Gary Lyon

• Thread starter Thread starter ManOfClay

trashofthetitans5_thumb.png

I'm just going by his history. Read his book? Loved working with The Age? Sun offered him more $ and he left the same day?
Hey, everyone has his price.

And now he's apparently taking a financial hit in order to coach Essendon. No one is sure what Hird was earning at Gemba; reports indicated it was 'substantial' due to the success of the business - and that doesn't even include his earnings for media commitments.

Not that it really matters - because the reality is you don't have the slightest clue what Hird did or does earn, whether he is better or worse off and what his motivations are.

This:

I'm just going by his history. Read his book? Loved working with The Age? Sun offered him more $ and he left the same day?
Hey, everyone has his price.

Is massive backpedaling from an infantile troll without the slightest clue what the reality of a situation is. That's ok though - I don't get to the MB as often as I should anymore; and backhanding the keyboard mashing peasants that infect it is kind of like 'doing my bit' for the greater good of the site.

To get paid $1m a year... What a sacrifice:rolleyes:

Go on, tell us again how Hird skillfully maneuvered his way into his monstrous wage at Essendon........ :rolleyes:

It is not Garry Lyon's responsibility to answer the call for help every time they get in trouble. He has so many times publicly said he doesn't want to be involved in coaching or football department because he is quite happy with what he is doing in his own private life.

Melbourne people need to stop trying to make out that just because he is a former club champion, he automatically is their saviour and will answer when called upon.

The facts are, he doesn't want to do it, he has said this about a million times and furthermore he does not have any necessary experience to do any of the roles asked of him which is even worse.

Gary Lyon is plainly and evidently a selfish man. Both by his own words/actions as well as his ease of comparison to others.

Gary has an absolute right to be selfish and do what he wants however the fallout from those actions or inactions is also a reality too. His club absolutely needs him but he doesn't want to do it, he wants somebody else to because he enjoys his own life too much just the way it is.
In short he'd rather not "put himself out there". Whilst I can understand that it doesn't take away that its a selfish move more starkly obvious when compared to what his peers have done and how he's benefited from being "Melbourne".

I cant see Garry Lyon coaching, but I can see him as President. That McLardy guy needs a spell, he doesn't look healthy.

Hopefully the pressure becomes too great, and he does the old: "F-ck it. I'm in. It's worth the risk."

LOL Sorry, but such a move would likely send the Demons further down the gurgler.

Lyon seems to lack a fundamental quality what most successful leaders possess - intestinal fortitude.

And now he's apparently taking a financial hit in order to coach Essendon. No one is sure what Hird was earning at Gemba; reports indicated it was 'substantial' due to the success of the business - and that doesn't even include his earnings for media commitments.

Not that it really matters - because the reality is you don't have the slightest clue what Hird did or does earn, whether he is better or worse off and what his motivations are.

This:

Is massive backpedaling from an infantile troll without the slightest clue what the reality of a situation is. That's ok though - I don't get to the MB as often as I should anymore; and backhanding the keyboard mashing peasants that infect it is kind of like 'doing my bit' for the greater good of the site.

Go on, tell us again how Hird skillfully maneuvered his way into his monstrous wage at Essendon........ :rolleyes:
Not sure which was the bigger waste of time - the 2 minutes it took you to tap out that nonsensical tripe, or the 11 seconds it took me to read it. Urgghhh.
Stay on topic, please. We are discussing Lyon. My point was that people have their price. eg. Hird. So maybe Lyon does too. If you come here only to garble tosh, then best you be elsewhere. Dons board would seem the place:p

What are people expecting Gary to do? Or anyone?

Walk in, click their fingers, and suddenly the players grow a set and show something on the weekend?

No - they expect him to "put up and shut up" - which is a very useful phrase because you don't actually have to explain yourself when using it.

Basically, they want him to do what Brayshaw and Dunstall have done before him - straddle a media career with helping a club rebuild.

Garry might just have other things in his life besides football. Why does everyone thing he has to do something? So easy to say "he has to get involved" but not so easy to say why he should.

Agreed. Someone unduly emotional, without the skillset required to compile, articulate then implement a plan.
Lyon's a strategically shaved buffoon. If Paul Sheahan wanted to step in, and out of the MCC, then maybe that would assist
But as I have noted before, the MFC board is not exactly talent-free. Keep Lyon away.

It is not Garry Lyon's responsibility to answer the call for help every time they get in trouble. He has so many times publicly said he doesn't want to be involved in coaching or football department because he is quite happy with what he is doing in his own private life.

If he is not going to step up and assist, then he should keep his opinion of Melbourne whether they are in a good or bad patch of form OUT of his media career.

