Gablett Out

• Thread starter Thread starter AM

If so, maybe they should have a runner by his side at all times with a box of tissues. Gary's sooking is getting close the worst I have seen from any player.. The way he talks to some of his team members in unnacceptable. + he pulled out of an important marking contest on the weekend when he heard footsteps. If you play, pull your finger out Gaz.

A tad harsh he did drop the chest mark but maybe just a skill error rather than sooking it. For his own bodies sake he has to get rid of the ball quicker and stop taking ever hit coming his way or he is going to be injured regularly. I would be more concerned with his accuracy for goal because I think he has slipped badly in the kicking department. Replay the last few minutes of the game when chapman was pinged for htb. The tackle on chapman was high and check out abletts opponent who has tackled ablett without the ball and the umpire was very close

Did one of the Ablett's steal your girlfriend or something? You sounds like you have personal issued with them.

P.S. Your ex-Girlfriend will now be more fulfilled!

Actually, one of my ex-girlfriends is with a footballer... but I dumped the bitch and he plays for the roos.

I never said he shouldn't play / is a liability... pfft, typical posts from Ablett fan boys who would probably love to be "fulfilled" by both Abletts' at the same time, and I know you have had experiance with this in the past hoff..

Gary is a sook and it it bad for the team morale... simple. He does it twice as much as any other guy in our team and its not good enough. Especially for a guy of 4-5 years experiance.

Actually, one of my ex-girlfriends is with a footballer... but I dumped the bitch and he plays for the roos.

I never said he shouldn't play / is a liability... pfft, typical posts from Ablett fan boys who would probably love to be "fulfilled" by both Abletts' at the same time, and I know you have had experiance with this in the past hoff..

Gary is a sook and it it bad for the team morale... simple. He does it twice as much as any other guy in our team and its not good enough. Especially for a guy of 4-5 years experiance.

He is also the best player we have on our list.

Gazza also gets smashed around twice as much as most of the other boys.
He normally gets it right twice as much as the other boys also.
So i understand his frustration.
Leave the kid alone.

Why is this guy untouchable? He is flawed just like every other player on our list. Whenever myself or anyone else has a little stab at him, it's "Leave the kid alone"...
The fact of the matter is there are a hell of a lot of players in the league better than him, and if he is our best (as was quoted earlier) we are never going to get very far. Fair is fair. He played terrible for half a season last year, and misses way, way too many goals.

Why is this guy untouchable? He is flawed just like every other player on our list. Whenever myself or anyone else has a little stab at him, it's "Leave the kid alone"...
The fact of the matter is there are a hell of a lot of players in the league better than him, and if he is our best (as was quoted earlier) we are never going to get very far. Fair is fair. He played terrible for half a season last year, and misses way, way too many goals.
Last year is last year. Everyone except Chappie and Bartel was pretty awful. This year, he has done nothing wrong, so leave him be. He is an elite player, bracketed with Scarlett, Bartel and Chapman as one of our best, and could fit into any side as an important player.

He'll never be as good as super-accurate Josh Hunt

He does miss a lot of goals , Does anyone know whats the highest score he has ever kicked in a game. I dont think it would be very high.
Thats the big problem down here we do have the talent but there kicking lets them down.
We need someone to teach them ALL how to kick (Delivery & Scoring)

5 goals v Freo at Subiaco mid-2006

6 goals.

If I had dills like Cameron Ling delivering me the footy then I'd be entitled to have a good old sook too. Gazz is the most creative player in our side and it must shit him to tears to see the work he puts in to keep the footy only for many of his teammates to give it away so easily.

He's hardly perfect though and some of his efforts last year were pathetic to be honest - he refused to chase on many occasions, giving up while preferring to argue with umpires instead. It was totally unlike the hard-working Gazza we'd grown to love.

I realise it's probably beyond you mate but you may want to try getting your mind out of the gutter and restricting your comments to football, plus it's a bit rich comments such as those coming from someone who seems more then a little obsessed with Josh Hunt.

You may also want to follow your own advice and actually read what's said before leaping in to reply, I never suggested you said Gary shouldn't be in the side, merely posed the question whether it was any value playing someone who, according to you, "squibs marking contests" "undermines team morale" "plays for himself rather then the team" and "doesn't win enough contested footy."

I'm especially bemused by that last statement as according to the stats he's number one in the team for contested possessions, although anyone with a modicum of football knowledge wouldn't need stats to tell them that he's as good as anybody at winning the pill in tight situations.

Hope for our sake he lines up this week, and if he does I can only say, don't bother "getting your finger out" Gaz but simply keep doing what you've been doing, if we had another twenty one players in the side with your ability, commitment, passion and work ethic then we'd be sitting second on the ladder right now with a three one win loss ratio and heading toward September action.

You choose some strange targets, what can I say.

Next thing you'll be saying Jimmy Bartel can't find his own ball and struggles in the wet. Seriously, Gaz a squib? Doesn't win enough contested footy? Then who is that funny looking bloke with the blonde mop who I constantly see feeding the ball out while being tackled by six opposition players? Granted, his kicking goal for could be improved, but you make it out like he's struggling to get a game when in fact he's our most creative and, dare I say it, talented player. The odd sook could be forgiven when you see some of the shizen efforts put in by the other blokes in our side.

Come on.

I agree with Copernicus and believe me, I am very critical of player performances. Sure Gary spits it with the umpires and he's accuracy at goal has lessened in the past few years but he's great at getting the ball out of contested situations. With our poor clearances ratio, this is a godsend. I rate him highly on the Geelong list and it's not because of his father. He can break tackles and his disposal is normally good (compared to others on our list). While he isn't "quick", he seems to be faster than Ling, Corey, Enright and Bartel, at least to my dull senses.

He seems to be quick off the mark - he doesn't have the sustained sprinting ability of Monica or Davey, but he seems to be able to accelerate away quickly to give himself space. It makes him look pacier than he really is. The other blokes you mentioned seem more one-paced and don't have that burst ability that Gaz has.

MartyK msut be Dwayne Russel himself..?

Yeah ok... Anyone who criticises someone with the last name of Ablett couldn't possibly be a Geelong supporter right? Wrong.

I've been a Geelong member for many years, this being the case I can say whatever the hell I want about any player, as I pay their fricken salary. There are too many one eyed supporters on here who seem to believe I'm attacking the club as a whole by criticising an Ablett... people seem to take it personally for some reason. I see it at the games too... Especially from women.

This is very likely a reason why Gary is such a cry baby on the ground. He is believing all the fan press, which is obviously in the vein that he can do no wrong. It must be someone elses fault?? I'm afraid not. While he is a very good player, he is not in the elite AFL group and needs to set a better example on the field.