Larry the Liquidator

Suspended
Port Adelaide
Liverpool
Is there a bigger dump in Australia than this place?

Recently I read that the locals there were up in arms because there were 'Melbourne' signs erected all around Geelong for the world cycling championships. As far as I'm concerned, Geelong should be greatful that it got in on the action because it's obvious that the only reason it was in Geelong was because Melbourne made the decision to put it there. Could you imagine the very Sydney-centric state of NSW putting an international event of such significance, apparently second only to the Tour De France, in Newcastle? Of course not, the route would go through all the upmarket suburbs, along the bridge, around the harbour and then it might head up the central coast. So Geelong, just be greatful you got a decent share of the race because without Melbourne's decision to put it there you would still be wallowing in your self pity about the demise of your footy team.

A few years back I had the unfortunate experience of spending two weeks there for work. No joke I thought I had gone back to 1950. The place is full of kath and kym bogan scum, weirdos, illiterates and no hopers. Furthermore, the town has a depressing feel to it. There is no economy, a substantial portion of the population has to travel to Melbourne daily for work, so what we have here is a city that cannot support/sustain its population. And for that reason, amongst other things, it is a big failure.

The only thing going for it is that it's the gateway to the Great Ocean Road. But anyone who has had to drive through that God foresaken hell hole to get to the GOR will have experienced that painful feeling you get as you wait mind numbingly at traffic lights after traffic lights after traffic lights. It's as if they are trying to detain you there longer than you need to be in the hope you get out of your car, take a look around and decide you like it enough to want to live there. There's more chance of Leon Davis winning a Norm Smith than that happening. Apparently a bypass has been built around it. Good to hear that common sense has finally prevailed.

Geelong, you are a waste of space. Is it any wonder Gary left.

I love going to Geelong, has a nice feel to it. Its a histroic town and u can feel that. It has past and present which to me is perfect and exactly how i like it :)

Being a Cats fan helps of course but i love getting down there

l live its not the best town but its not the worst, l have also herd Adelaide is a dump as well.geelong is close to the beach and close enough to Melbourne to see a game of footy or see a gig etc and has a pretty good footy as well. so up yours.

Recently I read that the locals there were up in arms because there were 'Melbourne' signs erected all around Geelong for the world cycling championships. As far as I'm concerned, Geelong should be greatful that it got in on the action because it's obvious that the only reason it was in Geelong was because Melbourne made the decision to put it there. Could you imagine the very Sydney-centric state of NSW putting an international event of such significance, apparently second only to the Tour De France, in Newcastle? Of course not, the route would go through all the upmarket suburbs, along the bridge, around the harbour and then it might head up the central coast. So Geelong, just be greatful you got a decent share of the race because without Melbourne's decision to put it there you would still be wallowing in your self pity about the demise of your footy team.

A few years back I had the unfortunate experience of spending two weeks there for work. No joke I thought I had gone back to 1950. The place is full of kath and kym bogan scum, weirdos, illiterates and no hopers. Furthermore, the town has a depressing feel to it. There is no economy, a substantial portion of the population has to travel to Melbourne daily for work, so what we have here is a city that cannot support/sustain its population. And for that reason, amongst other things, it is a big failure.

The only thing going for it is that it's the gateway to the Great Ocean Road. But anyone who has had to drive through that God foresaken hell hole to get to the GOR will have experienced that painful feeling you get as you wait mind numbingly at traffic lights after traffic lights after traffic lights. It's as if they are trying to detain you there longer than you need to be in the hope you get out of your car, take a look around and decide you like it enough to want to live there. There's more chance of Leon Davis winning a Norm Smith than that happening. Apparently a bypass has been built around it. Good to hear that common sense has finally prevailed.

Agreed.

Edit: Whoa what happened just then... I don't remember being in this thread when i quoted this post :eek:

There are heaps. You obviously haven't traveled much.

They had a point. The city pumped millions into running this event only for Melbourne to put all their signage up and run it as their event. I don't think the locals wanted total ownership of the race, just a ''fair go''. Not bad for a dump to hold one of the biggest sporting events in the world aye?

A few years back I had the unfortunate experience of spending two weeks there for work. No joke I thought I had gone back to 1950. The place is full of kath and kym bogan scum, weirdos, illiterates and no hopers.

1950? Is that because the people are actually friendly? Not sure where you went into Geelong, but your troll is terrible. Many more bogans in suburban melbourne then there is in Geelong.

