Gate wait total disgrace

sth Dragons, Melb Storm
Hey guys,

Geelong supporting mate of mine is livid about the debacle that occured at the gate at Skilled Stadium today.
After 40 minutes in the line, he decided to go home and watch the game on the tv. Apparently only two games were open. He heard that the AFL were operating the gates today, so it sounds like the AFL have tried to save a buck and cost the club and the supporters greatly.

Anyone else find it as hard to get in as my mate did?

Hey guys,

Geelong supporting mate of mine is livid about the debacle that occured at the gate at Skilled Stadium today.
After 40 minutes in the line, he decided to go home and watch the game on the tv. Apparently only two games were open. He heard that the AFL were operating the gates today, so it sounds like the AFL have tried to save a buck and cost the club and the supporters greatly.

commentary said they opened the gate so he could have got in for free :P

Guess that is a lesson in buying your ticket before game day.

was total bull********. Missed the first quarter of the VFL.

I wondered why the lines were so bad, some mix-up with the staffing according to afl.com.au, i thought it was just because most had to buy their tickets and most came at the one time.

And i had to pay :mad: ......waited in line for over 25 minutes and we got there about an hour before the game.

Good crowd too, haven't found a figure yet though.....

I was in line for 45 mins, it was 9 mins into the first quarter and i was still another 10 mins from getting in when they opened the gates and let everyone in for free.

I bought my ticket well before the game but it seems like most people decided to buy tickets on the day which is fair enough. It was a disgrace. I got a pass out and I couldn't believe the ques outside because inside there was hardly anyone. I'm annoyed because I paid good money for my ticket and other people got in for free but then again I'd hate it if I was stuck outside and would want to get in for free. I supose they did the right thig in the end. Hopefully they learn from this mistake.

I bought mine early too, cos I don't live in Geelong and would never take the risk of getting all the way down there and get turned away. I don't think they expected as many people to turn up, full-stop. Even the deep-fried food outlets under the Doug Wade stand were shut, and they normally service heaps of people. At least they ended up letting people in for free.

we had 2 of the 3 of us with tickets and had to pick 1 up at the gate - we got there about 3.20 and got into the game 10 mins into the first quarter, it was just ridiculous. even though we had tickets we had to wait in a massive queue that had ppl buying tickets and then after waiting all that time everyone got in for free so we were no better off for having pre-purchased tickets. not impressed at all.

And there is this strap line from the sports section

THE P word is doing the rounds of Geelong Football Club _ pace, power and precision

So which of the three is the 'P' word?

There is a 'P' word that neatly sums up the addy.

Hey guys,

Well Lads I’m the unfortunate fellow that is Hyperswivels mate, boy was he a pain last year when the hawks beat us twice.

I was waiting at the City end Moorabool St Gate, the line snaked around into Carr st by around 10 meters. This was at about 3.00PM. By around 3.30 I had made it to within around 70m form the gate at which point I gave up and decided to go watch the footy with Hyperswivel. Shortly thereafter they of course opened the gates and let everyone in.

And yes by all means I could of bought my ticket before hand, which I usually do however, I don’t think it would of been possible to get to the front with out been lynched. The fact remains that only having the one gate on the Moorabool St side was pathetic, considering this is the same side as all train travellers come to.

Oh and for Hyperswivel cant wait till the Cats meet the (Tassie)Hawks :)

Read in the paper, they basically budgeted for about 9,000 people showing up. Pretty stupid if you ask me, considering the good weather we've been having, plus it was two Victorian teams playing. The only thing going against the crowd numbers would have been it was live against the gate.

Feeling a bit peeved while I turned up early and did the right thing, about 6,000 people got in for free. All up this debalce cost the AFL $60,000. Loose change for them, but still funny! :p

Read in the paper, they basically budgeted for about 9,000 people showing up. Pretty stupid if you ask me, considering the good weather we've been having, plus it was two Victorian teams playing. The only thing going against the crowd numbers would have been it was live against the gate.

Feeling a bit peeved while I turned up early and did the right thing, about 6,000 people got in for free. All up this debalce cost the AFL $60,000. Loose change for them, but still funny! :p

Pretty good crowd figure considering it was live against the gate.....serves the afl right to lose that $60k, a right stuff up it was, although it got A LOT more media exposure then i would have thought.

Yeah, good crowd but I can honestly say it's what I was expecting. (see the AFL should have consulted Shell :D )... something in the mid teens at least. Its the first game of the year ffs! People are desperate for any kind of footy!! You could tell from about 12.30pm, when the lines were forming already they were in trouble.