Gary Lyon

• Thread starter Thread starter ManOfClay

I didn't watch footy classified but heard Garry was back up to old form last night.

One Demons win against a team of kids, after trailing for three quarters and suddenly they are ok while he feels the need to rip into the Bulldogs.

Like clockwork, Garry.

Your one of the 40 something year old blokes that are still in the cheer squad, aren't you?

Some of the dribble that comes out of your mouth astounds me, it really does.

For the record all Lyon said was that if you compare the Bulldogs to the Demons over the past 18 months, there isn't much that seperates them, yet the Bulldogs have been left off the hook in the media.

Wasn't that flash at running C9
No he wasn't but he tried. It would be one of McGuire few major failures.

Is doesn't neccessarily have anything to do with marbles. I wouldn't take on a role at another organisation as I'm busy enough at my current one and I value my time with friends and family more highly.
In my experience, if you're passionate about something you find a way to fit it in or make it work. Life-work balance and all that is nice, but from where I sit, I believe Lyon appears to enjoy the Melbourne fawning over Garry Lyon position. People make things work if they want to make them work.

For the record all Lyon said was that if you compare the Bulldogs to the Demons over the past 18 months, there isn't much that seperates them, yet the Bulldogs have been left off the hook in the media.
Contect is important.

We're year 2 into a rebuild, Melbourne have been at it for much longer.
Some of the experienced pick ups from the 2012 trade period (ie Rodan & Pedersen) were dumped after round 1, the Bulldogs picked up Lower, Goodes, Stevens & Young - all are still playing and two of them are under 22 years old.
We were missing our captain for 3 weeks yet younger mids (Libba, Wallis & Macrae - arguably Smith & Stevens) have shown a bit in this time. Melbourne have Viney who looks excellent but other youngsters haven't fired a shot.

Lastly, we won in our first game - in media land that tends to buy a few weeks of lessened scrutiny.

Melbourne's wins: GWS*3, GC, Essendon
Bulldog's wins: GWS, GC, Port, North, Brisbane, Melbourne

It is glaringly similar because Melbourne has had the opportunity to boost its percentage with games against expansion sides.
I think the point was just that Neeld has been unfairly maligned by many when there are teams that have been similar. The figures they showed were more than just win/loss

So basically Garry's point was: "but but but.. they're bad too".

In that 18 month period we haven't been beaten by 148 points in a single game. In that 18 month period we haven't been so bad as to have our percentage boosted by a 90 point LOSS. In that 18 month period we have beaten four times the amount of non-expansion teams as Melbourne.

Preceding that 18 month period we were also playing finals and challenging for a flag. Melbourne were languishing at the bottom of the ladder stockpiling high picks.

We've been left off the hook because as bad as we are we are still nowhere near the depths of disgrace that the MFC is. Shit, we lost a club/league great in that time too and we even honoured him better than you would have.

Contect is important.

Some of the experienced pick ups from the 2012 trade period (ie Rodan & Pedersen) were dumped after round 1, the Bulldogs picked up Lower, Goodes, Stevens & Young - all are still playing and two of them are under 22 years old.
We were missing our captain for 3 weeks yet younger mids (Libba, Wallis & Macrae - arguably Smith & Stevens) have shown a bit in this time. Melbourne have Viney who looks excellent but other youngsters haven't fired a shot.

Lastly, we won in our first game - in media land that tends to buy a few weeks of lessened scrutiny.

Fair point, but with a midfield consisting of Boyd, Griffen, Cooney and Cross, who have all been there for a sustained period of time you should be in a lot better shape. We haven't had the luxury of rebuilding around a core senior group like this. Add in Murphy and Gia to that mix as well.

Either way, we are in terrible shape and I don't think you guys are in much better shape, both now and in the future.

Yeah but that 18-month timeframe is chose to use is pretty convenient isn't it? A team who has played in 3 prelims in a row probably has more reason to be down where we are, compared to a team who has not finished higher than 12th over the last 5 seasons and have shown little signs of improvement.

In that 18 month period we haven't been beaten by 148 points in a single game. In that 18 month period we haven't been so bad as to have our percentage boosted by a 90 point LOSS. In that 18 month period we have beaten four times the amount of non-expansion teams as Melbourne.

In that time we have never been held to 4 goals in a game, so what is your point?

