Mr Ripper

Pink-cheeked and robust
Dec 21, 1999
Far North Fitzroy
Brisbane Lions
Fitzroy FC
Thought they were more determined, more disciplined and harder at the footy. Beat us at our own game, really.

We didn't handle the conditions too well. Continually played from behind when kicking into the wind. Thought the play-the-defensive-side-of-the-ground-at-all-costs strategy was too negative. Thought we played like a side looking forward to the week off.

All credit to Geelong for harrassing us out of the game. Might be seeing them again in September I feel.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Thought they were more determined, more disciplined and harder at the footy. Beat us at our own game, really.

We didn't handle the conditions too well. Continually played from behind when kicking into the wind. Thought the play-the-defensive-side-of-the-ground-at-all-costs strategy was too negative. Thought we played like a side looking forward to the week off.

All credit to Geelong for harrassing us out of the game. Might be seeing them again in September I feel.

Most definately agree there Ripper.

It's a definate case of us being beaten as opposed to us 'losing' it.

I thought Graham had a great game today, as did young Ablett (did you hear the crowd whenever that kid got near the ball - bloody unbelievable!!!).

If looking for a martian like reason for our loss - I'm sure we can't go past Leppa's haircut. Now that boy wears a beanie at some odd occassions - but it seemed really out of place/looked wrong when i saw him the other day. Maybe it looked different cause it was sitting strange on that really bad haicut?????

Well to see my team go down the same way last week like you guys did today,in a wet low scoring game with high winds,it makes me think that Geelong are a team that drag the opposition down to a bog,like the roos last week,you guys had many chances in the last but in the end Geelong just shut the game down to a scrappy ,negative type last quarter not alowing a free flowing game to happen,they way way Geelong play really irritates me.
But it wont make a scrap of difference,The Lions will win you another flag again this year, 3 things you wont have to encounter on GF day 1. playing in pethatic Geelong weather,their ground or that team!
Dont stress,you guys are still the best!

too good cats its true beat us at our own game ,we looked disinterested for most of the game.poor effort that just might bite us on the bum in weeks to come !!!

just shows its not hard to be chockies one week and boiled lollies the next !!!

well done pussies

I thought it was a poor effort, we never got into the game. Brown tried hard all day but you couldnt honestly say anyone else was near there best.

We arent a great wet weather football side, though had today been a grand final i think they wouldve put in 50% more.

Dissapointing considering St.kilda let us back in for the Minor premiership chase, however weve never finished on top and always gone on to win the important one so maybe that is an omen in itself.

Generally agree with everyhing said so far.

They were just too good on the day.

What really hurt us was Leppitsch going off after half time. Their forwards were all over our backmen like rashes after that and we just coudn't seem to get anything going from halfback.

Leppa gets plenty of criticism from self-appointed TV experts about "playing off his man" and "not paying so-and-so enough respect"

Fact is, when he's not there, we never seem to have the same drive coming out of the back half.

Shaun Hart would have been useful in the conditions today as well.

I always hate to lose but at least we got done fair and square and I doubt we will come accross such unfavorable conditions as those for the rest of the season.

Yeah, hands and skills weren't quite 'on' today in the cold. Works both ways. Vic sides struggle in the Brisbane heat early in the season. Thought the Scott boys might have been suited today.

The cats were very good though. Woczinsky is quick. Wouldn't mind seeing him with a Lion on his guts.

A few weeks to freshen up won't hurt. Maybe even give Leppa the week off against Richmond if Lynchy, Fly, Harty and Caracella are back.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper

Now it's my turn to agree with you Rip (scary,eh?)

Your obsevation about us overplaying the defensive side of the ground is spot on.

I lost count of the number of kick-ins Johnno did to the "defensive" side. ......and none of them worked. Geelong stacked that side with talls and either got it straight back or forced a ball up arounf the 50m area.

Bottom line is that it just didn't work for us because it was oh-so predictable ,and I was disappointed we didn't at least try a bit of variation just to try to catch the Cats out.

Well to see my team go down the same way last week like you guys did today,in a wet low scoring game with high winds,it makes me think that Geelong are a team that drag the opposition down to a bog,like the roos last week,you guys had many chances in the last but in the end Geelong just shut the game down to a scrappy ,negative type last quarter not alowing a free flowing game to happen,they way way Geelong play really irritates me.
But it wont make a scrap of difference,The Lions will win you another flag again this year, 3 things you wont have to encounter on GF day 1. playing in pethatic Geelong weather,their ground or that team!

Twit.

im not bagging Lions at all or being sarcastic vaughan pitt,i just wouldnt take to much out of the loss,its Geelong way of winning that bugged me thats all,hope i didnt offend anyone.

The guys were put under huge pressure and ended up running into each other, getting tangled up and basically stuck. Failed to take any advantage from the ruck and we missed Hart's enthusiasm. I'd have to say that the Cats are making their home ground a fortress again - played with lots of passion and confidence. Most impressed by Chapman's last quarter - he's a class act.

Thankyou all.

Lions supporters are the most humble and genuine on Bigfooty (which given your success, is remarkable).

Very classy.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Thankyou all.

Lions supporters are the most humble and genuine on Bigfooty (which given your success, is remarkable).

Very classy.

Spot on Phat.They don't brag.They don't whinge when they lose.They're complimentary to opposition teams and supporters.

St Kilda supporters take notice.

Bad luck to the Lions today,but I think they'll still be standing on the podium on the last saturday in September.

It was a great game for the Cats. They played well and obviously to their plan - made the Lions just look tired.

I agree about the Johnson kick-ins. But where I really think we lost it was the centre clearances. Considering how well we did there against Melbourne with the leading ruckman of the competition, it was very strange.

Well done to the Cats. We may play them in the finals again.
Now, we move on. As shown on Saturday we can't afford to be complacent. Richmond is coming to our dung heap we must prepare.
Aaarrrrhhhgg!!!! Loosing leaves such a sour taste in my mouth.

Originally posted by roo9699

You are obviously not much of a footy fan if you can't appreciate a good tough, tight game.

You also strike me as a bit of a sore loser. Get over yourself mate.

Good on the Cats. Well overdue but to the supporters at Kardinia take not - win with a little bit of dignity.

The Geelong supporters yesterday were the worst I've seen in 20 years. They bagged the ump all day, gave it to whoever was around (I thought Essendon and Collingwood were bad), particularly Vossy (God knows why?) and Acker (obvious). I know it's been a long 10 years since the last win against us but fair dinkum, surely the Gabba crowd doesn't tell Geelong supporters to "f**k off" when they lose?

I know I sound like I'm having a big whinge but I was pretty happy to see Geelong finally get a win against us. Honestly they are the only team I don't mind losing to but yesterday we copped heaps from the hillbillies and it wasn't a pleasant day at all.

I'm looking forward to the next time the Cats come up north which they haven't done in a while and if it's during September, all the better.

Good on you cats, supporters, learn how to win with graciousness from supporters who have actually seen a flag....or three.

I was amazed by the chorus of boos that Umps got at half time and at full time.

I thought they were reasonable in the conditions (and I don't often concede that, especially when we lose;) )

For @#^$!! sake Cat's supporters, you had a great win and did you really get such a bad deal from the officials.?

If I wanted to get picky, I could go on about the softest free of all time that Graham got against Leppa......but ah...let's forget the Umps for once and acknowledge a good game won by the better side on the day.

Full marks to the Cats