GDCA Cricket

United- would have to be the club that most blokes like to smash on a weekend. May not be the case in the 1sts (most clubs would like to knock off the marsh) but a majority of GDCA cricketers would like to wipe the floor with united more than any other club. smug cricketers. cant handle the fact they wont be a power house again in the next 5 or so years due to their top heavy aged cricketers.
Thoughts?

hey chinesecut! if you are going too get on here and take a pot shot at united at least get your facts right before you open your big mouth. heres a few for you to mull over.
1. apart from steve grey and james hughes the rest of the macs side is made up of blokes between the ages of 18-27.
2. the b grade side has about 7 blokes under the age of 21.
so where are your so called top heavy aged cricketers.
why don't you put on here which club you are from so when we play you(thats if you do play) we can show you a thing or too.

Interesting comments...
'assaulted by a former coach'... don’t know anything about it. In their defence I know every time i am involved in a game with the woodsmen it is well fought affair. Fair and played in very good spirits compared to other clubs. Would say they are a far stretch from a 'rabble'. They seem to have very good support from the older gents who are around during a games play and have plenty of family (wives, girlfriends, kids etc around). They are a one team town, have a great set of rooms and a great ground.
"Great club", who are struggling a bit on the ground (prob need a good quick bowler in the 1sts). Dont need to spray the shite out of them. Save that for United.

Well said! They have played in the previous 3 grand finals, fair to say really struggled in two of them. But also won a flag in the last 5 seasons. Socially, equal to any club in the comp, have a good crop of juniors, and lets not beat around the bush... Easily the best spread in the comp.

Being disliked by the rest of the comp is no big deal surely?? Being a hated winner has to be better then being a well loved loser doesn't it, although the way the Marsh are travelling it looks like everyone else is only fighting over the scraps anyhow!!
Is anyone prepared to frame an updated market? For what its worth here is my current assesment:
Marsh - Far and away the best side and look to have it in the bag at the moment.
Gisborne - Suprise packet, but the batting depends alot on Harmon. Although considering he is averaging 150+ he's not a bad bloke to depend on.
United - Doing well considering they have had little input from Grey and Hughes. If those two fire the could still be a force.
Rupo - Bowling is good, but can't make runs. That kid Beever is back for them (was very impressed by him last year), and if their batting line up finds form they could compete well against Gisborne and United, but can't touch Bacchus Marsh.
Riddell - All they need is Wadden to find form and they can beat anyone on their day.
Woodend - Need heaps more from Massina and Else if they want to do anything at all.
Macedon/Romsey - When does the footy season start?????? OK, maybe thats a bit harsh - But I can't see either side playing finals.

Spot on, anybody who has played cricket at their ground will confirm, definately the best spread in the comp, bar none, I don't care what anybody says. The amount, variety and quality of the food are ridiculously good, and I heard that that is one thing that hasn't dropped off this year!

Thats right, trout has the best platters this side of melbourne, he a legend and him taking 5 wickets in C grade comes as no suprise to me.As for Else and Massina well Waz could always do more ( especially with those thighs ) but I dont think Elliot has it in him, would be a better B grader for sure. Higham coming back is a massive coup for the club. Best to come out of Woodend ever, taught me everything I know bout the game ( along with Embury ) but he would definitely look better in a Hesket shirt....Go Kegs!!!!:thumbsu:

You boys obviously havnt seen Tyldens arvo spread...Very much worth dropping down to H grade just for the arvo tea and the beer drinking during the breaks

Thats right, trout has the best platters this side of melbourne, he a legend and him taking 5 wickets in C grade comes as no suprise to me.As for Else and Massina well Waz could always do more ( especially with those thighs ) but I dont think Elliot has it in him, would be a better B grader for sure. Higham coming back is a massive coup for the club. Best to come out of Woodend ever, taught me everything I know bout the game ( along with Embury ) but he would definitely look better in a Hesket shirt....Go Kegs!!!!:thumbsu:

Played against Waz, great bloke and a really handy cricketer. Always contributes and can hit a long ball. Seen him make 80 odd off about 6 overs 2 years ago, best hitting display i've seen in the comp, Huddle included.
In regards to young Elliot, I tend to think he is very handy. Only 16 or 17 and made runs in the finals last year. I also think he may have been club champion at Woodend last year.

Played against Waz, great bloke and a really handy cricketer. Always contributes and can hit a long ball. Seen him make 80 odd off about 6 overs 2 years ago, best hitting display i've seen in the comp, Huddle included.
In regards to young Elliot, I tend to think he is very handy. Only 16 or 17 and made runs in the finals last year. I also think he may have been club champion at Woodend last year.
Dont take it personally mate, its all in fun in case u didnt notice.:cool:

United- would have to be the club that most blokes like to smash on a weekend. May not be the case in the 1sts (most clubs would like to knock off the marsh) but a majority of GDCA cricketers would like to wipe the floor with united more than any other club. smug cricketers. cant handle the fact they wont be a power house again in the next 5 or so years due to their top heavy aged cricketers.
Thoughts?