. Furthermore, the town has a depressing feel to it. There is no economy, a substantial portion of the population has to travel to Melbourne daily for work, so what we have here is a city that cannot support/sustain its population. And for that reason, amongst other things, it is a big failure.

Huh? Economy. We have had a lot of business INVEST in the area over the years. Shell, Alcoa, Ford, Target, TAC all employ a lot of people and great for the regions economy. The only "substantial" amount of the population that have to commute are business/IT people who obviously like the significant better pay to work in Melbourne. The fact that Geelong is only 1hr away via public transport also helps. The town was brought to its knees 20 years ago when pyramid collapsed. It could have killed the whole city, but it didn't and the town has fought back.

Probably because getting through Geelong you need to take one of the city's main roads. By-pass was built for that reason and it has saved a lot of congestion. I would also suggest that people MOVING TO Geelong is greater then people moving out.

Shit troll.

950790-View_of_Geelong-Geelong.jpg

2972540-Eastern_Beach_fountain-Geelong.jpg

geelong_wideweb__430x311,0.jpg

Yes- Geelong a dump. Should be their slogan!!!

(and yes I agree with you Rizzo)

I agree with this thread. I went to Geelong the other day and walked through main street's and I've got to say its one of the worst places I have ever seen. Bogans, teenage scumbags, Hobo's, druggie's everywhere.
Seriously this town really made me feel sick- I have nothing against the football team but the OP is 100% correct. And LOL about the traffic lights, I was thinking the same thing.

It's a shame because I do like palm trees and

What do you base this "nothing" town on?

You laugh because you know it is true.

"many more bogans in suburban melbourne than there is in geelong"

Thats what i was laughing at :p

"many more bogans in suburban melbourne than there is in geelong"

Thats what i was laughing at :p

:o:o Maybe we really are all illiterate :p

What do you base this "nothing" town on?
Mate moved over there, the atmosphere just felt sad, Belmont is an absolute hole and is worse then W.A.'s Belmont, walked home from the pub once to my mates and he was actually suprised i didnt get robbed.

Just feels like a dead town, your typical "alright beach but terrible" weather. and people busting to show you the two things worth doing in the town

The fish and chips shop also sucks.

Mate moved over there, the atmosphere just felt sad, Belmont is an absolute hole and is worse then W.A.'s Belmont, walked home from the pub once to my mates and he was actually suprised i didnt get robbed.

Just feels like a dead town, your typical "alright beach but terrible" weather. and people busting to show you the two things worth doing in the town

The fish and chips shop also sucks.
Yes the fish and chips shop in Perth also sucks.

I've been here 22 years, walked home and around Geelong/Belmont/Newcomb/Whittington/Corio over those years and never once found trouble. My mates are the exact same and haven't been robbed/mugged/followed/harrassed etc. Maybe this says more about your mate then the town.

I'd dare so if you go to most places in Victoria in winter you will get an alright beach with terrible weather. Victoria in the summer time is actually warm, the beaches are packed, the the tourists flock to the area.

What is most surprising is someone from Adelaide is critisising Geelong. ADELAIDE!!! if we are going to start talking about crap places Adelaide is a great place to start. Most places have bogans hanging around city centres we just need to look at Sam Newnams street talks from Adelaide to confirm that.

I'm still laughing at someone from Adelaide having a go at Geelong, ADELAIDE ffs!!!

I've been here 22 years, walked home and around Geelong/Belmont/Newcomb/Whittington/Corio over those years and never once found trouble. My mates are the exact same and haven't been robbed/mugged/followed/harrassed etc. Maybe this says more about your mate then the town.

I'd dare so if you go to most places in Victoria in winter you will get an alright beach with terrible weather. Victoria in the summer time is actually warm, the beaches are packed, the the tourists flock to the area.
Geez Rizzo dont go that far.

Yes the fish and chips shop in Perth also sucks.

Rofl.

What is most surprising is someone from Adelaide is critisising Geelong. ADELAIDE!!! if we are going to start talking about crap places Adelaide is a great place to start. Most places have bogans hanging around city centres we just need to look at Sam Newnams street talks from Adelaide to confirm that.

I'm still laughing at someone from Adelaide having a go at Geelong, ADELAIDE ffs!!!

Hate to break it to you, but his location is listed as "Melbourne". He just barracks for Port Adelaide...

But yes, bag Adelaide as much as you like, go for it by all means. :):thumbsu: