Game Thread - The Western Derby

• Thread starter Thread starter lewigie

who of McGinity, EMac, Schofold, S. Sellwood, Ebert, Masten, etc are better than C grade?

The question is how long has decision making been impacted? This is not a charity event - it is competative and we have not contested well in our recruiting. All the above a fit a common style of play and selection , slow, not highly skilled or athletic, no agression and no X factor. Just plodders.

That the club is looking nationally for a list manager is not without time.

Ebert and Schofield are the rest are boardline list cloggers.

who of McGinity, EMac, Schofold, S. Sellwood, Ebert, Masten, etc are better than C grade?

The question is how long has decision making been impacted? This is not a charity event - it is competative and we have not contested well in our recruiting. All the above a fit a common style of play and selection , slow, not highly skilled or athletic, no agression and no X factor. Just plodders.

That the club is looking nationally for a list manager is not without time.

Parkinsons doesn't affect your ability make decisions. Perhaps medication taken to combat its symptoms does, but I cant say for sure.

Either way, I think you're out of line saying this about the bloke.

There were other positives to come out of the game.

The frenchman
Priddis works hard - some of his disposal was excellent
Shep improved
Rosa was serviceable and worked as you would expect
Strijk growing
Nic had a crack at times
Swift was better than I expected given his WAFL form. Looks more settled
Kennedy actually worked with little impact
Beginning of the year everyone in the footballing world perceived the Eagles to have the cattle to develop into a good enough team to challenge for a premiership in the distant future (ie. Woosha's plan). The rate we're going this is very, very unlikely. There are a handful of youngsters to be excited about, but you must realise that every team has this, it's not like we're the only team with some talented guys with potential.

We were supposed to make finals this year. Now attempting to stave off a wooden spoon. The club is at it's lowest ebb right now. 3 years of this is unacceptable.

Strijk will be a very good player as will Hams who was very good in the weeks leading up to this week and was sorely missed today. Only a matter of time in this system before the coaching staff try and find a way to 'develop' them the same way they have to Masten. Many players on our list have gone backwards in development, the coaching staff fail to admit their faults, both on gameday, selection wise and in a development and recruiting sense. Post game the dribble they come out with is astounding. It makes you think they are seriously deluded at times.

The fact this side has such a strong reliance on a guy like Hurn and then little or no backup plan when he's not in the side is embarrassing. Couldn't imagine where goals would come from without Lecras in the team for a long period of time. If I was him I would be requesting a trade.

This club is being run into the ground, and as I said until changes are made I wont be following them.

In the face of yet another deplorable performance Worsfold MUST go - but not yet, finish the season and then dump him.

The last thing we want to do is end up having one of the assistants as caretaker to see out the season when three of the last four games are quite winnable.

Say we achieve that and miss the spoon. The board during the post-season unsuccessfully canvass Roos, Matthews and Malthouse for the head coach role and come to the decision that after turning the club's fortunes around to avoid the spoon by winning three of his four games in charge with the only loss being to Geelong away that Peter Sumich is the best option to take club forward in 2011... :eek:

At least if Worsfold is there and gets those three wins and avoids the spoon he can still be sacked because he hasn't delivered upon the expectations that he has set which was playing finals football. At least that way it precludes any chance of a current assistant being appointed head coach and making the exact same mistakes that the Worsfold regime currently is.

Parkinsons doesn't affect your ability make decisions. Perhaps medication taken to combat its symptoms does, but I cant say for sure.

Either way, I think you're out of line saying this about the bloke.

It was on the club web site - or in the news paper. Thats all I know about it.

You suspect medication.

DOCKERS DEMOLISH PATHETIC EAGLES!!

Its official...the eastern press are calling us pathetic...

we have watched this self imploding bad comedy routine for 3 years now, and where are the skills?..WHERE ARE THE SKILLS? it is incredibly strange and embarrassing to watch skills slowly disappear,or regress,as the team moves on..WTF is going on??
can handle the losses etc..but not the disgusting lack of skills..these players at this level should be able to spot up a team mate and kick a ball to them,let alone have a modicum of footy smarts...theyve become the bermuda triangle of the AFL..sucked into the whirling woosha vortex of press spin and cliches of cyclonic strength...and the players all recite wooshas mantra like parrots..like a mass club indoctrination..i know weve got some youngsters coming thru (the s-crew) but so does every team..
its like in a comp of 16 teams we play like,and deserve to be 20th?

how does all this rabble improve by next season-with our older talent(?) getting older...i know,a year or two is along time in footy...but really -
WTF is going on???..........................absolutely nothing?