WELL DONE,steve and the boys on your great win over the supposely unbeatable bacchus marsh , a great effort chasing 246. hopefully mr.chinesecut saw the scores , and maybe can get on here and eat a little humble pie.

Just thought I'd give my mid year update, although generally think the park cricketer was on the money.

The Marsh - Well out in front, bit of a hiccup but that will always happen in cricket, have great depth and just need to ensure that they have a settled and inform lineup by finals.
Gissy - Riding on their captains coat tails, but if it works, why not? Look set to be a definate 2-3 side come finals time but have to find some other options for the last to games of the year.
United - Suprise win on the weekend but do have talent. Their curse has been inconsistency over the past couple of years, and that is what they need to take care of to be a threat.
Woodend - It seems else must listen to your advice park cricketer as I see he fired up on the weekend. A couple of proven performers in Ng and one of the best bats in the comp Paul Johnstone back into the lineup won't hurt either. Always a threat come finals time, need to get there first though.
Rupo - Not enough depth in their ones means that they probably have too much reliance on 4-5 players. Barker, Boffey, Lane, and their coach are their most important bowlers as well as bats. Need some more to stand up from around them.
Macedon - Have improved this year with Dodd a good find. They bat not too bad but their bowling lets them down. Probably need to make 300 to win games in the 2 dayers.
Romsey - If leon cox gets going can be dangerous but their bowling is lacking and their isn't much depth in their batting. Too much relience on the cox's and Lock
Riddell - Wadden. If he fires up they might make finals, if not a big chance to be relegated.

The big gap so far this year seems to be depth, the Marsh have it and the rest don't. All the other teams rely on a core 1-5 players and if they don't fire can struggle.

The good thing is it only takes one player in a team to have a day out and it can change a game. It means whoever makes the finals is always a show to win the lot.

And on the B grade - Wallan looks the best team in it with Sunbury, Diggers and the Marsh not far of the mark. Looks as though there will most likely be a relegation/promotion this year which may scare a few of the lower ranked Mac teams into action

You have failed to mention Gerald, what he doesn't know about cricket isn't worth mentioning. Also tapas has a strong grasp of the rule book, and what about Magic?

Magic should stick to indoor, tapas semi-retired now and gerald, well, unfortunatley we have an alleged superstar behind the stumps now so I look forward to the hump making bags of runs at no. 6 where he will thrive.

I heard the Woodend/Hesket derby is equallying Liverpool/Everton FA Cup clash this weekend, is this true? Is KEGS pulled out? Is Kenny got a pulled muscle? Is Tapas fishing? Answers now

equallying???? what the hell kinda word is that?, Rumour has it Kegs is torn between loves and wont play against his BF, Kenny may pull up ok from his dislocated digit but we await the tapas situation with baited breath, could make or break their season this game.

Tylden amassed a massive against lancefield on the weekend scoring 9/505 off 65 overs..run scorers were Forgo with 140, Captain Healy 113 n/o and rod clifford 90 including 6/62

Barker is all mouth, from what a mate tells me he wouldnt survive on turf. But interesting to see them knock off Romsey "the one day specialists".
My tips-
Flag - Gisborne
Shock- Woodend and United miss finals.
Spoon - Romsey (if Rupertswood can beat them)

united to miss the finals?
care to reconsider this statement?

Barker is all mouth, from what a mate tells me he wouldnt survive on turf. But interesting to see them knock off Romsey "the one day specialists".
My tips-
Flag - Gisborne
Shock- Woodend and United miss finals.
Spoon - Romsey (if Rupertswood can beat them)

Looks like both Woodend and United are a fair chance to make finals, and from what I hear poor old Kevy went alright at country week, runs and wickets (on turf). You better hope Harmon makes a combined total of 300+ in the finals so at least one prediction will be right.

Nice of Gisborne McIntyre side to lace their sandwiches with "chilli powder" last week, grow up boys.

ABSOLUTE FACT sandwiches werent laced with chilli powder, yes they had a chilli spread on them, no different to putting pickles or anything on them, some people like food with a bit of kick some dont but by no means were the sandwiches at a temperature that was out of control, was nothing worse than the hot beef jerkey that you buy in a pub,there were two plates of them there they all got eaten so couldnt have been to bad ! seems as though this story has had pieces added on down the line next thing you will hear is that they had been laced with anthrax !!
seems its about time you got over your gisborne bashing days halffullonfence!:thumbsdown:

GDCA Cricket