG.

Coming off a 6 day break, on the hardest surface in Australia, travelling twice in one week. I would say this is the least ideal preparation for a final in the history of football - except for last year when West Coast played on the Sunday at Manuka, beat the Roos and then had to come back to the Dome and play Essendon the next week on the Saturday. That was harsh. So, the only course of action now is to be 10 goals up at quarter time and adopt a revolving door policy with the bench. Sounds good on paper, but it's relying on the players being fair dinkum :rolleyes: Just another reason to be barracking for the Bombers I expect!

I think it's tme to stop being so negative about your side mate. Apparantly it's still all doom and gloom, well maybe the players should be thinking that to keep them focused, but as a supporter you have to enjoy the good wins (like last saturday)... whatever happens this weekend will happen. But look at the last few rounds, anything could happen. Maybe even another draw?!?

actually worst case scenario is that we also lose to the Bulldogs and then finish 7th. hence no double chance and no home final - unlikely, but it is worst case.

personally i think we'll beat the bullies, and i'm legitimately tipping the bombers - they've got an extra 1/2 day recovery on the Pies, had an easy win on a dry track vs the Pies who had a tougher game on a wet track with long grass apparently, and Brodie Holland will get a holiday (not that he's a match winner). Logic tells me Essendon, as other than those reasons above I reckon they are quite evenly matched.

Originally posted by joshhem
I think it's tme to stop being so negative about your side mate. Apparantly it's still all doom and gloom, well maybe the players should be thinking that to keep them focused, but as a supporter you have to enjoy the good wins (like last saturday)... whatever happens this weekend will happen. But look at the last few rounds, anything could happen. Maybe even another draw?!?
You are quite correct joshhem and I was half expecting someone to tell me to stop being so negative. BUT after the Sydney game I am not allowing myself to get carried away again, so I spose you'll just have to put up with me for the next few weeks. For the record I reckon at their best Brisbane will beat anyone, anywhere, on a 6, 7 or 8 day break. My only concern is that at the moment (and ever since the early rounds of the season) they aren't all there mentally. We saw Geelong come out and kick 6 goals in 10 minutes after only managing 3 for the entire first half. Case in point. Of course I am happy with the four points but I am just trying to look at the bigger picture. I mean if Geelong can kick 6 goals in 10 minutes what will a quality side do in a final!?

Anyway for what it's worth I am tipping the Lions to bring their brains with them to Melbourne and beat the Doggies by about 12 goals. Well, doubling their score anyway. But like you said, anything can happen, and that is my main point. In any case, my initial post was merely to raise an issue, and on reflection I've decided that also Adelaide's preparation for their final against Brisbane last season was probably comparable with West Coast's first final which I mentioned. The Crows had played Freo in Perth on the Sunday, before playing the Lions in Brisbane on the Saturday night.

Originally posted by adey115
actually worst case scenario is that we also lose to the Bulldogs and then finish 7th. hence no double chance and no home final - unlikely, but it is worst case.
Correct, but I was only looking at circumstances where Brisbane are actually a serious chance to win the premiership. I don't think there's any point considering anything outside those situations.

I wouldn't go overboard with the worst preparation in history comments rchowell.....as you pointed out we did something similar last year, in 98 we also played WC last round, then Melbourne at the G (admittedly 7 day break), we played 5 consecutive away games in 98 and 4 last year in the finals.

Personally, I think you love the G and would relish such an assignment. After you win you'll get the week off and can load up again for another match at the G, then onto the GF and the historic 3 peat!

Given the preparation of our coaching and fitness teams over the past two seasons, I prefer to think that our team will be 'cherry ripe' by the time the finals hit. I think they deserve a bit of slack, after their achievements.

I, and they, may be proven wrong in this, however the time to slag them will be after they've failed in their task, not when they're in the middle of it. I find the negativity on our performance to be counter-productive. Maybe the players and staff read this site? I would in their position.

My take on all of this is that unless we have something 'left in the tank' for the finals, we'll find ourselves in a Port Adelaide-type position. Not pretending I know-it-all, but the people who are making out they do, have the runs on the board. I don't think we're helping by being so pessimistic.

I'm encouraged by the number of key players who are coming back from injury at exactly the right stage of the year. This is also attributable to our management staff. We still don't play unfit players. This may have a lot to do with why we have lost games we should have won during the season, given the strictures in our list.

If we fail in our quest, the time for post-mortems will be then.

