• Darren Crocker

• Leigh Tudor

• Brett Ratten

• Sam Mitchell

• Alistair Clarkeson

• Someone from left-field

Results are only viewable after voting.

OK, let’s be clear here. The only way this narrative is going to work out is as follows:-

(1) We finish bottom 3 this year.

(2) New coach

(3) We trade out Goldstein, Tarrant, Ziebell and Higgins.

(4) We Play the young guys next year and finish bottom two.

(5) Hopefully, creep up to 14th in 2021

(6) Have a shot at the eight in 2022, all going well.

(7) After that, who knows? Depends how other teams perform as well, I suppose.

Can we all live with that scenario?

Flag, maybe 2024 - in our dreams!

OK, let’s be clear here. The only way this narrative is going to work out is as follows:-

(1) We finish bottom 3 this year.

(2) New coach

(3) We trade out Goldstein, Tarrant, Ziebell and Higgins.

(4) We Play the young guys next year and finish bottom two.

(5) Hopefully, creep up to 14th in 2021

(6) Have a shot at the eight in 2022, all going well.

(7) After that, who knows? Depends how other teams perform as well, I suppose.

Can we all live with that scenario?

Flag, maybe 2024 - in our dreams!

This is the conundrum BS and the board have established for the club.

A couple of years ago we were fed this PR crap about a ‘mini rebuild’ which infact was a smokescreen for BS to get a contract extension without the pressure of losing because hey it’s a ‘rebuild’ on the run right?

We’ve been stuck in the pool of mediocrity for ages, we’re not in the deep end and we’re not in the shallow end either.

For the last 2 decades we’ve won the same amount of silverware as Carlton the only difference is they’re stockpiling top 3 draft picks while we keep getting the 10-15 range due to our mid table finishes. Yeah they’re the butt of our jokes now but they’re going to be bloody good in the next few years.

I’m not saying we need to bottom out for a decade like the BLWS but something has to change and a new voice/direction/ideas at the top is a start.

kangatime are you wanting brand new or recycled? Barker, Kingsley, Nicks Burns v Ratten, Voss, Knights.

Or even recently retired - Mitchell, SJ, Scarlett, Hayes.
Wouldn't go a recent retired. The others, depends on their philosophy. But I am a firm believer in experience as a head coach of your own team.

In Scotts Fox interview he talked about how the assistant coaches can be fiends with players but not the head coach. Apparently he learnt that from Malthouse. I don't think he's ever really been able to do this with a lot of players.

I honestly can't believe that a 10 year coach who has topped up his side actually has the audacity to pull the "it's too hard" card.

That is a staggering claim.

Not at all. In 2017 I actually think we played some pretty good footy and just couldn’t get the job done.

At the moment our footy resembles an abortion.

There were some bad games in 2017, but there were also some exciting performances. I just can’t see it this year. From the inexplicable dropping of Ahern for Round 1 and then the two performances, this year seems to heading towards disaster.
In 1972 we barely won a game. Two years later, we were in a Grand Final. The following year we won it. It takes time to build a team. They are going some way to doing that. Injuries are another issue. We're badly missing Jacobs and Daw. Brad Scott can't do anything about that.

It takes as long as you give it. Our list isn't that bad, nothing an experienced coach couldn't sharpen up.

It's unfair to judge Crocker and Tudor because they're trapped behind Scott. Both might well be very good senior coaches.

I'm warming to Ratten. Smart player, premiership experience as a player and coach.

Most importantly the last 4 premiership coaches have either served under Clarkson - or been Alistair Clarkson. Ratten would come with the best predictor of success in the current game.

The question is how bad does it actually need to be for the board to move.

Does anyone actually think they will move on him in round 2 with basically 2 seasons to run in his contract?

I can't see it.

In 1972 we barely won a game. Two years later, we were in a Grand Final. The following year we won it.

This logic goes both ways - Carlton, St. Kilda, Dogs, Richmond have been/were bottom and remained there for decades.

The last two showed a pretty remarkable turnaround and even then it's shown to be not exactly a sustainable blueprint.

