Gameday thread Saints VS Freo

• Thread starter Thread starter Seppo

All I have to say is....

Brett Peake is a C***, and I'm glad he's as mediocre in Victoria as he was here. My sadness at our 4th quarter capitulation is well and truly overshadowed by the fact that he contributed nothing to the game except handing his own ass on a platter to any Freo player who was on him.

You may have shaved your head, you may have moved to a more enlightened city, but you're still a hopeless ******* Brett.

That is just crap. I've only seen the first half but Pav is playing really well.

This.

Only seen the first half, but Pav was working hard, just as we'd expect our Captain to. We are not a one man team, and shouldn't blame him exclusively for a loss.

The VAST majority of BF Freo fans, myself included, thought we'd get spanked from Q1. I'm not too happy that we let them get away in the 4th, but the way we came back in Q2 and held it right the way through was a sign of some grit.

Yes, it's a loss. Yes, a loss is bad this time of year. But the loss isn't as nearly as bad as the majority of us thought it would be. Let's not get carried away eh?

I could go on but there's no point. Some people make no allowance & give us no credit.

If you feel the need to give this team credit, for once again coughing up a 7 goal turnaround, knock yourself out.

I want to play finals footy on a consistent basis.

yeah, unrealistic selfish prick i know :rolleyes:

Atleast we have a few positives to come out of this game (Clarke will be a gun with Sandi next week), even though we've dug ourselves into a serious hole if we want to make finals (we could stay in the 8 this week if Norf and Essendon lose), after our 2nd quarter I'm surprisingly positive that we will make finals.

If you feel the need to give this team credit, for once again coughing up a 7 goal turnaround, knock yourself out.

I want to play finals footy on a consistent basis.

yeah, unrealistic selfish prick i know :rolleyes:

But saying it won't make it so. And there were positives to take out of that performance. The emergence of Clarke, Mzungu, Ibbotson played a good one, Barlow continues his comeback.
It wasn't a spineless Freo capitulation, we fought hard in the middle of the game and ran out of legs against what is a very good hard side, on their home deck in a game in which we were given no chance by anyone.
If you can't see anything positive in that, some improvement, given our injured and underdone players then you just aren't being realistic and beating your chest about it won't change anything.

Freo played a lot better than I expected. Clarke looks to have had his breakout game, confidence all over the shop since that mark. Disposals that stuck.

It's going to be incredibly difficulty winning against any team when our midfield is so poor. They don't run hard enough, aren't fast enough, or generally don't know where the ball is going to be. How many goals did saints score due to a turnover and having loose players all over the place due to lack of defensive run in the middle? 4? 5? 6? Let alone our defenders like Suban and Roberton turning the ball over due to sloppy disposal and poor decision making.

We're missing that X factor in the midfield when Hill is so out of form like he is now. He's being outrun by Clint Jones ffs, Clint Jones....

Boys turned up to play and play they did!

The one thing that the Saints did well and did all night was spread from stoppages. We just did not do a good enough job staying with opposition players from free kicks or marks.

Scoreline does not reflect the game

A lot of players are playing their guts out but cant keep doing it.

Doesnt help though when St Kilda don't handpass in the last quarter... Saw a passage of play that had three throws in 10 seconds.

Saints fans noticed it as well. Very poor umpiring.

Sorry guys I just can't help it. Just watching it on TV here. I went into this game with amazingly low expectations. I just hate it when Freo tease you, make you think they are in with a chance. Then throw in the towel in the last as we have experience too many times. I am sick of excuses, I can't handle them. Why can't we just keep up the effort for FOUR quarters. That's what the best do. I am so dissapointed, to lose by 41 points. I am flatly devastated. Just so amazingly devastated.

Finals spot is still there for us to take.Carlton next week (We always seem to be able to beat them), North (If they lose this week they will put the cue in the rack for the rest of the season), Collingwood (AHHH, maybe they will do a Geelong and rest players) and Footscray (Hopefully same boat as North). Have Sandy and Mundy available for 2 or three of those games . Maybe it's just wishful thinking. Percentage is going to bite us in the arse.

Sorry guys I just can't help it. Just watching it on TV here. I went into this game with amazingly low expectations. I just hate it when Freo tease you, make you think they are in with a chance. Then throw in the towel in the last as we have experience too many times. I am sick of excuses, I can't handle them. Why can't we just keep up the effort for FOUR quarters. That's what the best do. I am so dissapointed, to lose by 41 points. I am flatly devastated. Just so amazingly devastated.

It's pretty simple really. We're not the best. I have no idea why some people here think we are, or are even close to it. We don't have our best team on the park, and even if we did we wouldn't be a top 4 side. Our list is young and still learning how tough the game is.

We will be a better side in the future, but right now our ladder position probably flatters us. Be realistic people.

