G'Day from the USA!

BigBrainUSA

May 2, 2017
Hi friends. I've been following footy and the AFL since 1995, and I've known about this board for a long time (and have been the subject of several podcasts posted here), but I decided last week to join as we're getting close to IC17 and I'll be going over to Melbourne to cover and commentate for the USA teams.

As much as I follow the AFL (and I'll comment about that plenty), I'm here mainly to talk footy here in the states, as well as women's footy. I'm a huge backer of both. I believe, as I'm sure many of you do, that it doesn't matter who you are, once you put your derriere in that seat or step over that white line, you're one of us. I think more people need to realize that.

Aside from all of that, I'm a Hawthorn supporter with a soft spot for Fremantle (and really any other club besides Collingwood). Bruce Doull is my favorite player of all time, followed by Cameron Ling.

gday gday

Are american's seeing the light with AFL yet? or is it still Ex-pats playing the game?
I would reckon that somewhere between 60 and 70 percent of the players in our league are American, and we have a significant number of American coaches and club leadership. It may be more, I'm not sure. The fact that we have a 50/50 rule in place mandating that at least half the players on the field must be "Nationals" helps.

G'Day from the USA!