Games & Recreation GD Debating Competition Grand Final

• Thread starter Thread starter bontshow

Sorry. I keep my debating stuff in a Word document on my desktop at work... with all the fuss getting stuff wrapped up before Easter I completely forgot about it before I left on Thursday, and I wasn't in the office today.

I'll post it off when I go in tomorrow. If missing the deadline is that big a deal then I won't complain about a forfeit.

Sorry. I keep my debating stuff in a Word document on my desktop at work... with all the fuss getting stuff wrapped up before Easter I completely forgot about it before I left on Thursday, and I wasn't in the office today.

I'll post it off when I go in tomorrow. If missing the deadline is that big a deal then I won't complain about a forfeit.

Same thing for me I had to try to remember everything I had intended to use. I must admit this is the least effort I had put into any debate due to the time constraints due to Easter/Ishtar/Astarte & so on. don't forfeit him on account of a festival.

I know, it won’t happen anyway.

My submissions wasn't that good, I tried to start it last week but failed then remembered on Tuesday arvo after I got home & put something together.

What I do want though is to conclude proceedings as soon as possible so lets get this done.

My submissions wasn't that good, I tried to start it last week but failed then remembered on Tuesday arvo after I got home & put something together.

If you want to resubmit, I'm happy to give you until the end of today. I still don't have Caesar's so it's only fair.

Crimson Azure said:
What I do want though is to conclude proceedings as soon as possible so lets get this done.

There's nothing stopping us from getting rebuttals in early if you're both available, it doesn't have to be the due date that they are sent in. If I'm not around, just PM to each other when you're both done.

If you want to resubmit, I'm happy to give you until the end of today. I still don't have Caesar's so it's only fair.

Too late, not to worry I'll just leave it as is.

Any word from Caesar yet?

Too late, not to worry I'll just leave it as is.

Any word from Caesar yet?

Still nothing unfortunately. I'm offline until Tuesday now, so swap arguments between yourselves if he comes through over the weekend

Thread has officially died by death of 1000 cuts.

So are we going to call it or has Caesar sent is opening statement to you?

I reckon as the loser to Caesar I should get to step in :D

Just sent him a PM, see how we go I suppose...

Yeah, look I'm sorry but I've been snowed since easter and this just isn't a priority for me right now. I may have some time in the next week or two but can't guarantee anything... Even this I'm posting from my bb at the airport.

If you want to get things done without further delay I recommend gg takes over for me.

Yeah, look I'm sorry but I've been snowed since easter and this just isn't a priority for me right now. I may have some time in the next week or two but can't guarantee anything... Even this I'm posting from my bb at the airport.

If you want to get things done without further delay I recommend gg takes over for me.

Not sure how that will work seeing he has had my OS for over a week, might give him a slight advantage. :cool:

Well, you guys decide what you want to do. If I get some time in the next few days I'll bite the bullet but I understand if CA wants a forfeit before then.

All good, we'll wait mate :thumbsu:

If I see you posting again before I get your argument though, that post will be accepted as your argument :D

EDIT: Mods, can we give Caesar a red card to help him concentrate? :D:D

Done and sent. Sorry for the delays.

If gg can do the swap soon I can probably knock over my rebuttal before the end of the weekend. Otherwise I'll have to do it next weekend.

Done and sent. Sorry for the delays.

If gg can do the swap soon I can probably knock over my rebuttal before the end of the weekend. Otherwise I'll have to do it next weekend.

Sorry mate, swapped now. Thanks for sending it in.

The result is wide open after the arguments IMO. The title is there for the taking with your rebuttals - remember there are two rebuttals this time, rebutting your opponent's argument, then rebutting your opponent's rebuttal to your own argument.

Had some time after lunch so I knocked it over. Come on CA, what's the delay? ;)

I should have mine done by the 10th...............

Of October. :D

Submitted mine.

Strong meh, that is all.

Thanks Crimson. Rebuttals swapped, time for the GF special 2nd rebuttal. Let's see who can make the most of it to restate their case, and reject their opponent's critique :thumbsu:

Done. To be honest I'm just glad the GF question wasn't "Why should you win this competition?", which I was half expecting/dreading.

Has been a fun competition, even if it was pretty drawn out. Enjoyed participating; I muck around a lot on SRP but since uni I'd forgotten how much I enjoyed structured competition debating.

Quite happy with my performance even if I lose to CA - in fact, I don't think I'd feel done by if I'd lost to pretty much any of my opponents, particularly the last few. Has been a nicely balanced competition I think, and plenty of the early round debates could have easily slotted into the latter half of the competition.

Will read with interest if the competition reoccurs next year.