Game plan

It is becoming more and more likely that we are getting caracella

take a look at this article from July this year

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au...r/news-story/8a1c1a0ee68453def759c6a30ef06148

I don't think they would be hiring him if they didn't plan be more attacking, not sure he would agree to our game style, I think Dimma has learned his lesson (hopefully)

Hmmm so we have made a long term recruiter a consultant (redundant).
We have brought it a football Footy Manager who will be above DH.
We have shifted discount Dan to concentrate on something else (redundant).
Rumours are that we will could get Caracella, Knights, Montgomery, all who would be a better coach than DH.
So pretty much DH will probably be (redundant) next year if he survives that long.
Fantastic!!! Best news I heard in 7 years.

Also how hard are the players last night and today. Didn't see Thursday night so can not comment.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Brett, the Dogs tackled very, very well. Every time the Weagles got the ball, they had a Dog within 10 metres running straight at them. Not waving arms to corral. Running straight at them with a shoulder dropped. You should see the footage of Darling shitting bricks when no opponent is near him.

Strong, aggressive tackling is the finals weapon for 2016, imo

Hardwick also told us that tackling stats were over rated and corralling was the main form of defence they believed in. Acc to him, too easy to break a tackle and get hands off, therefore taking the tackler out of play. This is again serious.

Thanks for the insight, but fair dinkum, this has ruined my morning. i've heard Hardwick say this before. it shits me.

i know this is obvious to you and i don't need to say it, but for the love of god, when you stick the tackle, you take out their player too. it becomes 17 on 17, at worst. if you have good technique, the tackler is the first one up. With very good technique, the tackler doesn't even need to lose their feet. Sometimes you get the ball back. At worst, you force a stoppage. FFS, you hurt them and get inside their minds, and Aussie Rules is 95% above the shoulders.

Cam Smith and the Storm are 500 metres down the road, and their worst tackler is better than most AFL players. How much of a competitive advantage would it be to get them come teach us how its done? Seems to work for the Swans and GWS.

the second a coach leaves a FF at home and he kicks a bag, it will all change

i reckon that was the sleight of hand that made 'fast Port' in 2014. They just left Wingard or Sarge Shulz at home so they could break with speed, confident that they had someone to kick to. Seems obvious, huh, and yet game after game, you'll see 36 players in one half of the ground.

disagree, this is old style footy or a set up after a ball up or throw in close to 50.

the modern game sees all forwards pushing up the ground, the HFF are now extra mids that are up the ground who link, run and carry the ball inside 50.

from stoppages yes you may get a setup like this and basic front and center rules apply but as more and more game time is played on rebound, open slingshot footy the old crumbling position is being limited.

this is why foot speed, athleticism and footskills are so important today, you slingshot and you score or else it's going back down the other end..... basketball by foot

yep, old school back in the days when teams kicked massive scores, the game was open and teams with dominant key forwards won flags.

We have a dominant key forward who kicks bags of goals, yet we expect him to play this type of game where he is preferred to take marks on the wing rather than inside the forward 50. We also don't have players (rioli the exception) who's only job is to crumb packs and kick goals. (chasing defenders is a given for all) even lloyd doesnt seem to be playing that role too much anymore.
you may say that thats not the modern game, but good coaches innovate new game styles, and sometimes, just sometimes, playing old school is innovative enough to do the job.

plus, having players play deeper, means that defenders cannot push so far up the field.

So many of our elite players natural instincts to dominate games have been coached out. They have been re-programmed to play our present uninspiring style
So so so sad. But so true

If this is true about the 13 final it doesn't surprise me, I've said it before that game spooked him. He lost it then never recovered.
L
Also tells he he doesn't trust the group as much as he tells us, otherwise he would encourage to take risks.
I thought it was bc he was too young and he wasn't ready and he was just guessing.
That is a tired excuse bc he reverted back in 2014 in the 9 straight victories
I heard DH loves the nfl shit and I reckon he built his game plan from watching that garbage. Just a theory.
He even uses yank talk when discussing our games.

I thought it was bc he was too young and he wasn't ready and he was just guessing.
That is a tired excuse bc he reverted back in 2014 in the 9 straight victories
I heard DH loves the nfl shit and I reckon he built his game plan from watching that garbage. Just a theory.
He even uses yank talk when discussing our games.

More like built his game plan from watching women's water polo.