(what genuinely disturbs me is how the team talks themselves up in the press,as though they really believe-and expect us to believe-that they gonna give it a good crack,and rattle the cage,,and its nearly always the same drivel or result,,)........

Reckon we should cut the defenders a bit of slack. Freo had 62 inside 50s and 36 scoring shots. According to the stats, Schofield had 11 1-percenters. MacKenzie had 6 and Brown had 5. Basically, they were doing their best trying to stop an avalanche.

Defenders are bound to look stupid under those circumstances.

I'd rather judge him as the plodder he is.

Well you can do that, but at the ground he and LeCras were clearly our best. His disposal was a great deal better than his team mates. To target him today is just ridiculous - would have been 100+ belting without him.

Jones tried his guts out down back, was tough to watch a guy in a late call-up putting in so much more than a lot of his team mates. He actually gives a sh*t - they're the players I want in the team for the rest of the year.

Masten jogged from contest to contest, he doesn't have the fitness or heart for the midfield at present and should see out the year in the WAFL. Show some ticker kid.

Well you can do that, but at the ground he and LeCras were clearly our best. His disposal was a great deal better than his team mates. To target him today is just ridiculous - would have been 100+ belting without him.

Like I said earlier: worst defense of a player ever.

Dean Cox has fallen so far behind Sandilands in terms of Ruckwork and work around the ground it's just pathetic. Maybe he should stop sprouting crap in the media and stick to working harder on his game.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahha.

Agreed. Priddis's high posessions are worthless. Considering Fremantle destroyed the midfield. He's not damaging at all. No impact on the game. This is the problem when our midfield is built around a plodder

I question the intent of the following players.

Lecras
Brown
Stevenson
Masten
Ebert
Cox
Embley
Lynch

I'll start with Lecras, he a fantastic finisher, a class ball user and the only player close to being elite. However, he does not work hard the other way, it looks as though he has excused himself from doing the hard stuff the other way simply because he's the chief goal scorer.

There was a particular passage today where Critchon started a passage of play, handballed over Lecras and ran on, now Lecras had two options, to attack the new ball carrier or run with Crichton to cut off his run, he did neither, Critchon got the ball back and had a paddock in front of him, he carried the ball and then drilled it onto Pavs chest.

That's pathetic. Whether you are the first pick or last, thats taking short cuts.

Brown is slow, he pulls up to contests, as best illustrated in the Deboer contest which resulted in a Bollenhagen goal. I know he's young but when it's your turn to go, you go. He took the soft option.

Stevenson was very vanilla, outside, didnt want to put his body on the line and seemed a little unerved by the extra physical pressure, his disposal was off.

Masten has fallen off a cliff. He looks slow, doesnt work hard enough, was he injured, honestly doesnt look AFL standard at the moment.

I think the game has passed Cox, he seems too slow, always whinges at the contest and has lost that run and carry that defined him. Would never have thought I'd be offering this as a suggestion, move him on. Past it, not apart of your future and he looks like he doesnt care.

Embley is all elbows and knees, and shit handballs at his teammates feet. What a dog this bloke his, just wanted to go the biff, went at Mundy twice with knees and Elbows, loved Mundy's response, had the binocs on him, "over the hill"

Lynch is a ****ing crab.

Sorry, but unless there are some drastic changes, a cull similar to Freo a season or two ago it's going to be a very bleak era for West Coast.

Lecras
Brown
Stevenson
Masten
Ebert
Cox
Embley
Lynch

I'll start with Lecras, he a fantastic finisher, a class ball user and the only player close to being elite. However, he does not work hard the other way, it looks as though he has excused himself from doing the hard stuff the other way simply because he's the chief goal scorer.

There was a particular passage today where Critchon started a passage of play, handballed over Lecras and ran on, now Lecras had two options, to attack the new ball carrier or run with Crichton to cut off his run, he did neither, Critchon got the ball back and had a paddock in front of him, he carried the ball and then drilled it onto Pavs chest.

