Gabba crowd should hang their heads in shame...

• Thread starter Thread starter Danni

Danni

For those of you that can't get 4AAA radio - or weren't listening post game....I will reiterate my points here...

1) We won....BUT if we play like that next week against Collingwood.....we are in for a 120 point hiding.......glad to say the commentators@ 4AAA agreed with me.

2) The Brisbane crowd were nothing short of PATHETIC........at least 4 bays fulll of people to the left of me could not cheer during the game but indulge in the mexican wave for the final qtr??

And more than friggin glad to say the commentators agreed wholeheartedly with me on that one.....

I can't even think of another uncensored word bar PATHETIC to describe it.....it is disrespectful to the players (regardless of the fact we won, they are out there running 20k per game and we are there to support them, not to behave like a bunch of imbicilic mentally challenged morons from 20k past the black stump and beyond)it is nothing short of disgraceful that these thousands of ppl can't cheer thru the game, boo the opposition, raz the umpires, even yell at our own blokes when they make a mistake that makes under 10's look professional. Yet have the gall to do the mexican wave cause we are going to win and they are bored??? Anyone got a long armed baseball bat I can take to the next game and utilise??

Pick up your game your morons............you are an embaressment to the sport. And more than that, you are an embaressment to OUR CLUB and to yourselves.

Didn't really pick up the wave from the telly coverage, although I did notice the whooooooooooa! noise that accompanies it.

That does explain, too, why Harty made the 'unfortunately, the game was a bit boring for the spectators' comment in the post game interview with Vic Carthew.

It was a pretty dull affair, to tell the truth.

Ripper......

I can understand why he made that comment - the crowd made it very well known......

What if the crowd were just cheering wildy - singing the song - celebrating the fact we were going to win......

....you can't tell me the players wouldnt' be just as much aware of that as they are the bloody wave......

......crowd participation during the game, has every chance of lifting the players and making the game less boring........they can't help it.....they are human like the rest of us....mass appreciation is going to lift a performance on the field - not detract from it...

X Box X - sorry can't tell you - think it may have been something pathetic like 23 000......however at the time they announced it.....I was busily involved in a 'tit for tat' arguement with a barbie doll sitting in the next bay.....

when a guy 2 rows down yelled something out she said 'for crying out loud it is only a game' (in a very whiny voice) - which of course caught my ear (as all whiny voices do seein as children tend to talk in that tone, and as a parent you get sensative to it)....

my response was along the line of "it is only a game? get it right woman it is a god damn religion!"

to which the smart arse bitch said "oh should i 'bless' myslef??" (and did the actions)

stupid cow....I of course told her "yes.........and make sure you bless yourself and genuflect EVERY time you are in M Voss's presence or you are not worthy to call yourself an AFL supporter"

Stupid friggin cow........

Wake up

If the fans pay their money then they can do whatever they want provided they dont break the rules.

The wave is more of a celebration, you wouldn't see it if the Lions where down by 10 goals wouldn't you.

Wake up, the crowd is the thing that lifts the team most weeks at the Gabba, you should get off their back.

If you are wondering why only 22K turned up to the game, well, we were playing St Kilda for 1 and for 2 the Union was on at the same time as the AFL.

Stop dwelling the on the bad things and enjoy the big win that the Lions had tonight.

Originally posted by Danni
Anyone got a long armed baseball bat I can take to the next game and utilise??

I gotta a crowbar Im taking down too North Melbourne next week, u can borrow it after then.

Mags

generally speaking i think theyre a bit backwards in brisbane
and i can imagine the game would have been more than a little drab..st kilda were ****ful..and the lions although better werent much better..okay 10 goals better..thats not very complimentary to the saints

and me hopes the lions have a long hard think about their losing in melb...the match gainst those collingwood girls is a crunch game..they MUST win in melb and turn the melb hoodoo tide well and truely over...!

Re: Wake up

Originally posted by CarterS
If the fans pay their money then they can do whatever they want provided they dont break the rules.

The wave is more of a celebration, you wouldn't see it if the Lions where down by 10 goals wouldn't you.

Wake up, the crowd is the thing that lifts the team most weeks at the Gabba, you should get off their back.

If you are wondering why only 22K turned up to the game, well, we were playing St Kilda for 1 and for 2 the Union was on at the same time as the AFL.

