Gary Lyon

I think he's lucky to have lasted this long in the media for a guy who didn't achieve many great heights as a player, although he was a very good player. He doesn't provide any great insights. Nowhere near the level of Special Comments or analysis as Dunstall or Simpson or King.

He's the epitome of a a bloke who's been looked after by The Boys Club.

I do agree with the earlier comment though that he was good value in his Triple M days with JB, Spud and BT, but that was more because they were providing light entertainment rather than deep insights.

The whole Billy Brownless stuff never particularly bothered me. I never thought he was some sort of monster or shit bloke. I didn't care at all to be honest.

Massive dog act in my book. Worse than a drunken assault or any of the other stupid things many players do. No one does something like that to a mate and is a stand up bloke in other areas of life.

Strange this guy has the role of being one of the oracle's of footy when he clearly doesn't actually enjoy watching footy and rarely watches a game he isn't being paid to cover.
For a guy who's paid so much and basically only talks footy, he's a sh*t preparer. As you said doesn't watch other games, doesn't know draft rules, not over tribunal rules. No depth whatsover and it shows on 360 now

I've always enjoyed Garry as an AFL Media figure, his persona just works and isn't easily replaceable in the footy landscape.

Never rated him as an analyst/pundit though. His commentary and opinions are essentially worthless, and he is slow to detect shifts within games and seasons. OTC (or Footy Show) was perfect for him as by then the weekend's footy had been digested severally and he didn't have to manufacture his own insights. There are others for that, it isn't his bread and butter. Hosting footy talk programs is his go and plays to his strengths, he has value there, a certain gravitas, tact, cautious fence-sitting balance, mild interviewing, etc. Just shouldn't be your main commentator or special comments/opinion.

One of the worst things about the Demons being where they are now is that a lot of questions and intrigues about that club tend to head his way (whether he likes it or not), we've been there before.

I think he's lucky to have lasted this long in the media for a guy who didn't achieve many great heights as a player, although he was a very good player. He doesn't provide any great insights. Nowhere near the level of Special Comments or analysis as Dunstall or Simpson or King.

He's the epitome of a a bloke who's been looked after by The Boys Club.

I do agree with the earlier comment though that he was good value in his Triple M days with JB, Spud and BT, but that was more because they were providing light entertainment rather than deep insights.

Exactly. No Brownlow, no Coleman, no MVPs of any kind. Won 2 club Best and Fairests, but that hardly puts you into exalted status (Oliver has already won 4). Not a massive goalkicker (not even 500 goals), and not an especially long playing career. Never had the balls to coach either.

The boys' club is a great thing for those who are in it.

Exactly. No Brownlow, no Coleman, no MVPs of any kind. Won 2 club Best and Fairests, but that hardly puts you into exalted status (Oliver has already won 4). Not a massive goalkicker (not even 500 goals), and not an especially long playing career. Never had the balls to coach either.

The boys' club is a great thing for those who are in it.
Lyon did coach in the international rules for a bit but I am guessing you aren’t counting that.

Some interesting points on Lyon. I thought he was a solid triple M/footy show host when I was growing up. Carried a masculine confidence and surety to complement JBs boyish nice guy shtick.

On the couch was also a good role for him to essentially facilitate the conversation of the experts.

The sen breakfast show is a slog, showing that garry is unengaging when the topic is not casual footy chat.

The 360 role is bizarre as he's simply not a good enough analyst or interviewer to make that appealing.

I think the need for Lyon is past its used by date as it is for Alastair Lynch, Brad Johnson or Mark Ricciuto.

I like him on radio, but I dunno if I'd like him as a bloke (same with Brayshaw).

He's definitely smart enough to present himself well on air, but occasionally his latent, bogan bully, "I need to be the top dog" side surfaces. For example, if he gets negative feedback on the SEN text line, he sometimes says something like, "to old mate whose number ends in 529, perhaps have the guts to ring in and talk about that, or at least have the courage to put your name on the text." Then he'll often check himself and walk his aggro back a bit.

A long time ago, I think on SEN, Billy Brownless half-jokingly shouted at him, "stop bossing me around!! You've been bossing me around since we played junior rep footy together, and you're still doing it!" I thought of that as soon as I heard about him boofin' Bill's wife. Did his need to be the top dog over Bill go too far? :tongueoutv1:

Massive dog act in my book. Worse than a drunken assault or any of the other stupid things many players do. No one does something like that to a mate and is a stand up bloke in other areas of life.
It happened a fair bit at my high school, plenty of the blokes that pulled that shit back in the day are respectable family men now and all's forgiven from back then, don't think it tars you as a shit bloke for life

Nope, you can't compare the actions of 15 year olds with grown adults who are long time mates with families.

Complete dog act

Gary Lyon