No - they expect him to "put up and shut up" - which is a very useful phrase because you don't actually have to explain yourself when using it.

Basically, they want him to do what Brayshaw and Dunstall have done before him - straddle a media career with helping a club rebuild.

Garry might just have other things in his life besides football. Why does everyone thing he has to do something? So easy to say "he has to get involved" but not so easy to say why he should.

So put on a face to appease people who have absolutely no idea how a football club is run?

I think the criticism leveled at Lyon is not that he does or doesn't help the club, but that he picks and chooses his involvement.

He comes across (rightly or wrongly) as being heavily connected and influential within the club, yet distances himself from it with his media hat.

I reckon people would like to see him commit to the club in an official capacity (president, board member, footy dept - whatever) or stay the hell away from the place. There's no reason why he can't follow the lead of JB, Eddie (please no), Dunstall etc. - he just doesn't want to.

If he doesn't want to play any further part, why don't Melbourne people get over it and just bang down the door of one of the other Melbourne champions of the recent past. Like..... um, no, wait, it's on the tip of my tongue. Nah, lost it. Sorry. I'll Google "Melbourne Football Club champions" and see if any of the photos are in colour !

The real problem is the football world's perception of Garry Lyon being a football expert. If you listen to his 'special comments' during a game, they are rarely more advanced than "team X has got to go in harder".

He took an advisory role for the Bailey/Neeld coaching appointments and gave his input, that is all. This is not uncommon. Robert Walls and David Parkin have done this over the years, as well as Tom Harley at the Bulldogs (no doubt as a reference for Brendan McCartney).

It's not his fault that the Melbourne FC took it up and ran with it, but anyone with a decent level of competence in their football department would have picked up that Lyon gave a ringing endorsement for old team mate Peter Rohde to the Bulldogs back in 2003. Surely that was enough to scare anyone off.

The fish rots at the head.

He was a player for the MFC, he doesn't owe them anything, no past player does. If it is in his blood then great, but if it isn't it is better than doing it for the wrong reasons.

It has been plainly obvious for years that he's afraid of failure. It's why he's never coached at AFL level.
From all accounts he is part of THE problem at Melbourne too, having meddled behind the scenes to ensure his mates were looked after and he got what he wanted.

I don't understand why everyone thinks Gary Lyon can save the MFC and as soon as there is a problem they all turn to him. Surely there are other ex-players who can also step up and help the club? I'd say the problems at the MFC are far more complicated than some simplistic approach everyone seems to be saying. Gary Lyon has every right to do what he wants. He doesn't owe the MFC anything. I think people over-estimate his ability to do anything anyway.

Definitely part of the problem. Has 'helped' drive the entitled and unaccountable culture that is killing them. A hairy melanoma.

Big assumption that having Gary on board would help the club, his previous involvement hasn't exactly been stellar, but anywho. If he doesn't want to be there, that's his choice, and you don't want people at a club that are only there out of obligation.

The real problem is the football world's perception of Garry Lyon being a football expert. If you listen to his 'special comments' during a game, they are rarely more advanced than "team X has got to go in harder".

He took an advisory role for the Bailey/Neeld coaching appointments and gave his input, that is all. This is not uncommon. Robert Walls and David Parkin have done this over the years, as well as Tom Harley at the Bulldogs (no doubt as a reference for Brendan McCartney).

It's not his fault that the Melbourne FC took it up and ran with it, but anyone with a decent level of competence in their football department would have picked up that Lyon gave a ringing endorsement for old team mate Peter Rohde to the Bulldogs back in 2003. Surely that was enough to scare anyone off.

The fish rots at the head.

Lyon is far from an expert in these matters, hence this proclamation in the media"

"The symbolism of today shouldn't be lost on anyone. I think you will enjoy the fact that while tonight is the rebirth of this great footy club, our greatest rival is in disarray," Lyon said.
"The Collingwood footy club is going down the plughole as the Melbourne footy club re-establishes itself as a power."
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/mor...aunt-the-saviour/story-e6frf9jf-1226109387705

The man honestly has no idea.

What about David Schwarz?
He's another ex-Melbourne champion in the media. I'm sure he could lend a hand.

Up until 12 months ago it'd be an absolute no. Ox distanced himself from the club massively and burnt a lot of bridges when he left the MFC - it was very much to do with his gambling problems. He has admitted himself that he only has three friends left from his playing days - Lyon, Guy Rigoni and Shane Woewodin. The club have actively sought to bring him back in over the last six months and Ox is loving it if you listen to him on SEN, he was chuffed to be handing over the match ball for Rd1.

I think he's probably going to put his hand up in some way. Maybe not right now with all the turmoil, but if there's a board spill it would not surprise me to see Ox on the new board or having a public relations role in a new administration.