I would be confident of a victory going into a game against Collingwood at the G. We have a great record in those matches. Likewise I would be confident going in against Port at AAMI should it come to that. We have a reasonably good record against Port at AAMI. What I would love to see is a Port/Crows final first week or prelim.

The game I am most worried about is a match against Sydney at the SCG, or against Essendon at the MCG.

Or it could be...

Friday Night @ 8.15 EST
Port Adelaide v Adelaide @ AAMI

Saturday @ 2.15 EST
Collingwood Brisbane Lions @ MCG

Saturday Night @ 8.45 EST
Fremantle v West Coast @ Subiaco

Sunday @ 2.15 EST
Sydney v Essendon @ Telstra Stadium

Port Adelaide will be playing on the Sunday. That has been guaranteed. All rumours at this stage suggest that should Brisbane win tonight that a Friday night Grand Final rematch is a real possibility :rolleyes: Personally I think it would be a lot fairer to have two teams playing today (i.e. two of Sydney, Brisbane, West Coast and Freo) playing on the Friday night. Both teams would have a 6 day break but at least they would both be in the same position.

Originally posted by rchowell

Anyway for what it's worth I am tipping the Lions to bring their brains with them to Melbourne and beat the Doggies by about 12 goals. Well, doubling their score anyway.

Was just reading through this thread and came across these couple of sentences and thought they were worth quoting. Good call!!!!!!! :eek: :D

Originally posted by lioness22
Was just reading through this thread and came across these couple of sentences and thought they were worth quoting. Good call!!!!!!! :eek: :D
Hahaha cheers lioness22 I forgot I said that as well! :p Yeah I was hoping it would be on a SaturDAY - when footy in Melbourne ought to be I reckon. Still at least we didn't end up with the dreaded Friday nighter.

*!PHEW!* :)

Had a bad feeling a week ago that the Pies were a much better chance under the MCG lights than the Lions (except at the Gabba) and when I saw that the Lions hadn't won in that situation since .... well since they were the Bears according to channel 10, I just knew the AFL would schedule the game for the time that best suited the Pies and their crowds.

The AFL do not want a 3-peat from the Lions. They wanted you to win the first time and the second time was okay too but with the bleatings about salary cap concessions every time you win a game and other interstate clubs queuing up for their turn, not to mention the Victorian clubs weakening, Brisbane are the last team that the AFL want to see win it this year.

Best of luck overcoming scheduling and if you make the GF, overcoming a Pies side that never had to leave home in the finals series. Even the runaway minor premier will have to leave home eventually if it wants to win the flag.

Cheers Navy's I reckon luck is something they will need and they are going to need it by the truckful! The heartening thing from my point of view was they got within 15 points of the team that's probably going to win the premiership, and they were at about 50% fitness on the night by the look of it. The worrying thing is they only have 6 days to get over their scarring (phyiscally and mentally), and that's going to be tough. Very tough.

Originally posted by rchowell
worrying thing is they only have 6 days to get over their scarring (phyiscally and mentally), and that's going to be tough. Very tough.

Too right. One week at a time and all that, but Adelaide have got the final last year to make amends for as well.

If we do get over them, will the badly battered and bruised bodies have enough to outplay the Swans and then front up at the 'G?

Team renewal to come early this week - it may be our only chance

If Voss plays and plays well this weekend, I'll be most surprised. Hadley or Gram or Wright or Corrie or Shelton or Brennan would be a better bet IMO. Forget about the lack of experience - we need leg speed. Brown or Power to Captain the team.

Surely we need more run through the middle, pure and simple?

The back half have done OK, the forwards good when there's been delivery. Who'd've thought that it would come down to the middle playing well?

The only scenario that I can see us winning the flag would involve 2 very brutal encounters on the other side of the draw and another tired, weakened Port or Essendon limping to the GF.

Originally posted by NathanD
Surely we need more run through the middle, pure and simple?
Pretty right there.

The back half have done OK, the forwards good when there's been delivery.
To a degree - the forwards don't look so good when there is no run from the midfield because there are no crumbers. You back Lynch and Brown to make a contest when the ball's in the air and while they are pretty good at that they're not so good when the ball's on the ground.

Who'd've thought that it would come down to the middle playing well?
Well the personnel's there it's just that they are in no shape to be playing at the moment.

The only scenario that I can see us winning the flag would involve 2 very brutal encounters on the other side of the draw and another tired, weakened Port or Essendon limping to the GF.
You know that bloke who they say turned stones into loaves of bread? I reckon they could use a little help from him right now ;) More to the point, the bloke who healed the sick with a touch of the hand!

Friday night qualifying final at the MCG???