Stop dwelling the on the bad things and enjoy the big win that the Lions had tonight.

Carter were you watching the same game????

The Lions play like that next week they are handing Collingwood 4 premiership points and about 12 % points......

The wave a celebration?? then why are they celebrating at the expense of the players???

You see rippers comments about Shaun Hart and what he said?? you know ANYTHING about Shaun Hart????????

We are talking about a man that last weekend at nearly 1am after playing in a winning team......saw me on the other side of the social club and took the time to come over and ask how my son was.......he is not some sort of media tart......he is one of the most geniune ppl I have ever met.

In the last 10 years he has in any media interview been the voice of reason, the voice of positivity.......for someone like him to find it distracting enough to proclaim the 'crowd found it boring' is an embaressment.......

The fans pay their money and can do whatever they want as long as they don't break the rules???

Well I am happy to say the wave was banned last year at the Gabba - and I hope to high heaven that after tonight they ban it again.

YOu don't like that?? well too bad! Regardless of how boring the perfomance was - there wouldnt have been a 'performance' without them....there wouldn't have been 4 premiership points without them......and there certainly wouldn't be a 'gabba' for ppl to sit in and do the 'wave' in without the brisbane lions football team.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Gabba crowd should hang their heads in shame...

Originally posted by Grendel

No no, thats fine Mags, leave your fingerprints on it, and can i borrow it for the Woods game!?! :p :eek:

you'll need more than crowbars to stop us this time mate!!

Danni, you are on fire!!!! after leading your under 8's side to victory, you have come alive!!! brilliant!! keep it up!! lol

Well i was cheering Danni.

I have a very sore throat to prove it.

All us guys in the cheers squad had a great night cheering and singing.

I agree though the rest of the crowd were a bit quiet.

And as for Shaun Hart, well the guy is just a champion.
All us guys in the cheer squa love him cause he always claps us after the games when he's walking off the field.

So all u guys that bag him should shut up until ya know him.

cheers...

I'm certainly not defending the Gabba crowd, who from my one visit there generally know little about footy and are there to see a Brisbane win against someone from Down South (or, in my case, West), but I think I can explain it.

The game was, by all accounts, not good. The outcome appeared, from the regular updates we got during the Crows v. Eagles game, to be never in doubt. Did anyone in Australia tip St Kilda to be competitive, let alone win?

So the crowd were bored and behaved like prats. I'm not supporting that. But I'd be quite pleased if you got 22k in a direct timeslot against the Wallabies v Lions in Queensland.

This only goes to emphasise that the value of live sport is spectator passion and that people go and get involved because they want to see a contest.

Memo AFL: it's boring when the same teams win all the time.

Well the Lions win by 60 odd points and all you can say is the crowd did this, the crowd did that blah blah blah.

Why do you think the wave didnt really take off last night? Because people were watching the game.

What do you want me to do, go up to each of the players individually and tell them thanks for entertaining so many people, because I think my membership money does that.

You can say if they play like that next week they'll be dead but that wasn't next week. Next week is a new week.

You said, do you know anything about S Hart? What, do you just assume that all of the Brisbane supporters know nothing about football? Of course i know about him, he goes out to schools and stuff all the time (well he did when I was in grade 7).

If Bris were down by 100 points vs Essendon and people started to leave, would you say that is disrespecting the players? What about if the fans boo off the players after a big loss?

Stop dwelling on the bad factors of everything it's starting to make me sick.

And FitzroyJamesDio, you're another who seems to think we are all idiots up here. Those types of comments are stupid.

Wow, you leave Brissie for three days and all hell breaks loose.

Spew I wasn't sitting with ya for Saturday's game Danni, would have been quite interesting to say the least!

Brisbane crowds don't have the football culture, which makes a difference to the size and charatcer of the crowds. That culture is going to take a while to instill. I hate the Mexican wave too, but I despise silence even more.

I'm not really sure what to say on this one. People support their team in different ways. If I sing soccer-style chants at the footy, is that construed as boredom?

As much as I admire your stance on most things Danni, I think you're being a little harsh here. One can't dictate the amount of respect shown to the players by the crowd. The Mexican wave isn't my cup of tea (or anything else for that matter), but it's their choice.

