Gambling and our reliance on it

should Collingwood be involved in gambling

• Yes, we need to source funding for our club.

Votes: 7 17.1%
  • Yes, we need to source funding for our charity work.

Votes: 2 4.9%
  • No, gambling is preying on the vulnerable.

Votes: 25 61.0%
  • I don't care as this is not in field related

Votes: 7 17.1%

The only casino in town is owned by Sir James Packer. I doubt that he would take advantage of his situation. I think it's because Parmas arent cultivated in WA. We have to get them in from "over East". Freight costs are extremely high over here because the government refuses to subsidise the trucking industry and because syrians are coming in and working as cheap labour. We need a strong leader who will make WA great again.

I heard Senator Ludlum speak in the parliament earlier today. He sounds like a strong leader.
Seems he wants to build 8 or 9 rows of highway through some wetlands and aboriginal heritage or something? Or maybe that was Senator Kormoran? I dunno. One tidbit from a WA Senator that seemed particularly curious - provided specifically for the benefit of those of us from the eastern states who don't know these things - was the revelation that WA has an extraordinarily high number of nose-to-tail car accidents - 70% of all accidents on that freeway that they want to add 8 or 9 rows to. I kid you not!

Sounded to me like the 'Waexit' that our constitution has been threatening for the last 117 years might finally be happening.

I heard Senator Ludlum speak in the parliament earlier today. He sounds like a strong leader.
Seems he wants to build 8 or 9 rows of highway through some wetlands and aboriginal heritage or something? Or maybe that was Senator Kormoran? I dunno. One tidbit from a WA Senator that seemed particularly curious - provided specifically for the benefit of those of us from the eastern states who don't know these things - was the revelation that WA has an extraordinary high number of nose-to-tail car accidents - 70% of all accidents on that freeway that they want to add 8 or 9 rows to. I kid you not!

Sounded to me like the 'Waexit' that our constitution has been threatening for the last 117 years might finally be happening.

People are so beautiful over here that they look at themselves in the rear view all day...

I get mistaken for justin beiber when i'm OS..... but i'm a dog in freo...

as for the wetlands, they closed down the spearwood ski park just south of here, a few years back..... so destroying wetlands is not new over here

People are so beautiful over here that they look at themselves in the rear view all day...

I get mistaken for justin beiber when i'm OS..... but i'm a dog in freo...

as for the wetlands, they closed down the spearwood ski park just south of here, a few years back..... so destroying wetlands is not new over here

Bieber? Tell them...

Not Bieber..... Justin Beiber. He lives in North Fremantle. He's popular with the girls around town. Freo folk are always confusing me for Justin when I meet them when I'm travelling overseas. But I'm just not as perfect as him so when i'm home in Freo, people just look at me...... throw out their hand to the wind...and say "there's the guy who thinks he looks like justin beiber".....

Arn't most things we do gambling? Pokies.. shares.. gambling on Mayne.. gambling on Bucks one more yr.. gambling on attacking the ball.. etc etc etc.. ffs we gamble every time we post risking ridicule.. so if the funds were not sourced from the pokies and pubs.. they would still be sourced by some other method/source of gambling.
If you invest in the securities market, you can do so with the knowledge that on balance the market will increase in value over time, as seen recently when the DJIA cleared 20,000 points for the first time in history. So while the average expected increase in value over time might be meagre, and might not exceed CPI, it is there all the same.

No form of gambling has a positive mathematical expectation for the average punter. None.

The other forms of gambling you mention are actually just decisions made according to a risk/reward equation, and unlikely to be thought of as "gambling" as they hardly tend toward addiction. The values on each side of the equation are subjective and (aside from possibly Mayne :p) there aren't many instances where one side is clearly the wrong choice.

It is a bit like give with one hand and then take it away with the other. I don’t like pokies they suck!

If you invest in the securities market, you can do so with the knowledge that on balance the market will increase in value over time, as seen recently when the DJIA cleared 20,000 points for the first time in history. So while the average expected increase in value over time might be meagre, and might not exceed CPI, it is there all the same.

No form of gambling has a positive mathematical expectation for the average punter. None.