That's pathetic. Whether you are the first pick or last, thats taking short cuts.

Brown is slow, he pulls up to contests, as best illustrated in the Deboer contest which resulted in a Bollenhagen goal. I know he's young but when it's your turn to go, you go. He took the soft option.

Stevenson was very vanilla, outside, didnt want to put his body on the line and seemed a little unerved by the extra physical pressure, his disposal was off.

Masten has fallen off a cliff. He looks slow, doesnt work hard enough, was he injured, honestly doesnt look AFL standard at the moment.

I think the game has passed Cox, he seems too slow, always whinges at the contest and has lost that run and carry that defined him. Would never have thought I'd be offering this as a suggestion, move him on. Past it, not apart of your future and he looks like he doesnt care.

Embley is all elbows and knees, and shit handballs at his teammates feet. What a dog this bloke his, just wanted to go the biff, went at Mundy twice with knees and Elbows, loved Mundy's response, had the binocs on him, "over the hill"

Lynch is a ****ing crab.

Sorry, but unless there are some drastic changes, a cull similar to Freo a season or two ago it's going to be a very bleak era for West Coast.
I didn't see todays game. Thank ****!:thumbsu:
A lot of this I have seen all year. Good post.
I disagree with Ebert. He has a crack and tries. He doesn't mind the rough stuff either. Doesn't shirk a contest.
My 2c

Lecras
Brown
Stevenson
Masten
Ebert
Cox
Embley
Lynch

Lynch is a ****ing crab.

Going to be? Going to be?

You watched the last 3 years???

Epic shitness has been here for 3 reasons, with no clear sign of it abating.

Our midfield was simply waltzed, around, through and over all day. You again set up at various stages with everyone in attack mode - because we cant hurt anyone .... we have to build a midfield that can hurt teams. Thats priority one. So far we are either the worst talent evaluators ever, the worst junior developers ever OR we have coaches who dont know what it takes to build an AFL midfield in 2010. The worry, is it might be all 3.

Mitch Brown is ok as an attacking defender. Lecca is no worse defensively than, say, Steve Johnson (its an issue but not a major one).

The issues with our side are the crabs and the midfield - and they arent necessarily unrelated concepts.

I said we should trade Cox from about Round 3....

I wanted to give Cox the benefit of the doubt, because he's been a champion for so long.

Your midfield is really bad, I actually thought you might have an advantage today in close with some bigger bodies, but Mundy, Deboer and Broughton really took that part of the game over completely.

From there, you're right, it was a cake walk. Hill, Mora, Fyfe and Suban ran rings around the plodders.

Bad time to bomb out.

WE were playing a top 4 team at home , plus West Coast we are last ... so the result was expected , lets move on I think we have a chance to beat Brissy and go to 15th for a while hopefully !

I wanted to give Cox the benefit of the doubt, because he's been a champion for so long.

Your midfield is really bad, I actually thought you might have an advantage today in close with some bigger bodies, but Mundy, Deboer and Broughton really took that part of the game over completely.

From there, you're right, it was a cake walk. Hill, Mora, Fyfe and Suban ran rings around the plodders.

Bad time to bomb out.

Most of your thoughts have been very accurate :thumbsu:

Cox was disgusting from what I saw today. Used to have more heart than any of our side back in 2003-6 but he is a sad shell of his former self. Ship him to the GC

Masten is the biggest concern. Rates himself far too highly and doesn't have the workrate or the ability to back it up

Embley has been ok the last few weeks but was shocking today, needs to go. The less said about Lynch the better

LeCras doesn't work hard enough defensively, spot on

Stevenson is soft-ish but his skills are among the best 5 or so in the side

The result wouldn't have been any different, but the margin would've been drastically less if Hurn and Hams had played. We are absolutely lost without both of them at their respective ends of the ground

Dean Cox has fallen so far behind Sandilands in terms of Ruckwork and work around the ground it's just pathetic. Maybe he should stop sprouting crap in the media and stick to working harder on his game.

i am of the opinion that his foot is still not right. He no longer leaves the ground in the ruck contest. He just stands and reaches hence why he gets jumped all over.

or alternatively he just doesn't care which i doubt

i support a team that is full of hacks and plodders.

but lecras is better than anyone on freo's list.

facts.