Yeah but that 18-month timeframe is chose to use is pretty convenient isn't it? A team who has played in 3 prelims in a row probably has more reason to be down where we are, compared to a team who has not finished higher than 12th over the last 5 seasons and have shown little signs of improvement.

You say that like it was me making the comments, all I was doing was pointing out to the idiot flog what was actually said.

In that time we have never been held to 4 goals in a game, so what is your point?
Tell me how that one extra goal you kicked against Essendon keeps you warm at night. Especially when you lost by about double what we did when only kicking four.

The overarching point is Garry is clearly happy to take potshots at other clubs "who would want their son drafted to Port" and "Western Bulldogs and Melbourne are in a similar situation" to make his club seem better than it is. He's a moo of the highest order. The only difference between him and your typical delusional bigfooty ****wits is he has a tv and radio show.

Fair point, but with a midfield consisting of Boyd, Griffen, Cooney and Cross, who have all been there for a sustained period of time you should be in a lot better shape. We haven't had the luxury of rebuilding around a core senior group like this. Add in Murphy and Gia to that mix as well.

Either way, we are in terrible shape and I don't think you guys are in much better shape, both now and in the future.
It depends where you look - you forwardline is miles ahead of ours, although Jones has taken a step or two this year.
Your backline looks good (esp talls), but Roughy's development means we are closing the gap.

Midfield yes we are better on paper now, I say our young inside mids shade yours by a significant margin (Viney notwithstanding), however we do need better ball users in there. We have an edge in the ruck although the glimpses I've seen of Gawn are at least promising.

It depends where you look - you forwardline is miles ahead of ours, although Jones has taken a step or two this year.
Your backline looks good (esp talls), but Roughy's development means we are closing the gap.

Midfield yes we are better on paper now, I say our young inside mids shade yours by a significant margin (Viney notwithstanding), however we do need better ball users in there. We have an edge in the ruck although the glimpses I've seen of Gawn are at least promising.
Our midfield is disgracefully bad, that is the problem with our team

The main difference is that the Bulldogs have been rebuilding for 2 years and the Demons have for 10 years.
So compare how many first round draft picks the demons have had compared to the bulldogs.

And they made that point on the show. The expectations have been different, maybe they shouldn't have been.

Your one of the 40 something year old blokes that are still in the cheer squad, aren't you?

Some of the dribble that comes out of your mouth astounds me, it really does.

Mate, regrettably, most of us have become pretty well accustomed to the vindictive ranting from that particular source.

The level of wonderment and disbelief you experience when reading it decreases soon enough.

As myself and others who've seen this pattern over time from said poster can testify, it becomes quite banal after 999,999 repetitions.

Our midfield is disgracefully bad, that is the problem with our team

Exactly. Our midfield is absolutely f***ing atrocious. And of course, a huge share of the responsibility for that is on Brian Royal - the sooner we're rid of him, the better.

On people asking him to help the club: "I can't do it. Circumstances won't allow me"

This was seconds after saying how heavily invested he is in the club, how his adult life has been the Melbourne Football Club, how he was involved enough to be part of the decision to hire Neeld.

Distancing himself now things are going pear shaped. Using his media committments as a shield.

I think that's unfair. He helped as much as he could. But he isn't going to quit his job and livelihood for benefit of others. Why should be? It's a football club infested with egos, not Africa with starving children. Some people forget that and think that a football club calling is like dying people of Israel looking for a messiah. Please.

And they made that point on the show. The expectations have been different, maybe they shouldn't have been.

Gary's intentions was to put pressure on the Bulldogs , it was obvious.

Bulldogs have a great future, they have one of the most impressive potential A graders coming through the ranks.
They have a good mix of experience and quality youth which will enhance the possibility of the young players reaching their potential in the future
Unfortunately for Melbourne they haven't, that's the difference, irrespective of stats and percentages ect.

Contect is important.

Same amount of time actually. Our whole FD/coaching/admin got overhauled less than two years ago. They surely can't be blamed for the errors of the past group?

Furthermore, we're financially a lot stronger than your mob.

Agree with this part though. Plus you weren't losing by 100 every week.

Same amount of time actually. Our whole FD/coaching/admin got overhauled less than two years ago. They surely can't be blamed for the errors of the past group?
Not even close to the same amount of time. FD/coaching/admin may have changed, but your club as a whole has been rebuilding since when, 2007? You've still been turning over young players and high draft picks in that period of time.

Crazy to suggest we've been rebuilding the same amount of time.