Gardening Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gough

Kids have been asking me for a Fairy Garden for years so I finally did it. The poles are to put fairy houses on but I might add some wood to the top and grow some tomatoes or something. I really only did the poles as a test run as I have never used cement before and I need to put up monkey bars for the kids. Figured it would be better to learn whilst doing this than something that needs to be reasonably accurate. I originally put mulch in but decided it wouldn't work with the fairy garden so took it back out. Other side without the poles will grow some kind of fruit of veg too hopefully.

That's going to be cute! See if you can get the kids to help you.

Moved into our new house a couple of months ago, the front 'lawn' is fake grass. I hate fake grass. Looking under it, its got compacted rock under it. Anyone know how deep this runs? CBF'd doing anything atm but will eventually remove it and put soil/grass but wondering how much work im in for.

luckily its a pretty small area (probably 4mx4m) but still a pain in the ass.

Moved into our new house a couple of months ago, the front 'lawn' is fake grass. I hate fake grass. Looking under it, its got compacted rock under it. Anyone know how deep this runs? CBF'd doing anything atm but will eventually remove it and put soil/grass but wondering how much work im in for.

That should be fairly easy, I turfed part of my backyard a few years ago. The prep took a bit of time but it's not exactly rocket science. YouTube is a good port of call for instruction.

Sounds like heaven 😀. You’re in for back-breaking work to replace it, then a lifetime maintaining it, instead of using the time for more enjoyable activities. Pretty the lawn up with plants in tubs, garden furniture etc. my brother has fake grass (small area admittedly) and has never been happier.

i was going to do it the other day but then thought 'cbf'd, doesnt look to bad'. I reckon ill get around to it eventually. I just prefer grass.

That should be fairly easy, I turfed part of my backyard a few years ago. The prep took a bit of time but it's not exactly rocket science. YouTube is a good port of call for instruction.

i just redid a 3x3m of the backyard which the old owner had it gravelled. Removed the rock/gravel, put in the soil and sowed the seed. Been nice waking up to more and more green shoots every morning. Plan was to do the front at the same time but i have to move a heap of river rocks and then saw the compacted rock and thought 'another day'

Looks like you prefer to mow the lawn and then complain about getting hayfever.
It makes me wonder if the person in the house before you found it too difficult to mow the lawns?

Looks like you prefer to mow the lawn and then complain about getting hayfever.
It makes me wonder if the person in the house before you found it too difficult to mow the lawns?

Yeah i dont mind mowing the lawn, it would be a 10min job in reality. The guy we bought from was a landscape gardener and did it all before he put it on the market.....

you can tell he was using left over materials from jobs with the different grasses/rocks/gravel etc he used.

I grow garlic, its pretty easy get them in early April.
I don't have any luck growing garlic and everybody tells me how easy they are to grow. Never end up having a bulb at the end.

They need well drained soil, they don't like it too wet.

The best soil for growing seed garlic is sandy loam that is well-drained. If you your soil is clay and tends to have drainage problems, you can plant in raised rows, raised beds (at least 12 inches deep) or even large pots. It is best to get your soil amended with compost and fertilizer before planting.

Not sure if it's comparable but I planted a tree in my verge and it was 6-8 inches of compacted blue metal to get down to soil. And it's WA so by soil I mean sand.

I recommend that you create a natural water feature. I created an all-natural, low-maintenance aquatic habitat with the best water features. Everyone loved it.

Ordered myself a pink lemon tree the other day. Hopefully will produce some delicious lemons for lemonade.

_2941.jpg

Planted some broccoli cauliflower and cabbage last week. Also planted some parsley and some ******* has already been eating it, campaigners
I don't bother with that stuff like broccoli because bugs love getting into them. Although cabbage from memory they only eat the outer leaves and don't really touch the hearts that you eat at all. I mainly was just growing it for chook food.

My mate chucked some in my patch last year and after growing really well at the start they died off with only tiny bulb but he said they were planted too late. We noticed some old ones re shooting recently and replanted them, now is supposed to be around the right time so see what happens.

Good luck hope it works.

I am also trying again and was told April is the month to plant so I did.

Good luck hope it works.

I am also trying again and was told April is the month to plant so I did.
I think he also said something about don't put a fertiliser with maybe nitrogen? on them because it grows the leaves too much and not the bulbs.

Before planting this year I put new soil in all the beds, mixed with mushroom compost because I don't have enough space to rotate some of the vegies I plant for summer. One half of the beds gets more sunshine so I always plant my tomatoes in that area.

I have the most stuff in the backyard patch years.. tomatoes small and big, beetroot, silverbeat, snow peas, garlic and strawberries.

Plus 2 wine barrels out the front full of my own compost for the first time that I put more strawberries in the other day, if the don't grow well in that they wont in anything.

Beetroot is one of the best things to grow but tends to be hit and miss, again might be down to seasonal timing.

Garden is looking great. Broccoli, lettuce, sweet peas, spring onions, garlic coming up and spinach.

Came across this, doesn't look too bad if one doesn't have a lot of space.

Trimmed back the front hedge with the whipper snipper this arvo. Shit was flying everywhere.