Gablett Out

• Thread starter Thread starter AM

Saw it too, at the end of the 2nd quarter, it looked terrible. After the siren went, he basically ran from deep in the forward line all the way up to the 50 metre line to give Hunt a big spray, gesticulating with his arms...it was uncalled for and looked terrible, and is just the sort of thing that damaged team spirit last season.

IMO opinion he was our best player, but he needs to get these things out of his game, makes him look like he thinks he can behave however he wants cos he is an Ablett...

that looked pretty bad that sook - dunno if it was directed at hunt.

lingy had to huff and puff the "settle down" gesture to gaz. furrowed brow, mouth agape - get rid of it gaz.

Now we know why martyk isn't happy with Jr

Onya Jr :thumbsu:

As I mentioned earlier, I couldn't recall who the player was and I don't care because it has nothing to do with my point. Regarding Hunt, while I have been a supporter of his, I think a run in the 2s will benefit him greatly.. He is out of form and will come back better for it. A little dint in the ego will help him I think.

Maybe he can sit on the bench and hold Gary's kleenex, ready for when he comes off for a rest.. :p

In all seriousness, Gary needs to grow out of this behaviour. Especially if he is to become a leader. One other guy that used to do it too much was Kent Kingsley...

Its hard to comment when you dont know what was said and what it was about, but i dont mind it. As long as a lid is kept on it.
Its pretty obvious the coaching staff dont react to piss poor performances (ie when hunt refused to chase tail in the last). So if i was a consistant performer and gave everything, id get pissed off too.

Its hard to comment when you dont know what was said and what it was about, but i dont mind it. As long as a lid is kept on it.
Its pretty obvious the coaching staff dont react to piss poor performances (ie when hunt refused to chase tail in the last). So if i was a consistant performer and gave everything, id get pissed off too.

Look, that was just one example I gave for some of the people on here who refuse to accept any type of Ablett criticism. Hunt has nothing to do with it. It has still not been established that he was the one Ablett flamed. Anyone who actually goes to games can see it happen fairly often, as most of this type of stuff is off camera / off the ball.

Having a crack at players on the ground is not constructive. This should be done in post-game reviews by the leadership group / coaching staff etc. The reason I used this one example was because:
1 - It was on TV so everyone could see it.
2 - The captain basically told Gary to shut the **** up.

Look, that was just one example I gave for some of the people on here who refuse to accept any type of Ablett criticism. Hunt has nothing to do with it. It has still not been established that he was the one Ablett flamed. Anyone who actually goes to games can see it happen fairly often, as most of this type of stuff is off camera / off the ball.

Having a crack at players on the ground is not constructive. This should be done in post-game reviews by the leadership group / coaching staff etc. The reason I used this one example was because:

The name ablett had nothing to do with my thoughts. If shannon Byrnes was busting a nut week in week out and told someone else to extract the digit, i would have written the same thing. and if you read my post, i mention that its not known what was said or who it was about. Pipe down chachi

Ok,Martyk I get your point but as a loyal,fanatical cats supporter you could balance your opinion with some positive points about the lad who no doubt is one of our very best players.

Think I have to agree with Sarah , I have been reading all this about Gaz for the last few days and think , Gary has a lot of positive sides to his game also. There are a lot of suporters out there that really shouldnt have to hear the bashing of this young star. lets call an end to it guys

Ok,Martyk I get your point but as a loyal,fanatical cats supporter you could balance your opinion with some positive points about the lad who no doubt is one of our very best players.

Look back through the posts... I've said more than once that I think he's a very good player.

How boring would it be if we all followed each other and never went against the grain a little bit? I've never once seen a negative post about Gary Jnr and wonder why... he certaintly isn't perfect, therefore his faults are open for discussion. Isn't that what these forums are for?

The fact is there are fan boys on here who can't handle it.

Think I have to agree with Sarah , I have been reading all this about Gaz for the last few days and think , Gary has a lot of positive sides to his game also. There are a lot of suporters out there that really shouldnt have to hear the bashing of this young star. lets call an end to it guys

Are you kidding?? So the fact that he is a good player means he is exempt from criticism? He gets less negative posts than any other player on our list so what the hell are you complaining about?

Its more your wording Marty than anything I think. I find it funny most of the time but I think you know that sometimes the way you word some things are going to cause you hell . But come on mate , be honest , underneath I think you love it.

is it a Love hate relationship you to have Sarah then. You love to hate everything Marty says . LOL

that looked pretty bad that sook - dunno if it was directed at hunt.

I thought it was directed at the umps who were gathering in the centre to walk off hand-in-hand.He was pointing to something that happened in the forward pocket.

Oh c'mon.. I don't believe that for a second. Thought provoking posts are much more interesting than posting like a load sheep... baahhh
stirring the pot dont you mean.
I must admit it is more interesting to read when people dont agree

nobody knows for sure yet, Think there giving him till the last minute , But the good money is on not playing

fair enough

is it me or are team doctors getting less educated these days? how can you let a player back onto the field when he is injured?

happened to ball as well, and theres a few other circumstances i can recall.

fair enough

is it me or are team doctors getting less educated these days? how can you let a player back onto the field when he is injured?

happened to ball as well, and theres a few other circumstances i can recall.
Someone actually said Gaz was on crutches during the week so he wouldnt put weight on it. I think Id rest him this week if there is any doubt at all . The thing is I would say Gary would have said he was ok last week when he came back on and he didnt show any signs at all. He played like he didnt have anything wrong with him

I love how you lot will make up garbage like this to try and somehow prove me wrong?? I never said anything of the sort.

I have attacked one small aspect of Gary's game here(his crying), and I find it really interesting that so many of you get your backs up about it... to the point where your willing to spend time looking back at the game to justify yourselves and stick up for the guy by saying he only makes mistakes when its in the teams interest... pfft..

Gary is a very good player but is far from perfect and not included in the elite at AFL level. Why should the fact that he is in the top 4 players in our team stop me from criticising him too?

I've basically proven that no matter what the criticism, if its about Ablett, you guys cannot swallow it..

Quote ..... "Maybe if our midfielders pulled their fingers out(Ablett definately included), and won some constested ball, our defense would suffer like they do." .......

Your words mate, no good having a go at me and suggesting I'm lying just because you obviously don't have a clue what you've said.

As for your other points, I certainly haven't "got my back up" as a matter of fact I stated quite clearly you're free to criticise him as much as any other
player, no skin off my nose whatsoever.
Have also never come close to saying he only makes mistakes when it's in the teams interests, so don't really have anything to "justify" myself about on that
score.

It's pointless asking me ........ "Why should the fact that he is in the top 4 players in our team stop me from criticising him too?" ....... because I've
already made it clear that it shouldn't stop you criticising him, top four or bottom four, they're all just as equal to criticism, but with the proviso that
it's fair and accurate and not just criticism for criticism's sake.

If you wish to say he doesn't win enough contested footy or that he isn't a team player that's your prerogative, just as it's mine to disagree with you, which is all I've been doing.

Guess I don't need to address your last statement due to the fact that, like most of your post, it simply doesn't apply to me.

I never aimed all of what I said at you, why would you think that? It's obvious there are other people on here that are involved in this thread. If it doesn't apply to you then you have nothing to add, so don't.

like a dog with a bone.... Can't let it go.

Everyone else is wrong, it's not you!