Bunch of weaklings flailing their arms about, passing backwards and moving at 2 k's an hour.

Well hopefully he won't be coaching next year, sure he will still be the coach but unlike this year the muppet won't be supported by fellow muppets and he can still hold the whiteboard and sit in the front chair in the coaches box whilst Caracalla and balme make the decisions.

Brett, the Dogs tackled very, very well. Every time the Weagles got the ball, they had a Dog within 10 metres running straight at them. Not waving arms to corral. Running straight at them with a shoulder dropped. You should see the footage of Darling shitting bricks when no opponent is near him.

Strong, aggressive tackling is the finals weapon for 2016, imo
It always has been, not sure why we think we can win a final by running around waving our arms, you hit them hard and make it hurt, that's the way Tommy Hafey taught our great teams of the past to play, I see no reason it wont work these days.

Only way, and ONLY way I can stomach Hardwick as coach next year is to have Matty Knights as one of the assistants ...If Hardwick fails next year then Matty has had 1 year with the boys and with his past experience it will be a smooth transition, and one that most Richmond supporters will give the OK to!!

MAKE THIS HAPPEN BALME & GALE!!!! Be smart, recruit the assistant coach that will help us

Have no faith in Peggy, has no idea!

Dogs against Hawks tonight is a good argument for a change in game plan. Run and gun is one thing but so is their tackling and pressure at the contest.

We got within 10 points against the Dogs earlier this year when we played a much faster system. We made plenty of errors but we looked a whole lot better.

Hawks simply weren't quick enough and couldn't win enough of their own ball from the stoppages. Probably don't get as hungry when you've won 3 on the trot.

I was kinda happy with how we played through 2012-3, but have seriously hated our footy ever since. Stodgy, boring, wimpy footy with an attempt at being too smart, and removing emotion. All process, no heart.

Even though I was fairly buoyed by those two years 4-5 years ago, I have never seen our team play like the Dogs have the last two weeks. They play with dare, with confidence, they're ferocious at the ball and the man, they take risks and play for each other. They are everything I've been wanting to see, but haven't.

We've had some pretty good wins over the journey, but watching the Dogs makes me truly aware of just how far off our current brainstrust have missed the mark.

Hardwick is a massive flop, and no matter the cost, as soon as you know a coach is wrong for you, he should go.

I was kinda happy with how we played through 2012-3, but have seriously hated our footy ever since. Stodgy, boring, wimpy footy with an attempt at being too smart, and removing emotion. All process, no heart.

Even though I was fairly buoyed by those two years 4-5 years ago, I have never seen our team play like the Dogs have the last two weeks. They play with dare, with confidence, they're ferocious at the ball and the man, they take risks and play for each other. They are everything I've been wanting to see, but haven't.

We've had some pretty good wins over the journey, but watching the Dogs makes me truly aware of just how far off our current brainstrust have missed the mark.

Hardwick is a massive flop, and no matter the cost, as soon as you know a coach is wrong for you, he should go.

Oh yeah, just a sneaky additional mention of the injuries, even though it's not gameplan related. Dogs have had way more than us, they just forge on. Our couple are strung up for all to see as badges of honour. Excuses! Excuses!

We even blamed the absence of a player who'd never played for us before (Yarran). How can you get worse by not having a player you never had before?

Bring me a Beverage!

So it gets worse. Went to the the local grandfinal today, gfl, good league. Both side played modern footy, tackle, press run. One handball and kick in the back line. Great game to watch and just made me sad about our game plan.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Hmmm so we have made a long term recruiter a consultant (redundant).
We have brought it a football Footy Manager who will be above DH.
We have shifted discount Dan to concentrate on something else (redundant).
Rumours are that we will could get Caracella, Knights, Montgomery, all who would be a better coach than DH.
So pretty much DH will probably be (redundant) next year if he survives that long.
Fantastic!!! Best news I heard in 7 years.
And when he finally gets the flick, half the board will be in mourning lol

Watching the dogs tonight, and GWS last week. It's like watching a different sporting code. It's exciting to watch. We beat them both by 12 goals in 2013.
2013... That's when by his own admittance, DH said he had no clue...so it seems that phase was due to our players playing on instinct rather than DHs game plan

The GWS side in 2013 can't be compared to now. They would beat their own team by a dozen goals even without the addition of some of their senior players ...
The dogs development has been off the back of very good drafting and development.