Gary Lyon

• Thread starter Thread starter ManOfClay

Fairly clear that if he does get a role, Schwartz wouldn't be looking to support Neeld. From his comments tonight, it looks like he's already decided he's hopeless.

Gary Lyon wasn' even that good anyway.

For all the attention that he gets for being the leader of the MFC, he wasn't no better than Earl Spalding.

Melbourne Football Club should come out and publically state that Gary Lyon is not a part of the MFC.

Gary, know your place, don't pretend to be a leader, then shirk the task.. You are a pea heart.

Fairly clear that if he does get a role, Schwartz wouldn't be looking to support Neeld. From his comments tonight, it looks like he's already decided he's hopeless.

What did he say tonight about Neeld.

Jim Stynes: Hey Gary, you and I are great friends. Come help MFC.
Gary: I dunno man, Bigfooty may think badly of me because I choose to lead my life how I want.
Stynes: Good point. But all it is is helping pick coaches
Gary: That would be seen as me overstepping my boundaries and putting my nose in where its not wanted, even though it is wanted. Apparently you cant just help out a little here and there, you either have to go in 100% or not at all. if only the general population of the world approached this way then hunger and poverty may be abolished. But alas, its a rule that only applies to me and other public figures.
Stynes: Calm down mate, we are not asking you to be the coach
Lyon: Thank god. I personally think I would be a pretty poor coach, but what would I know? The general football public knows my attributes far better then I. Of course I would want to give up an easy high-paying media career to get a thankless stressful job which will not only cut down on family time but most likely cut down on life years. But apparently, I have to do that or nothing at all. Woe is me.

I never knew why years ago it was considered that Lyon would be a good coach anyway. Forgetting the fact that the Australian Team was a rabble when he was coach and took Sheedy to take a firm approach with the squad to make them realise it was not a piss up holiday but an honour to play for your country and needed to be respected. He has no real insightful comments during his commentary that would suggest he has great technical knowledge on the game and prefers to play inside joke games with his work mates.

Isn't Gary enstranged/split from his wife?

He has children and I think it would be tough to run a club or coach while being a single father + media commitments (which he doesn't want to give up given how highly paid he is).
I got the feeling Schwartz was alluding to this but I thought the split was quite a few years ago.

What did he say tonight about Neeld.
"I don’t believe the football department... has been accountable (enough) for the decisions made", said Schwarz, who reluctantly confirmed the planned meeting on Tuesday, just before the sacking of chief executive Cameron Schwab.

Schwarz said the new coaches, headed by Mark Neeld, had been given "full automony," adding: "You can’t allow a coach and novice coaching group to come and do this."

http://m.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/melbourne-will-accept-help--from-a-demon-20130410-2hl2t.html

And this from Grant Thomas:

@Thomo_Grant: I can say with some authority that Roos contacted G Lyon & informed him R Lyon was available (would have stayed in Melb). Alas no follow up!

I actually thought Ross was going to Melbourne, that's why Misson was already there.

Garry was probably waiting for the season to end, Freo didn't care for that kind of minor detail.

Too late.

"I don’t believe the football department... has been accountable (enough) for the decisions made", said Schwarz, who reluctantly confirmed the planned meeting on Tuesday, just before the sacking of chief executive Cameron Schwab.

Schwarz said the new coaches, headed by Mark Neeld, had been given "full automony," adding: "You can’t allow a coach and novice coaching group to come and do this."

http://m.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/melbourne-will-accept-help--from-a-demon-20130410-2hl2t.html

And this from Grant Thomas:

@Thomo_Grant: I can say with some authority that Roos contacted G Lyon & informed him R Lyon was available (would have stayed in Melb). Alas no follow up!

If the last part is true Garry Lyon needs to be held accountable for this. Melbourne fans were screaming out for an experienced coach at the time, Paul Roos, Mick Malthouse, Ross Lyon. Coaches that proved they knew how to create a side that could continuously make it to the late parts of September. The only one we got was an apparent $6 million deal for Clarkson which seemed more of a dummy bid to help out Garry's mate in contract negotiations more than anything else. At the time Ross got the freo job Garry claimed that he called Ross Lyon's manager and was never given a call back.

In regards to the rest of your post, that sounds like more of a criticism of the way the Admin handled the restructuring of the footy department more than anything else, giving Mark Neeld free reign to do whatever he wanted, the only guidance being that of Neil Craig.

It could be true though Bluelegs, but Ross simply may of liked the look of Freo's list better?

For all the attention that he gets for being the leader of the MFC, he wasn't no better than Earl Spalding.

Melbourne Football Club should come out and publically state that Gary Lyon is not a part of the MFC.

Gary, know your place, don't pretend to be a leader, then shirk the task.. You are a pea heart.

Fairly timid post for your 4th Uncle.....

creepy-15.gif

It could be true though Bluelegs, but Ross simply may of liked the look of Freo's list better?

Point is if Ross called Garry and asked to talk about the Melbourne job then this conversation clearly never happened, as Garry claims he called Ross's manager and never got a call back.

I love how you deluded supporters shoot down your own. Lyon was a great player but i cant see how thats got anything to do with the topic at hand. Bagging him as a player is ignorant on your behalf and shows your clueless with whats going on at the moment.Not sure if your ignorance has blinded you but if you remember Melbourne actually went to Lyon for help on choosing their last coach to which Lyon obliged however he stated he didnt want anything to do with either being on the board or any other involvement due to his media comittments. What part of that dont u understand?

I never knew why years ago it was considered that Lyon would be a good coach anyway..

He gives a good speech - stare down the camera, point the finger, slight emotional quiver in the voice.

In all seriousness though, this Garry Lyon is starting to get beyond ridiculous. People are simply using the equation 'Footy Show Host = Great Club President' and expecting him to be another Eddie McGuire.

I think the criticism leveled at Lyon is not that he does or doesn't help the club, but that he picks and chooses his involvement.

He comes across (rightly or wrongly) as being heavily connected and influential within the club, yet distances himself from it with his media hat.

I reckon people would like to see him commit to the club in an official capacity (president, board member, footy dept - whatever) or stay the hell away from the place. There's no reason why he can't follow the lead of JB, Eddie (please no), Dunstall etc. - he just doesn't want to.

Bingo.

Gee I dunno mate, maybe because he gives a shit about his former club and wants to see it win a premiership sometime this century?

Money isn't everything in life. Well not to most people anyway.

But what if he thinks he isn't qualified to be the man to lead them out of the doldrums?

Better to know your limitations and stay out of it than go in their acting like you're the messiah only to end up doing more harm than good.

Jason Dunstall has done both for a while now; in fact he took up a role during a very low ebb for Hawthorn. His club needed him, he answered.

Dermott had a seat on the board of Hawthorn FC during Ian Dicker's presidency while working in the media. Since then he has consulted part time for GWS.

Great

But it still allowed him to pursue his media interests.

Wow ! If a Melb supporter truly believes that Lyon was no better than Spalding, I can see why you have stuffed up recruiting. Lyon was classes better than Spalding !

Disappointed you are taking that guys post seriously.

And what a surprise to see ManOfClay sinking the boots in to Melbourne yet again. Some things never change.

Sheedy went for the interview but after the interview he came to the conclusion that he didnt want the job. He said so himself so even he thought that there was something not quite right for him to decline on wanting to coach Melbourne

Typical Sheedy bollocks, he just wasn't successful, and he got offended. In hindsight I wish we took him, but he didn't knock us back, he wanted the Demons bad.