Gary Ablett.....

• Thread starter Thread starter SirJimi05

Who's better then?

Selwood is a better midfielder for starters.

Could someone please explain the Brownlow thing to me? How does getting so called cheap possesions help?

I thought he was BOG last night.

You don't think umpires refer to the stats before lodging their votes?

Just about everytime he disposed of the ball out of defence it led to a goal for Geelong, or atleast a scoring oppurtunity.

He had 2 goal contributions for the night according to the official stats. He also had 2 goal assists but these were obviously from forward of centre. So basically all of his stat whoring in defence resulted in 2 goals. A fairly low conversion rate given the amount of possies he had.

Didak and Davis are your most important forwards.

Which is a sad indictment on Cloke and Anthony. How do you reckon those two are going to go in the finals?

Silly comment. The Pies don't rely on 1 or 2 forwards. They have a plethora of good forwards to share the load.

FWIW, Ablett is second for contested possessions - 5 behind Judd, although Ablett has played 3 less games...

Code:
[B]CONTESTED POSSESSIONS[/B]
[U][B]player 		team 	total[/B][/U]
Judd, Chris 	CARL 	218
Ablett, Gary 	GFC 	213
Swan, Dane 	COLL 	212
Selwood, Joel 	GFC 	202
Tuck, Shane 	RICH 	187
Watson, Jobe 	ESS 	184
http://superstats.heraldsun.com.au/leaders/contested-poss.html

sums up the whole argument for me.

Although id still rather Judd over him, thats not to say he is a superstar and will be a legend of the game when his career ends

Who's better then?

Give me Bartel anyday mate.

Gazza's 50 posessions (49 dinky 'run round the back of the guy on the mark' handball's do nothing for me.

In rd 14 in 3rd against us it was 2 players who got Geelong going:

Bartel, Chapman.

Overhead Bartel is super.

BTW I actually think Ablett looked his best Id seen in weeks up fwd against Sydney - very dangerous.

Didak and Davis are your most important forwards.

Which is a sad indictment on Cloke and Anthony. How do you reckon those two are going to go in the finals?
Cloke's history in finals is excellent, he was probably BOG against Geelong in the 2007 PF as an example.

Him being sick in the 08 finals hurt us big time against the Sainters

Watching Friday's game it's not hard to see why Ablett gets the ball so often - for every effective possession he does it takes to to do so.

How many times did he get a handball receive, then handball straight to a bloke standing still and then run past this guy to get the ball again.

Not saying he's not a great player but if he gets another 40 possession game, I'll know it was really only about 25 you can actually count.

I think the Brownlow will elude him again.

Just about everytime he disposed of the ball out of defence it led to a goal for Geelong, or atleast a scoring oppurtunity.

So early in the last quarter when he had the pull in the back pocket, kicked to 55 out to a 2-1 for the dogs and we got a shot that counts us creating a scoring oppurtunity...or when 70 out at throw in when he got the ball, nearly charged into one of our players so stopped and fell on his butt and handballed over his head....

I like him, and i thought he was actually pretty good last night, but wasnt very damaging and kicked to quite a few iffy 50-50 contests.

LOL at thread people obviously rate him cause his threads always go along way and he has a massive effect on jealous fans..its that simple.

he's just not as effective as the media make him out to be

was for a small patch last year and a small patch at the start of this year but overall not quite

Junk possessions.

Had 2 goal assists, which is unusual for him. Apart from that, nothing.

Didn't watch again did you podgey?

This from s supporter is much closer to the truth:

But there is no denying he had a big impact on the game.

He was as good as untackleable in a game with huge defensive pressure. and his cool head was very useful for the Cats.

Re: Stats and Gazza.

He sat there with a sad, pissed off, glum look on his face for over 10 minutes. All the other guys that went close were having a laugh and looked genuinely happy for Cooney. I don't think it is more than a bit of a stretch to come to the conclusion that he is pretty keen on winning this individual award, after the evidence that was provided.

He was one of the first to get up and shake his hand. You deserved your card, pretty ordinary bloke.

We are comparing Jobe with Gary Jnr now?

Ablett gets so many possessions because he runs his arse off. His possessions are all quality, including his many handballs. Opposition know how quickly he can burn them off and put them to the sword, so he drags about three players to him and always releases into space, creating room for his teammates to run in waves.

Very little to criticise about his game.

I lold
Mark Seaby's on the market, maybe Geelong are after a ruckmen?? (oh yeah we'll throw in our first pick to sweeten the deal)

Watched the game tonight with some interest, yeah Ablett gets 40 touches most games nowadays, & he certainly doesn't have to play the inside role at Geelong with the brilliant midfield he has around him but the balance that boy has is phenomenal. He holds his ground like no other under incredible pressure.. But he is a very smart midfielder. 1-2's are useful for what he does, one, it gives him that extra step on his chasers, as when he gets the ball hes moving, almost impossible to catch him, and two, his dt score goes up. Why he had to handball quite a lot tonight in the 1-2-3's was more due to the work that the bulldogs were doing off the ball tonight, maybe rather than finding faults with a guy who was working his but off to get the ball moving /actually trying to do something, maybe credit the bulldogs for their good work?

I love the difference between the level headed, sensible posts, and the ones where people have obviously learned to hate Jr because he's good.

Comments like LOLOL I laughed when he lost the brownlow etc just show it's not about the football, and you have a hip on your shoulder.

Useless. How about kicking the football long, Gabby? His selfish football makes me happy to know he just failed in winning the Brownlow and Norm Smith

Perfect.

The issue is with the footy watching public who are becoming more and more obsessed by stats, mand use that as a measure of performance, rather than impact on the game.

The only people obsessed with stats are the ****heads on here rabbitting on about it.

He could be having the exact same impact on games with 10 less disposals.

Why do you care? What is the difference? Is it offensive that he gets 40 touches?

Should he be running away from the footy?

So it's ridiculous to call him a handball merchant or accuse him of hunting cheap possessions, but in the same way it is ridiculous to call him BOG and rave about his game just because he got 40 touches.

I agree, but no one is raving about his 40 touches apart form to say how shit he is

Where were you all last week? This website is for the birds.