Review Gather Round 2024 vs Essendon

The Port midfield was absolutely sublime last night, when they play that well we are a chance against any team, and kudos to Soldo for his part in it as well.

I'm still not sold on the tall forwards though, good first game back from the golden greek, and Finny did some good stuff after a very poor start, but Dixon in particular, and Marshall were both fairly ordinary.
With that midfield dominance I suspect any of Eric Freeman, Tim Evans, or Scott Hodges would have scored 6 goals plus each.

Apart from BZT (who is looking like a very good pick up) the other two tall defenders are a bit like the curate's egg atm.

Early days yet but Aliir's ability to take a relieving mark and set up play has fallen away, and Esava usually makes good position, but there were at least a couple of occasions last night when he he got his hands well above the pack, but either allowed the ball to slip through, or mistimed the attempt to spoil.

I'm still not sold on his decision making yet either, the bummers were an absolute shambles after qtr time last night, and he will be under a lot more pressure to get it right when we play against the likes of brisvegas, the blue baggers, or his old mob geebong.
Hell 54, the bombers kicked 6 goals for the night, I said “6 goals”!!!! Those back 3 went pretty darn good in my humble opinion.

Great win and absolute dominate display from
rose and horn. MG terrific first up performance too.

But all counts for very little until we can’t start nailing the big games. I think freo are on decent form and will be a semi test next week but the pies at the mcg is one we really need to chalk down as a win, I still think they are a big scalp.

How was last week only 38k but this week 47k, something doesn’t seem right about that, didn’t look like 9k more last night?

Last week's crowd count was a joke. Funny how since we negotiated an incentive payments agreement with the sma for crowds over 40k our bigger crowds all seem to fall just short of the 40k

Watching the replay and the peacocking of the Bombers in the first, even doing the finger on lips to fans.

Hahahahah! Nobs.
First goal Gresham ran finger wiggling at the crowd.

Then proceeded to **** up his next 5 opportunities as the crowd returned the gesture.

Was funny.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Sat right next to the Sam “Don” Draper family and friends group
I reckon they spent $5k plus on piss and were the most pissweak supporters I’ve ever seen. Funny but pathetic at the same time. Was a really weird vibe right through the crowd. Indifference everywhere like the football was getting in the way.

How good were the nuffs booing Duursma and BZT. None of em wanted to leave their club and we’re poached out. Absolutely no idea

Could have been from any club though. Lots of different idiots from different clubs just wanting something to do.

Dixon always drags the best defender making it easier for our other talls.
That is so true and it’s a thing that myself and other Port supporters seem to forget. Dixon made it easier for Georgie to return to AFL footy. Without Dixon Georgie would have struggled. Obviously there is a plan out there regarding the Dixon selection but a banged up Charlie won’t help the other forwards at all, for example the 4th quarter last night. That #13 for the bombers would have thought all his Christmas’s had come at once.

I'm not sure Koch is aware an AFL coach is not the same as hiring an HR manager who already knows the organisation's systems.
Kochieh was replying to a direct question; I thought he handles it well (board has not guaranteed a Carr succession plan).

That's the type of win I wish we could see almost 15 times a season every year.

69 isn't a massive margin but strangling the opposition into only giving 6 goals is a fantastic defensive effort and exactly what we need with all the KPDs we got in.

The GOOD -
  • Rozee an early AA captain contender
  • JHF with his first 30+ disposal game
  • Tall forwards all bounced back after a weak game last week, especially Finlayson, kudos to him.
  • Houston was wearing his opponent the whole night and always played in front.
  • Georgie is back!
  • 8 in a row against this mob. If we were going to have a bunny team I would have other preferences but against this mob isn't the worst deal.

The BAD -
  • Just the usual. Lachie Jones still has the worst marking ability on our entire list but at least he isn't a turnover guru to the extent of Bonner or Pittard.
  • Another average Mac & Cheese game but I thought h at least did 1 or 2 nice things I guess
  • Never let Charlie Dixon kick for goal again. Take the big marks and hand it off to the better set shots from now on please

The UGLY-
- Only our opposition. Generally thought it was going to be a close shootout. My god they are such a defensively hopeless club. Not sure what Xavier saw in them. Just an even more depressing version of modern Port. As least we've won a final and don't flex our 16 flags in dead rubber games against Carlton.

On a side note, did anyone else notice Adrian Dodoro walking around Rundle mall yesterday? I had to hold the urge not to talk sh!t so bad XD
Taller Lachie Jones (Soldo) had some ugly uncontested marking attempts also last night.

Am actually going to watch the replay. Haven’t done that in years.
Even if it’s our one and only game ever where our mids play like that I want to enjoy it while I can.
Next week could be back to normal programming.

Was good enough. Not is. Not even close to the player he was, and that was an outlier year not usual programming. He cant kick or run both ways to save himself.
Wines had a rare un-interrupted pre-season and is having a good year where his job is to get the hard ball out to our fleet footed runners. Where you can't play the three A Graders on the ball all day.

Watch how the other clubs will start targeting our Captain courageous where I'm glad SPP and Wines will be there to protect him.

Review Gather Round 2024 vs Essendon