Gabba Crowds.......

• Thread starter Thread starter Danni

Danni

It is with much disappointment that I acknowledge the behaviour of certain sections of the crowds at the Gabba. In the past Lions supporters have been known for their tolerance and acceptance of opposition supporters in their midst. It would seem for some now that isn't the case. They have taken on the 'arrogance' characteristics often attributed to Essendon supporters, and the 'bad behaviour' characteristics most often attributed to Collingwood supporters.

So far this year I have had the pleasure or meeting and working with the Essendon, Hawthorn, Geelong and Port Adelaide travelling cheersquad members and their supporter groups up here in Brisbane. I have found all to be wonderful people who are there for the same reasons we are, to support their team.

These people have been subjected to verbal abuse, the throwing of food and especially beer and being jeered and heckled by the crowd around them whilst in their seats at the Gabba. It has gone so far that some of them have said they will not come back to the Gabba again. That isn't good.

When did it change from supporting our team to putting down the other team and their supporters? When did it become ok to throw beer and stuff at opposition supporters, just cause they are opposition supporters?

Is it the 'theatre goers' and 'bandwagon' supporters in the general admission areas only behaving like this? I hope so. It would be a blight on our club if our members in their reserved seating areas were doing the same.

Shame shame on those who have turned our 'friendly home ground' into one that leaves ppl feeling threatened and not able to sit and watch and support their team when playing at the Gabba.

If you don't have your tongue in your cheek Danni, that is a big worry.

My AFL attendances are few and far between, but once when living in God's Waiting Room, I went out to West Lakes to watch the then one team city take on the Roos in a end of season clash that meant nothing.

I screamed out "ball" when a Crow took too long to dispose and could just feel the animosity being directed at me from all quarters. This is nothing compared to what you're describing but the vibe at Squark Park was horrible and I didn't want to go back.

I think it is a big problem in situations like where one team has a huge majority in the crowd support. Pack mentality can take over and the worst of some people can come out so easily.

Unfortunately Nathan my tongue WAS NOT in my cheek.

And yes I know what footy park is like. Infact my only saving grace here is that one of those on the receiving end of the Gabba treatment said the only worse they had seen was Port and Collingwood.

phew............cause I was on the receiving end of Port supporters early last year, and boy oh boy that was not a nice experience. Mind you I think had I not been sitting in Medallion Club last Saturday night I may have experienced that 'I dont' feel safe here' feeling all over again.

We are all Lions members, bar the youngest who is a Docker.
I am dreading this weekends game, apart from the sibling rivalry with the usual Dockers loss.The way the crowd in the last 2 years has been towards a docker in their midst is disgusting. Last year he got spat on.The guy in front abused him for supporting another team.The year before last his older borther put his jesters hat on, and abused the drunken idiots back.
Yep I dread this weeks game every year, becuase of the Gabba crowd.
Sad eh.

Danni,

That's one of the most disturbing reports I've read. Not having ever gone to the Gabba, I must say I had assumed that the crowd would be good natured and reasonably hospitable - that's the Melbourne away supporters experience ( wel.. maybe Vic Park was a little hostile ). Even getting on the wrong side of 50,000 Pie fans last Sat. wasn't that traumatic ( well.. it was , but that's just me ).

Bogans get attracted to success - witness a Dons game last year or North in 99 - but to even start to resemble Crowville is very scary. Does the club recognise this as an issue ?

Danni

I too have noticed the change this year. When Matthew Primus was carried off in the game against Port, sections of the crowd booed him. It is ok by me to boo a "villian" when he is in the heat of battle, but not when a player is taken off with what appeared a serious injury.

I just hope we never have a last kick loss from a bad umpiring decision because it could get ugly.

I think our Gabba form brings out the worst in some people. I don't think it is the people in the reserved seats though.

I'm also disappointed to hear about the bad behaviour but have to say that I've never seen anything like that where I sit. For me, one of the great things about the Gabba is the safe, friendly environment. I've heard only good-natured banter between rival supporters, never any abuse. When Brendon Lade was hurt recently, there was a bit of booing and shouting by us all, thinking he was playing for a free. but once we all realised that he was really hurt (just seeing the look on Brad Scott's face told us that!) the crowd just went very quiet. No decent person is ever happy to see a player badly hurt. So maybe I'm just lucky that i sit in a civilised part of the Gabba where people go to just enjoy their footy!

Yeah Leppa. we sit in the Northern Stand, lower, reserved seats.
One lady a few years ago, was knitting.She didn't look up at the game once. we looked at her in horror.Why come if you don't want to be there.

My youngest is looking forward to seeing his team, he is proud ,passionate and paid up.So what if he has a Docker membership.It don't give my fellow Lions members the right to spit on him.He also is part of our family Lions memberships, and was yelling as much as us at the GF.He loves his footy.

Some morons at the Gabba have no idea on the rules at all.The lady behind us doesn't even know who the players are.When Power was out last year injured, she was cheering him on.She is a tool.

Its a shame that all crowds can have a feral eliment. I rember the last match of the bears at Vic Park. Now that was a treat and a half.Even women yelling abuse in the toilet line at young bears children.A different sub species that lot.

If this is true, then I am disappointed. I have always believed Lions supporters where a civilised lot.

I admit to being a Northern Stand supporter and have been sitting in the same seats for many years, surrounded by the same supporters for just as long.

I have never witnessed bad behavour at any of our games, and I hope I never do.

I also believe anyone reading this board would not be the ones who would need to be spoken to, maybe it could be brought to the Clubs attention and the Club could warn the crowd that they will be thrown out if they throw food or spit at anyone.

Grog woudn't be involved, would it?

Yair, you’re right nicko18. For a minute there I thought people could enjoy footy while still retaining some humanity. My mistake…must have been the chardonnay haze!
I suppose you enjoyed it when james hird was hurt too.

I've heard of problems, but since I became a member in 1993 I can honestly say I've only had one minor altercation at the Gabba the whole time. It was in 1997 or 98 when a half-drunk middle-aged Richmond supporter decided he'd physically threaten me before he left half-way through the last quarter. I've never witnessed any physical or verbal intimidation by Bears or Lions supporters that whole time. I acknowledge that this doesn't mean it doesn't happen. It's possible that as I sit in a members area where there are fewer opposition supporters that I'm less likely to witness this sort of thing.

Only problem I've had is when a guy sitting behind me told me to stay seated when a goal was scored, or he'd knock my f***ing head off.

Generally, me and the boys have a few beers, sing a few songs and are generally pretty friendly, but don't mind giving the opposition a bit of good-natured stick.

It shouldn't be too overtly nasty, but it isn't the cinema either.

Gabe.

Danni,

I have sat in all different parts of the Gabba for years & never seen anything other than the usual drunken fighting & occasionaly heated exchange.

I suppose the opposition cheersquad are bigger targets than anyone else & thus it's no suprise that there is some potential for trouble.

I would have thought the Gabba security would have worked this out though & perhaps stationed someone nearby to drag off the troublemakers.

Having seen people evicted for quite minor incidents I am suprised that the sort of behaviour that you talk about is tolerated.

It is also interesting that the Gabba served heavy beer - wheras at Colonial last time I went I could only get light. Perhaps there is a lesson in that!

Yes dissappointing to hear these comments but its footy in general. I saw a Collingwood supporter hook a Wet Toast supporter (Col Stad), A Hawthorn fan pick a fight with a Freo fan who was agirl (Col Stad) and a couple of drunks pick a fight with me when I was 13, wearing a Fitzroy jumper (WACA).
I like Campbells youngest son a lot. So leave him alone!!!

PS someone in Dockerland was saying that your actually a pretty good crowd??

In general Gabba crowds are pretty good - especially for a Sunday arvo game, they like to kick back, enjoy the sun and just have a lazy arvo watching the footy.

Unfortunately it is the 'general admission' crowds who seem mostly responsible for this stuff. Infact the problems hawthorn had earlier this year were instigated by someone in a richmond jumper sitting in the GA area. BUT that doesn't excuse it.

But Essendon copped heaps this year. It was like a feeding frenzy by Lions supporters sitting near them. Knowing that the GA area can be rowdy Essendon requested a different area for their supporter group this year and were not behind the goals as per usual. And they copped it left right and centre, even in a more 'cultured' area than the GA area.

I really think that somehow, someday we need to educate the general/new to AFL crowd up here. By 'new' I mean not a convert from another team, or someone who has been at the games for 3 years or less. They just don't seem to understand that they are there to support their team - and NOT to have a go at opposition supporters. Sure you get some fairly good natured digs happening, but spending your time abusing the opposition supporters instead of watching the game and supporting your team is pretty darn sad.

Lets dace it the are some so called undesirable elements in all crowds at sporting events. Some people here so to be picking up on a few experiences.

Over my time of going to sporting events in Australia and overseas i can safely say that there is nothing to worry about in Autsralia. You will always get some people who you call unsportsmanlike but in some ways I think it is a good sign. You need people with passion going to the footy. For too long I have seen the standard of the crowds becoming more and more subdued. I remember being able to swear my head off at Fitzroy games, have friends who did the same, light illegal fires in the outer and even have a mate who would pull on a bong from time to time. Nowadays if you swear you're out. It has become so timid for the crowds all the need is the voice over like basketball and the applause sign to come up on the scoreboard.

In sporting matches overseas it is very different. In Soccer in Europe supporters are seperated from each other at all grounds and there is a police presence to make sure they do not interact after the game.

Don't worry. if you don't like it stay at home because you are just becoming another drone of the AFL.

