Which commentator hate freo the most?

• Tom Harley

Votes: 4 12.5%
  • Basil Sivless

Votes: 28 87.5%

We need to seriously boycott all broadcast sponsors until channel 7 get those flogs off our games. It's time 7 took notice of what the fans want. I don't care if the call is neutral, the crap we are served up is disgraceful.

If 7 have something to lose, they will have to act. Let the boycott begin.

Did anyone notice when Ballas ran down Harry O in the centre brilliantly for a holding the ball decision, the commentators said nothing, nada, SFA? Clearly biased. Malthouse seems to have a clear hatred of our footy club.
I can't wait for the day when we consistently start smashing the Pies.

Did anyone notice when Ballas ran down Harry O in the centre brilliantly for a holding the ball decision, the commentators said nothing, nada, SFA? Clearly biased. Malthouse seems to have a clear hatred of our footy club.
If it had been Beams or Thomas running down one of ours they would have been out of their chairs screaming and we would have had 5 minutes of fap about how great it was.
It was unbelievable how biased it was. Every good bit of play from us was ignored, goals were greeted by silence and every mistake was jumped on. I'm still quite disgusted thinking about it.

it became obvious that the commentators were extremely biased when an obvious deliberate handball out of bounds by Marley Williams went unpenalised & there was nary a peep from the microphone, only for boganwood to get their 3rd goal straight after the boundary throw in.

I'm normally pretty meh about the commentators, not too bothered, but yes Saturdays effort was very 3rd rate.

Noted the Marley Williams incident, silence ....

I felt some of the comments about Freo over the first quarter and a half, were fair cop ......... but I felt that the same comments were not made about the Collingwood backline when we started to put on some forward pressure before half time.

Bit like umpiring, all we want is consistency.

Basil ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, what a laugh, how does he get a gig ????!!!!!!!. Come back Barra !!!!!.

Definitely, I actually rewound it to make sure - it was hard to believe.

Who cares, turn the sound down. 720 ABC wasn't much better anyway. For it to change we need to start winning often and winning well. Pretty hard for even a biased commentator to go against you or go quiet when you are killing another team. The result is a pretty poor commentary and people then start losing their positions and guests no longer getting offers to return to the box, i.e. earn their respect. Currently we are just making up the numbers and the commentators are reflecting that.

Or the Pies second goal (I think) which came to fruition after a blatantly obvious double-handed throw over the back of the Pies players head, might have been Swan.

Who cares, turn the sound down. 720 ABC wasn't much better anyway. For it to change we need to start winning often and winning well. Pretty hard for even a biased commentator to go against you or go quiet when you are killing another team. The result is a pretty poor commentary and people then start losing their positions and guests no longer getting offers to return to the box, i.e. earn their respect. Currently we are just making up the numbers and the commentators are reflecting that.
I think the point is, we weren't actually that bad (if that had been North they would have been going on about shinbone spirit when we got back to within 3 goals in the 3rd). Also when we did manage some good passages of play these were ignored, i.e. Balla's great tackling and some of our well worked goals. Combine this with the over the top fapping over Beams and counting Swans every possession (when Barlow got 37 this wasn't acknowledged) and it adds up to a biased commentary. No one is saying they should have been lauding us, just that it was so one sided as to be offensive. No other team gets treated this way except perhaps Port.

Almost logged on here during the game to make mention of the commentary.. f*** me dead.. i have heard how bad the saturday arvo team is but hadnt experienced it fully until yesterday. Just terrible all of them... the funniest comments which come from supposed "learned" football people who think that our game plan revolves around only getting it forward 30 or so times a game.. yeah thats the plan boys, thats what we want.. nothing to do with being smashed in the middle AGAIN and continously starting all attacks for our goal line with their press being awesome. Malthouse is a deadset flog and for some reason hates fremantle, not sure why.. we were never a threat to wce when he was there, if anything you would think he would have a soft spot

Was that pissed off i almost sent 7 an email, then i remembered it would achieve f*** all

Malthouse hates Freo at the moment as he had tipped us to threaten for a top 4 spot at the start of the season. The disappointment factor + looking like he was talking out of his a*se = him flogging us now.