But saying it won't make it so. And there were positives to take out of that performance. The emergence of Clarke, Mzungu, Ibbotson played a good one, Barlow continues his comeback.
It wasn't a spineless Freo capitulation, we fought hard in the middle of the game and ran out of legs against what is a very good hard side, on their home deck in a game in which we were given no chance by anyone.
If you can't see anything positive in that, some improvement, given our injured and underdone players then you just aren't being realistic and beating your chest about it won't change anything.
Agree with this post.

great effort from most tonight. but duffield has been terrible for 6 weeks. has to be dropped. we dont have a young side, alot of mature age recruits. not enough natural ball winners or users... to be honest dont think we have the cattle for a premiership. sorry to be negitive but we need massive changes to our squad, with more effort put into the the younger players in the draft this year..

Bloody disappointing last quarter. Thats the last Freo game I get to see live for probably a few years as we are moving over to Europe in a few weeks. I guess it was a fairly typical Freo performance though. Particularly the lay down sally in the last quarter.

Our structures around the stoppages are terrible and allow St Kilda to spread so quickly and easily.

We have some new deadwood in our team. Duffield ain't a defender. Gets outbodied so easily and so often misreads the flight of the ball. The only reason he has been there previously is because of the run he offered out of defence. Haven't seen that for ages so he should be dropped IMO as he offers little else.

Johnson did just enough good things for the selection committee to give him another gig.

Robbo was horrible. Hinkley ditto. Hard to know whats going through their head sometimes when they don't even see open players and kick to a Freo player under the gun or just handball to a Saints player.

I'm really disappointed that Michie is injured. In his last few games for Peel he had dominant first halves, before his foot stopped him dead in the second halves. Good ball user/decision maker, he would definitely be in ahead of Roberton/Hinkley and we would probably be high fiving a great new recruit.

Also stating the obvious, but we so desperately need a small lockdown defender to play on nippy opposition small forwards. Yet again Milne got free and kicks goals against us. Surjan maybe - free in the PSD?

Ok fine. Saints are rubbish,we have a full squad, everyone if whom is in tip top condition, we should have won, no excuses, it's all Johnsons fault, Hill is rubbish & a waste of pick 3. Have I covered it all?

Carry on lay waste to our whole club, culture, coaching. We deserve it etc etc
Understand where you're coming from here, but..
The saints are a good team, yes, but there are lots of good teams in the AFL. You even rate the Kangaroos from memory.
We don't have a full team, correct, but no one does. The Saints best midfielder wasn't out there. Brett Peake is getting a game for god's sake.
I agree it is largely Johnson's fault!

The whole game was badly umpired. In the second and third quarters Fremantle got some questionable decisions as did Saints but Fremantle had more. Tell me how Milne didn't get a free in front of goal ? How Pavlich didn't get called for deliberate. Mulitple HTB decisons being called or not called for both sides. For ever shit call Dockers had it seemed Dockers would get a few more to their advantage after.

How about we just leave it at this so your board doesn't get filled up with an argument that will never get solved ? Reply to me if you wish mate but I'll leave it at that.

ok, you think that freo got the rub of the green. i don't. i thought that a lot of 50/50s went the saints way, but i'm prepared to say that i have very purple glasses on. but i really don't think that freo were advantaged, and i don't think that your borderline trollish comment that freo were kept in the game only cos of umpiring decisions is at all accurate. you ARE right that it was poorly umpired, but with no advantage. or just umpired the way umpiring is done = poorly.

but freo was in the game for those two quarters because they actually played some tough footy. and when we stopped, (and the saints guns really got their mojo going too!) we got thrashed. not at all to do with the umpires 'keeping them in the game' - the initial comment in dispute.

and as for your examples, the deliberate call is always a 50/50. there was one they could have payed against blake earlier that they didn't. no worries. and as for milne. he threw himself forward to exaggerate contact (that was there) but i don't think umpires like being manipulated when its that obvious. if you were goign to throw an example up of a soft call freo's way, what about the mayne throwing his head into the play to get the fifty. but that just made a mostly sure kick from ibbo a certain goal.

just can't agree that freo were kept in it by the umpires. but i guess we won't agree, so yep, lets just drop it.

Thought the umpiring was pretty shoddy both ways but not enough to fully impact the game.

I thought the umpiring was average for three quarters but to both sides and we certainly didn't get disadvantaged in any way.

But in the last quarter like everything in the game, the momentum swung and the umps followed it and we got shafted.

Just watching the game back. We played some brilliant football in the 2nd and 3rd quarters. We played some very exciting, tough, hard team footy. Which is what I want to see, even in the first quarter, we tried to break the lines but our skills let us down. In the last quarter I pretty much think the boys where out of gas, coming off two 6 day breaks in a row. Playing at Etihad, probably all a bit too much. In hindsight it was a game where we showed we CAN match it with the best, but whether we can SUSTAIN it is another question. I am so pumped for next weeks game it isn't funny, season on the line stuff! You have to love it!