Funny Movies

Respect.:thumbsu:

That movie is a masterpiece.

Penicillin for the soul.:thumbsu:

Yep. That's exactly what it is.

Just a brilliant, brilliant film. Superb performances, near-flawless script, excellent story and character development, funny, literate......and the masterful hand of one of the best directors of all time guiding the whole thing.

It's only recently I've come to appreciate just how good Ashby was. He even makes a quick cameo in the film just for icing.

Don't worry, Teflon. You'll be disassociating yourself from me again in a second when I confess my love for the film, "I Love You To Death".

I swear, I fcuking love that film. Definitely one of my favourite comedies. And, yes, I am fully aware that this puts me in a group numbering one in total.

But I will maintain to the grave, if you manage to block out Kevin Kline's ridiculously hammy performance, the rest is gold.

For instance, take Joan Plowright's ridiculously hammy performance.....now, that works.

William Hurt and Keanu Reeves as bumbling, drug-fcuked hitmen. Tracey Ullman doing her level best to nullify Kline's unintentional sabotage. River Phoenix playing a charcater named Devo Nod. All this is the stuff of champagne comedy, I tells ya.

Does "Do The Right Thing" qualify on the grounds that it could be seen as.....

.......a black comedy ?

(Aaah, honestly folks, try the veal. It's superb.)

Does "Do The Right Thing" qualify on the grounds that it could be seen as.....

.......a black comedy ?

(Aaah, honestly folks, try the veal. It's superb.)

One look at the director and I would have to conclude an emphatic, NO.

Great movie, all the same.:thumbsu:

Another bitter sweet masterpiece that has been labelled a comedy:

[youtube]syPZZxxFCe0[/youtube]

It's not a long stretch to see ourselves as these people if were we locked up and not allowed to watch the game.:D
Jack & Chief is definitely the man(s).

Marx Bros movies.. :thumbsu:

marx-bros.jpg

Police Academy series, Animal House.. old school comedy really

The Castle has it's moments as does Shoot 'em Up is just as hilarious as a gun rampaging drama as what Evil 2 is a horror.

The Marx Brothers- Funniest of all time .

I must be a bit older than most

Animal house, Dom Belushi, genius "please sir may I have another?"classic

Ford Fairlane, seriously funny stuff, I think one other poster mentioned it.

Porky's , hey I was a teenager raunchy laughs.....

In living colour, TV show in the states that was way better than saturday night live, Damon Wayans had a character called Homey the clown, " Homey don't play those games", was his key line and he had a sock with a baseball in side that he hit peiople with very funny.
check it out on you tube

also the Original Pink Panther with Peter Sellers Gold:thumbsu:

I love Ford Fairlane BUT, unfortunately for me, I had already heard every one liner good old Andrew Dice Clay had, on a live tape (audio at first, and later on video, but the audio was better) and THAT was tears in the eyes funny.

The very first time I heard it all was actually from Brian Goorgian, the then basketvall coach of the Eastside Spectres. He is a funny bastard and can recite evry single line, verbatim. That got me hooked and he leant me the tape.

It was also uncensored, which suited his persona perfectly. The movie contained scene after scene where it appeared as though they'd line up one of his jokes (watered down) and somehow fit a scene around it.

The classic lines are his nursery rhymes! The good old "Hickory dickory dock....." And "old mother Hubbard...." Etc. Brilliant!

Ok, waaaaaaay back in the early 80's........there was a spoof movie, which took on many other films of the time, called "The Kentucky Fried Movie". "B grade" is way over rating it. It had quite a few bloody funny scenes and lines though. Anyone else remember the bloody thing?

One character was "Big Jim Slade....former tight end for the Kansas City Chiefs".

Trashy but funny for back then.....especially to a bunch of giggly teens, as we were at the time.

T'toes

Ok, waaaaaaay back in the early 80's........there was a spoof movie, which took on many other films of the time, called "The Kentucky Fried Movie". "B grade" is way over rating it. It had quite a few bloody funny scenes and lines though. Anyone else remember the bloody thing?
T'toes

Wasn't that the one where a random arrow would miraculously appear out of nowhere and take people out "mid sentence." If so, my vague memory hasn't completely gone.

Cue Caro and Hutchy on Footy Classified.

C Movie heaven.

Wasn't that the one where a random arrow would miraculously appear out of nowhere and take people out "mid sentence." If so, my vague memory hasn't completely gone.

Cue Caro and Hutchy on Footy Classified.

C Movie heaven.

Haha, yes, that's it. Bloody hell, I'm not the only nutter to remember it.

It's weird but you seem to recall one liners or the odd scene. The line by the karate bloke "this is not a charade" and "the capital of Nebraska isssssss Lincoln".

Well done (your prize for guessing correctly is a night with your own avatar!) and yep, that arrow idea makes sense in the context you raised. We'd have a few willing Archers (hail the great man) amongst us too!

T'toes

Haha, yes, that's it. Bloody hell, I'm not the only nutter to remember it.

It's weird but you seem to recall one liners or the odd scene. The line by the karate bloke "this is not a charade" and "the capital of Nebraska isssssss Lincoln".

T'toes

Don't you mean sha wade.:D:thumbsu:

God it's all coming back now mate, haven't thought of that movie since I was normal.

Cheers.

Favourite bit....

....the tragic plight of Don "No Soul" Simmons.

"Tie a Yellow Ribbon Round The Old Oak Treeeeeee"

Favourite bit....

....the tragic plight of Don "No Soul" Simmons.

"Tie a Yellow Ribbon Round The Old Oak Treeeeeee"

Classic sketch, but I think is was from the follow up film to "Kentucky Fried Movie", "Amazon Women on the Moon".

Yep, must agree with Marx Bros, Flying High, The Party, and a bunch of the others.

For pre 1970 films, I reckon Some Like it Hot is comedy gold. Marilyn Monroe is superb. The final scene is a classic.

Classic sketch, but I think is was from the follow up film to "Kentucky Fried Movie", "Amazon Women on the Moon".

Right you are. I'd kinda merged the two in my mind.

Kentucky Fried Movie is Rex Kramer - Danger Seeker, Fistful Of Yen, etc....yeah ?

Either way, both had their moments after smoking a gram or two of weed.

Kentucky Fried Movie is Rex Kramer - Danger Seeker, Fistful Of Yen, etc....yeah ?

Spot on TOD. "Fistful of Yen" was the one where the Asian guy said "what was that? This...is not....a chawade (how it was pronounced).

T'toes

The original and the best of the "National Lampoons Vacation" series has been running on FOXTEL this weekend. I bloody hope it's on again tomorrow.....I need a laugh.......desperately!

T'toes

Yep. I needed a laugh after last nights effort from both North and West Ham so I watched a couple of clips from these two gems.

[YOUTUBE]O2yVZCVLK3E[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]q7S5BP-tvR8[/YOUTUBE]

With the exception of "Stop! Or My Mom Will Shoot!", which was a dark, poignant tale about the complicated relationship between a proud man and his aging mother.

LMFAO:D:D:D:D:D:D

I don't mind some Woody Allen films, especially Zelig (great mockumentary) and "Everyhting you wanted to know about sex but were to afarid to ask"

Loved the bit where the was a Boob running around killing people by squirting milk and a cop on the CB telling all the cops "Be careful they travel in pairs"....gold.