The other forms of gambling you mention are actually just decisions made according to a risk/reward equation, and unlikely to be thought of as "gambling" as they hardly tend toward addiction. The values on each side of the equation are subjective and (aside from possibly Mayne :p) there aren't many instances where one side is clearly the wrong choice.
I'm more of a futures and options man myself mate.

Interesting you've been conditioned to believe gambling is only when people lose and when there is addiction involved. We DO gamble hundreds of times every day, sometimes risking time, other times we risk relatioships, other times we risk money... it's all gambling. But apparently if someone puts $20 into a pokies and has fun and loses $10 it becomes evil because the pokies business deliberately tries to get your money (like literally every business in the world...)

Interesting you've been conditioned to believe gambling is only when people lose and when there is addiction involved.
Gambling is only where there is potential for loss, i.e. the outcome is unknown, and something is risked on that outcome.

If you are definitely going to lose, you are not gambling, you are just throwing money away. If you are definitely going to win, you are not risking anything.

We DO gamble hundreds of times every day, sometimes risking time, other times we risk relatioships, other times we risk money... it's all gambling. But apparently if someone puts $20 into a pokies and has fun and loses $10 it becomes evil because the pokies business deliberately tries to get your money (like literally every business in the world...)
Yes but as stated in those scenarios what is being risked and what the expectation of success are is entirely subjective.

You put money into a poker machine, there is a predetermined negative mathematical expectation for every cent you invest. It is set up so that you will, on average, lose... and it's designed to keep you playing as long as possible, even if (maybe even especially if) you show that you are out of control.

"Literally every business in the world" will offer you something in return for your money... even if it's a piece of toast with the caramelised image of Jesus. If that's entertainment in this instance, then fine, but if it's no longer fun, as the slogan goes, walk away. You are getting nothing but misery in return for your money.

I dunno man. Basing your club's revenue stream on something that you have a 1 in 18 chance of winning sounds like a pretty big gamble.

Isn't it the actual aim of the whole club? Anyway, it's not like there is no revenue when you don't win the flag. The point is, if you perform well you make more money. If your measurement/assessment criteria are heavily centred around that you are more likely to drive that. In any case, it isn't supposed to be a random chance 1 in 18, you are supposed to try and be better than everyone else and significantly lower the odds/frequency. Given our supporter base and profile that should be a given. 1 in 18 for us should be viewed as failure and it is underperforming our resources by a long way.

In any case, we actually lost $12m+ on the pubs which was all part of the pokies revenue stream strategy.

This is a simplistic take, but I'm still struggling with the concept of using gambling to help fund charitable work and raise money which in some (many?) cases goes back to the very people who lost it in the first place because of gambling...at the footy...or at venues operated by AFL clubs.
It's a con. Pokie revenue has to be directed in part to charitable purposes but the basis of calculation and allocatuion is suispect and then clubs like ours shout from the rooftops about doing what they have to do anyway.

Give it a rest

If you don't like it don't gamble simple

It's what keeps us viable - got any other ways ?????

Much the same argument was mounted when cigarette advertising was banned.
So many sporting organisations were dependant upon that money, but they survived.

North Melbourne don't rely of gambling at all. It's a principle for them.
That's nice but where does the bulk of their money come from?

You can dissociate from pokies (the legal licenses will just go to someone else) & gambling all you like but the until the AFL stop their reliance on gambling it's just pissing in the wind to our detriment.

My point is that they survive without it. I was replying to the claim we couldn't.
North have shown that while they take the noble route of refusing to make an income off gambling, they are happy to base their survival on being propped up by the other entities (clubs, AFL etc) that do endorse gambling.

It's like saying that you're not a heroin addict whilst being treated for a prescription morphine addiction.

Yay another annual gambling thread. Almost as annoying as having odds forced down my throat every time I watch a game.

Let's leave Bigfooty to the footy, nothing that a hundred fans can do about revising gambling policies when the AFL continues to sell its soul to the highest bidding betting agency.

You don't have to be here if you don't like the topic. There are a dozen "sack Bucks" threads you can jump on.

Besides, a hundred fans can do something. Each one of those hundred knows another five people, who know five more people, and so on. Ever heard of the Arab Spring? Social media at it's best.
For all it's failings the AFL will listen to fans if it's going to affect their commercial viability