Originally posted by BrainOfMorbius
a half-drunk middle-aged Richmond supporter decided he'd physically threaten me before he left half-way through the last quarter

Nothing unusual there . . . :o

Yesterdays match was a blast for my son.
Not because of the crowd around us, but because of the Fremantle and Brisbane Cheersquads.
These people were wonderful to him, he actually got to go out on the ground with the Banner. Thanks guys. He said last night it was the best day of his little life. Which is lovely.
He made a sign up that said, I have a thirst for Medhurst, and got the players to sign it afterwards. The players were so quiet, and so polite.

Now for the crowd around us. This guys who sat behind us, was a real hero.Picking on a kid, big time.Mind u he got the royal order of the anchor at on stage.This guys friends were telling him off, but he was a real loser. Around 50's, a real ignorant arrogant man. New nothing of the rules of AFL.He was a joke to listen to.He was just loud as.My older son put him in his place at one stage near the end of the match, and that shut him up.A tosser of the highest order.
The rest of the crowd were fine to my son.

I did notice yesterday the ignorance of our crowd.How most around us have no idea on any of the rules.It was sad really.
Maybe when a membership is taken, a rule book can be given out.

Originally posted by campbell

I did notice yesterday the ignorance of our crowd.How most around us have no idea on any of the rules.It was sad really.
Maybe when a membership is taken, a rule book can be given out.

You are kidding??? Have you not been to a game anywhere else? One eyed supporters of all persuasions only see what they want to see.

Going to Subi to watch the Dockers play there always seems to be a large portion of the crowd going for the away team. I take my sons to the games they find it great to see a bit of verbal aggro barracking against the Dockers. As there is plently of room in the crowd of twenty thousand plus to move if required.
But my son whos 11 years old, who hasn't seen to many highlights from the Dockers in the past years still holds his own when confronted by mainly "never been to a game Eagle supporters" As he realises the Dockers are delivering the goods and hes enjoying even losing. Which thats how it should be. Not going to the football because its safe and your team is winning .
These people are the ones who don't know how to handle the verbal sprays when they are winning or losing. As the Eagle supporters who are revolting when they beat the Dockers, but as my son realises he can be just as revolting the next time we meet and we win .

I actually saw 2 Collingwood supporters fighting at the Brisbane v Collingwood game. It went on for over 1 quarter and was just ridiculous. I can't remember what they were fighting about, but there was something they didn't agree on. I though one of the guys was going to throw a punch at the guy in front, but it was calmed down. Swearing and abuse non-stop.

Pies supporters are the most feral of them all. The abuse that they were yelling after the match was ridiculous. They seriously thought they were the Grand Final winners on that night. I can't imagine the Gabba could be that bad (mainly because nobody could be as bad as Collingwood supporters).

have seen a lot of ferals at football over time, and I guess that is just part of the game.

Originally posted by LIONS2001
Pies supporters are the most feral of them all.

Not much of a generalsiation there. :rolleyes:

I go to the 'gabba alot. In fact my dad and I have a Lions membership and we try to get to every game. We are ex-vics that crave live AFL, there is nothing like AFL live. The smell, the atmosphere, call it what you like its great. :)

Anyway, I sit in the Grandstand, top level, in the forward 50 metre flank at the vulture street end. Great view. Well, nothing has ever occured. It seems to be a friendly area. The only bad thing is the lack of people understanding the game. One thing that annoys me are people that are sitting behind you that have no idea of the rules or one of them as an idea and the whole 4 quarters are spent by the people asking; "Why was it a free kick? Why wasn't that a goal? Why wasn't that a mark?" :mad: I know people have to learn somehow but it just irritates me!

The crowd are mostly learning. A few weeks ago I heard, "Bullsh*t Ref!" REF?!??! I felt like screaming go back to Thugby League! :D

But overall the gabba' is a great stadium and I think you are over-reacting Danni. Football Park is ten times worse.

I think the game v St Kilda would have to be the quietest I have ever heard the Gabba... what is going on? Do people fall asleep in the sun?

Nick,

I agree. Crowville is just outrageous and this is from a football state ! The level of bile and bitterness suggests a deeper angst. Why can't that energy be used for good and not evil ?

The tone of Danni's original post was that the Gabba was getting a little like that .. and also a little smug. I did suggest that the Brisbane based fans come down to Vic. and watch the lads play away.. to really sharpen up their awareness of barracking procedures and opposition heat.

Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN

the whole 4 quarters are spent by the people asking; "Why was it a free kick? Why wasn't that a goal? Why wasn't that a mark?"

Soooooo - thats why I am at the MCG or Colonial the very learned Victorians call out "good call umpire" & "well that was not really a tackle - he didnt have time to release" & "oh dash it all - it was touched 1mm before the goal line"

How condescending you are!