There's a lot of supporters who bleed blue & white that are only going to the games due to their sense of obligation.

The social club was a ghost town yesterday.

We're in a bad way.

I think couple of wins with some excitement will turn it around. But as soon as we lose again it will be back to Brad. He may or may not have lost the players. But he has definitely lost the members and supporters.

Does anyone actually think they will move on him in round 2 with basically 2 seasons to run in his contract?

I can't see it.

This raises a bigger issue that is starting to be discussed. If "the club" is happy enough with the coaches performance each year maybe it's them who are the real problem?

While it's good that we've generally had a cohesive quiet political structure at North Melbourne excepting free thinkers like Arocca and Joseph who were duly weeded out - it's also an indictment.

Almost every other Vic club be it Collingwood, Carlton, St Kilda, Hawthorn, Richmond etc tend to see occasional power plays made by rival tickets. While it can sometimes be a little farcical to watch from the outside, at least they have groups of people passionate enough to launch attacks on the status quo.

Where is our agitation? Where is our group who want to seize control of the club and smash our way to a flag by hook or crook like Aylett and Joseph did in the 70s?

There were a series of videos that came out of the club recently on the rookies, families and women of North Melbourne. There was a lot of self congratulatory content in them.

Only one person- Carly Fox (club staffer from long term north family) - said "you do it all for a premiership." No ducking player thought to say that.

I'm starting to think we need someone like Corey McKernan to realise that the timing will never be perfect but that as passionate, competitive and outspoken person who's carved out a business presence in his own right - it might be up to someone like HIM to build the numbers and wrest control of the club to rebuild a genuine fighting spirit from the top down.

A new coach and all the other on-field elements would flow from there.

I reckon Luke Hodge will be an awesome senior coach.
Yeah, agreed. Won't be surprised if we see multiple Grand Finals featuring Mitchell vs Hodge. Two of the smartest footballers probably ever, and other than Clarkson, clearly the biggest factors in that dominant Hawthorn team. He's said to have had a massive influence on the Lions over the last two years as well, effectively as a playing coach.

Personally, if Scott was to go today and I was forced to pick a preference now, I'd be on the Sam Mitchell train, while realising that it could turn into an absolute disaster going with someone so relatively young and inexperienced.

Yeah, agreed. Won't be surprised if we see multiple Grand Finals featuring Mitchell vs Hodge. Two of the smartest footballers probably ever, and other than Clarkson, clearly the biggest factors in that dominant Hawthorn team. He's said to have had a massive influence on the Lions over the last two years as well, effectively as a playing coach.

Personally, if Scott was to go today and I was forced to pick a preference now, I'd be on the Sam Mitchell train, while realising that it could turn into an absolute disaster going with someone so relatively young and inexperienced.
Mitchell's ego worries me a bit as a coach but you have to love how much him and Hodge are determined to win.

I can't see it.

yeah, its not going to happen soon...but I still pray

I think couple of wins with some excitement will turn it around. But as soon as we lose again it will be back to Brad. He may or may not have lost the players. But he has definitely lost the members and supporters.

To be top 4 you generally need 16 wins (or 15 with a good percentage) With games in Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane, GC and Geelong it's going to be very difficult. We cant lose another Melbourne/Taz game.

Anything but top 4 is another failed year by Brad.

Mitchell's ego worries me a bit as a coach but you have to love how much him and Hodge are determined to win.
Yeah, I could definitely see the concerns there because he does have that sort of reputation, but I agree so much with your second point. They are just ****ing winners. I can't imagine there would be any of this "my number one role is to make sure they're great men" stuff from either Hodge or Mitchell.

Yeah, I could definitely see the concerns there because he does have that sort of reputation, but I agree so much with your second point. They are just ******* winners. I can't imagine there would be any of this "my number one role is to make sure they're great men" stuff from either Hodge or Mitchell.
They might even be keen to play in form players, drop battlers and see kids play to the potential of their talent.

List Mgmt. Future coaching options?