Gardening Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gough

Yesterday haul .

Spit rock catus X 2.
This 15$ plant can't remember the name ,,,looked closer it had 2'plants in it...winning .
Pig face.

4 X marked catus .
A pink,red succulent.
Some pots.

And hanging plant....
Do you mean cactus?

Got a new shredder for fathers day and have been mulching up a storm on my property. It's slow work but the mulch is a really good size and saves me having to dump green waste. My paper daisies are flowering like crazy so have been collecting all their seed so i can grow even more next year.

Had 5 cocos palms removed this morning. They were mega high and we were sick of fronds and berries dropping. Funny thing is, from our back door we don't even notice they're gone. The trunks were thin and the heads were high up out of sight from under our verandah.

Had 5 cocos palms removed this morning. They were mega high and we were sick of fronds and berries dropping. Funny thing is, from our back door we don't even notice they're gone. The trunks were think and the heads were high up out of sight from under our verandah.

We put in 5 Coco palms about 2 years back .

Then one of the Neighbours took theirs out ..

Went out to a friend's place .
Got heaps and heaps of cuttings some with roots .
Quiet a few cactus 🌵🌵 aswell.

Got no idea where all these are going ...
Going to have to think and come up with a plan of attack.

Mrs rocky dad been stealing cuttings of me .
I've been giving him cactus pups ..

Went out to a friend's place .
Got heaps and heaps of cuttings some with roots .
Quiet a few cactus 🌵🌵 aswell.

Got no idea where all these are going ...
Going to have to think and come up with a plan of attack.

Mrs rocky dad been stealing cuttings of me .
I've been giving him cactus pups ..
cuttings are soo good, free plants. My wife took a heap of cuttings of a plant we grew at work that is notoriously difficult to strike. We might get a 5 % strike rate. My wife has managed to get almost 50% to strike hahahaha and she is normally a plant killer

LoL that's funny.:roflv1:

I've got 2'boxes of cuttings.

I couldn't sleep wanted to watch telly abit longer ...but Mrs wanted to sleep..zzz.
Got up grabbed a pen and pad drew up a plan.
New garden bed ..ext another.
Will need sleepers ... gravel and soil.
Got old sink I can put some plants in aswell.

Little bit of work involved..

Spent a good few hours in the garden ...
Planted a fair amount of cuttings some in new garden bed some in pots .

Made a shelf on my side of the fence to hold more plants from old bits of wood 🪓.

Still got a few to go.
Ment leave cactus to dry out before re-potting ..
Never had a problem doing early tho.

Anyone ever tried one of these chainsaw electric drill attachments. I was going to just buy a Makita electric chainsaw skin then I saw these , for only $15 it’s might be worth a try. I want to use it for pruning where the branches are too thick for my pruner.

No sorry .

I am keen on those whipper snipper attachments so you don't need to change cord all the time .
Don't know if Bunnings sell them tho.

We go camping quite a bit and an electric chainsaw struggles quite a bit unless it's really thin wood. I doubt that drill attachment would do much more than cut through a pencil.

The neighbours cut back their bush tree thing hanging over the fence with one of those.
The branches where less than 4 or 5 inches thick if that.

I put in a 🐷 pig face in the garden few months back .
Already cut him back twice very quick growing and been very bossy wants to take over the place.

I put him in a spot where I couldn't get anything to grow ...full sun .
Where plants before couldn't hack the rays ☀️.
Looks like I'll have to keep chopping him back .

I put in a 🐷 pig face in the garden few months back .
Already cut him back twice very quick growing and been very bossy wants to take over the place.

I put him in a spot where I couldn't get anything to grow ...full sun .
Where plants before couldn't hack the rays ☀️.
Looks like I'll have to keep chopping him back .
If it’s the oz native pigface you can use the leaves and fruits as food

Not sure.
I brought 2 one yellow flower one .That's the bossy one .
And a purple one that's in the half wine barrel he's going ok ...but the yellow one Is a monster.
I got another one I got for free ...purple aswell.

I had no idea this piggy would take off ...

Not sure.
And a purple one that's in the half wine barrel he's going ok ...but the yellow one Is a monster.

Yellow is a non native, purple could be a native.

Not sure.

If they look like this they're the native ones.

191218-pigface.jpg

Leaves that are about 5-6cms long and fairly thick. Tough as nails these things.

If they look like this they're the native ones.

191218-pigface.jpg

Leaves that are about 5-6cms long and fairly thick. Tough as nails these things.

The yellow ones have bigger flowers .Mine does.

I have a few different pig faces .some native some not, I would guess.