Would've been nice to hear the commentators give the boys some credit for fighting back the whole game. Maybe a "despite their skills being average, the fight we've seen all game from Freo shows they've come a long way" or something similar. Basil is just like McAvaney... loves talking up whoever is winning the game.

Definitely, I actually rewound it to make sure - it was hard to believe.

Hehe I watching the game with a friend, talking to her but my eyes on the telly. Stopped midsentence and screamed out "BALLANTYNE!" and rewound it to record on my phone. Sigh.

Agree with the call on Basil. Made some disgusting ******* comment along the lines of "XXXX makes a stupid mistake, I guess Fremantle supporters are used to it by now". Only time I've ever had a WTFBANANAS moment while listening to commentary. If that c*nt is commentating our next away game, I will not be watching.

I was livid when he said that. Had a rant on fb and was told he was just telling the truth. Um, hello, he's meant to be commentating and not being biased!!

Known it for years that gameday commentators hate Freo.

It's been like this for as long as I can remember.

At the moment though, this reflects the overall ineptness of the commentary. If anything get a Freo person into the box to laud over us while the other w***ers are lauding the opposition for looking good or for touching the ball once

Also when we did manage some good passages of play these were ignored, i.e. Balla's great tackling and some of our well worked goals.

That's about it, ripping into the team in the first half was obviously justified but in the 2nd some good pieces of play and efforts from Ballantyne in particular were pretty much met with dead silence.

Was watching the game in a pub so the audio was not on, glad I didn't get to hear this shit, what is it with the football commentary?
These clowns just seem so out of touch with the common man/woman, are they just trying to be funny?
What their job is is a form of journalism, so where's the objectivity, neutrality? They have no credibility as sportscasters.

I think what I disliked most about Basil in the commentary was that he kept saying things like "Freo better kick a few goals to keep this interesting". I think this was at the beginning of the second quarter when we hadn't kicked a goal yet. FMD Basil, it's your job as a commentator to at least give the illusion the game was entertaining even if it's not (it was up till that point anyhow). He seemed to actually want Fremantle to be destroyed and to have a boring game rather than promote anything positive.

He kept on insinuating things about Freo folding for the rest of the afternoon and was genuinely surprised if anything positive happened.

After a Freo mistake in the backline resulting in a Collingwood goal, Basil said "Sad to say, that's something Fremantle supporters are used to seeing". **** what a c**t and a half.

Totally unprofessional. Seriously can we send him hate mail? What an absolute moron.

Funny, because I caught a glimpse of that vomit-worthy show Eagle Eye immediately after the football and it was showing the new Eagles recruits getting media training from the "best in the business". Of course it was the one and only dickface Basil.

Just watched the game again, for the life of me I cannot fathom how they came up with that mix of dickwits to call our game.

"dickwits" - i love it........yes they were awful. Can you imagine taking a UV light into the commentators box after the game............it would be brighter than Stephen Hawkings after they repeatedly fapped over anything in black and white.....

Did anyone notice when Ballas ran down Harry O in the centre brilliantly for a holding the ball decision, the commentators said nothing, nada, SFA? Clearly biased.

Imagine if it was nic nat who ran down Harry O. There would have been a fap fest while showing the replay of it after every break in play for the rest of the game.

Yeah, would have been tackle of the century to go with point of the century. They just don' get it do they - a little fella bust his guts to drag down an overhyped Harry O who is twice the size of him and still no love....freakin shite commentators!!!!!!!

After a Freo mistake in the backline resulting in a Collingwood goal, Basil said "Sad to say, that's something Fremantle supporters are used to seeing". **** what a c**t and a half.

Totally unprofessional. Seriously can we send him hate mail? What an absolute moron.

Funny, because I caught a glimpse of that vomit-worthy show Eagle Eye immediately after the football and it was showing the new Eagles recruits getting media training from the "best in the business". Of course it was the one and only dickface Basil.

Yeah that was about the last straw.. very nearly threw something at the TV.. thankfully the mrs semi-controlled me into just yelling profanities.

Australian commentators have no idea about objectivity.. need lessons from ESPN about balanced views and just calling the game, rather than promoting their thoughts/spin