Now if we could get Brisbane crowds to sing......

Sbagman.

Perhaps a lot of people stayed away from the match to watch the rugby test involving the other Lions, the British Lions, against the Wallabies.

We sing and cheer all the time in the cheer squad area Joshy.

Maybe you should come and sit with us.
We always have great fun behing the goals.

I don't know how people just sit there and say nothing at the footy.
I just can't do it.

Keep on cheering guys.
You too Joshy.

cheers...

what i would give to be able to complain about the lack of involvement by the crowd and the lack lustre effort of my team to win by 10 goals. :rolleyes:

i'll just have to stick to the usual weekly rant of inspipid, pathetic, weak as piss, lack of talent bunch of losers. of course by friday all hope will have magically returned and i'll think where a chance again.:D

Originally posted by StrengthThroughLoyalty
what i would give to be able to complain about the lack of involvement by the crowd and the lack lustre effort of my team to win by 10 goals. :rolleyes:

i'll just have to stick to the usual weekly rant of inspipid, pathetic, weak as piss, lack of talent bunch of losers. of course by friday all hope will have magically returned and i'll think where a chance again.:D

Well at least that's true support STL :D

CarterS - I am loathe to have an altercation with a fellow supporter - specially over such an issue as crowd involvement. So I will try and explain my position on this a little more clearly....

In 1999, the Lions as we all know, experienced their best season to date. During the continual 'wins' and 'anhilations' of opposition teams they attracted more and more new comers to the games. The crowds were the best they have ever consistently been. With that came the frustration and the boredom of the new comers.

The boredom etc spilled over into the stands and the 'wave' became a regular occurrence.

The Lions, including Michael Voss himself, were seen on TV asking the crowd not to do it. Regardless of the fact that they were winning, it was distracting to them as players to have it happen. And dangerous on a number of occasions when debris was thrown in the air onto the field.

It was made public on the TV, in the papers, and in announcements over the PA system and on the scoreboard that the wave was not acceptable.

Having had the opportunity to discuss this with some players, and having seen them as individuals- especially after the AC GF loss this year, I am probably more sensitive to their feelings than some of the ppl that were doing the wave.

And having supported a Brisbane team since the bears started, gone thru the ridicule and embarrassment that others found entertaining to dish out seeing as I followed such a 'joke' of a team, probably even heightens that sensitivity.

But to know that the players find it embarrassing and hurtful is enough for me to complain about it.

My major beef with those doing it is that 70% of the ppl doing it are long time members/season ticket holders. They have held the same seats for the last couple of years. They aren't ppl that have just bought a ticket for that game to see what it is all about. They can't find the voice to cheer thru a game, yet can show their boredom quite publicly.

They seem to suffer the same psychological thing we the supporters accuse the team of having. Complacency. They don't cheer for the sake of supporting the team, they do it to entertain themselves, and I think that is wrong.

If doing the mexican wave was showing some sort of respect for the team, their efforts, their success, then I would be all for it.

But the way it is at the moment - I will not and can not - condone it.

Anyway that is just my opinion.

G'day,
I am a hawks fan who has been a Lions member (aswell as a hawks memeber for 5 years)
just because I need a footy fix each week. To be honest though I do get extremely frustrated with the supporters at the gabba. Their lack of imagination in cheering their team is disgraceful and they do lack raw passion which Victorian and SA, WA supporters have. ( I understand this will come in time but...)

I thought Sat night the crowd was a good size (20, 000 is Ok compared with the Broncos etc as Bribsane people tend to watch sport on the box and not live), but the supporting was ajoke. Ok I knew who would win at 1/4 time but still get in there Lions fans.... this is your club. I go and watch the Hawks and people really give a stuff. Up here it seems it is just a socail event...if we loose.... oh well I hope the wallabies won. Footy cant be boring when you team is winning...where's the ruthlessnes????

I also belive the fans up here (while not all but some) are very ignorant of anything outside Brissie. TYhey know about the Lions players but other than say the top 10 AFL players int he rest of the league they wouldnt have a clue...there so ignorant! Heck last year my sister was abused for making noise when supporting her beloved Richmond up here....

I dont know what the answer is but the crowd needs to get its act together if it wants people to get interested in thegame.....

Passion is the key
IlGino