Game Day Geelong Cats v Collingwood, Finals Week 1 - 19:50 AEST, Sep 06, 2019 - No umpiring complaints during game.

Who will win?

• Geelong <10

Votes: 13 7.7%
  • Geelong 10+ to <30

Votes: 33 19.6%
  • Geelong by 30+

Votes: 17 10.1%
  • Collingwood <10

Votes: 19 11.3%
  • Collingwood 10+ to <30

Votes: 66 39.3%
  • Collingwood by 30+

Votes: 20 11.9%

Ocker

?Premiershipmond?
May 20, 2015
The slow team that won, embarrassed you with their slow game in the Prelim and first game this year. Then gave you a win when they fielded a VFL team in the last meeting.
Not sure we have anything to fear from Rich.
I know we you don’t want us in the GF - scares of the Prelim run deep.
Mate would LOVE a tiges pies granny...bring it on

mighty tiges

Aug 21, 2002
oneeyed-richmond.com
I'd be perfectly happy if all clubs had their own home grounds. Or if we reduce the crowded vic teams or if they built a new stadium in Vic. All options to fix your issues.

Making the most importsnt game of the year at a select few clubs' home ground absolutely negates HGA through the season. Who cares about minor premiers in history?
If the MCG was such an advantage then Richmond would not have been in the wilderness (just 2 finals appearances in 30 years: 1983-2012) and Melbourne would not have the longest drought of 55 years and counting in the comp. Over the past 20 years only 6 flags have been won by MCG tenants. That's not far off the proportion of MCG tenant clubs in the AFL. Non-Victorian teams have won more flags in that time.

AFL Premiers (since 2000):
5 MCG tenants (6 flags): 2008, 2010, 2013-15, 2017
Geelong (KP/semi-MCG) (3 flags): 2007, 2009, 2011
4 Docklands tenants (2 flags): 2000, 2016
8 Non-Vic teams (8 flags): 2001-6, 2012, 2018

No one has ever cared about the minor premiers. It's only recently that the minor premier receive the McClelland Trophy (you guys won it in 2017; Richmond last year and Geelong this year) which use to go to the VFL club with the best record across all grades (seniors, ressies, U19) in a single season. The H&A season with all its fixture quirks and imbalances is just a marathon qualification phase to reach the finals. The season starts again in September for the eight teams that qualify.

The AFL will never be (at least in our lifetime) the NFL with one team per city each with a 70k stadium that belongs to the respective franchise. We only have 6 cities in Australia with a million or more people (including the Gold Coast) and I don't recall any AFL club owning freehold the stadium they play home games out of. It's never going to get to situation where each AFL club has there own large capacity stadium capable of hosting a final and Grand Final. In Soccer, they don't have finals. They have separate cup competitions for knockout football and finals are played in neutral stadia. Australia, let alone each state, isn't going to build a 70k+ stadium like Wembley that gets rarely used. That's not viable. We don't play 34 rounds either in the league (H&A) so everyone plays each other twice as it's harder to recover between games in Australian Football given it's more physical contact nature. The reality is we're different if not unique in Australia (and we should be proud it too). We're the only nation with 4 pro football codes and a weird geographical split between the two most popular ones due to the historical Melbourne/Sydney rivalry.

We just need to accept the numerous odd quirks which make AFL a viable success. Whinging about them only hurts the club of the whinges as Chris Scott found out last night. Geelong were mentally already beaten before they put one foot onto the MCG. At the end of the day, AFL fans across the country are more likely to see their club win a premiership that those that follow another football code overseas where titles are bought and limited to a select few richest clubs. Over the past 25 years, 13 of the current 18 clubs have saluted. Hard to find a more even sporting competition around the world. If anything the AFL gets criticised for being too socialist by some.

Capriati

Aug 25, 2019
If the MCG was such an advantage then Richmond would not have been in the wilderness (just 2 finals appearances in 30 years: 1983-2012) and Melbourne would not have the longest drought of 55 years and counting in the comp. Over the past 20 years only 6 flags have been won by MCG tenants. That's not far off the proportion of MCG tenant clubs in the AFL. Non-Victorian teams have won more flags in that time.

No one has ever cared about the minor premiers. It's only recently that the minor premier receive the McClelland Trophy (you guys won it in 2017; Richmond last year and Geelong this year) which use to go to the VFL club with the best record across all grades (seniors, ressies, U19) in a single season. The H&A season with all its fixture quirks and imbalances is just a marathon qualification phase to reach the finals. The season starts again in September for the eight teams that qualify.

The AFL will never be (at least in our lifetime) the NFL with one team per city each with a 70k stadium that belongs to the respective franchise. We only have 6 cities in Australia with a million or more people (including the Gold Coast) and I don't recall any AFL club owning freehold the stadium they play home games out of. It's never going to get to situation where each AFL club has there own large capacity stadium capable of hosting a final and Grand Final. In Soccer, they don't have finals. They have separate cup competitions for knockout football and finals are played in neutral stadia. Australia, let alone each state, isn't going to build a 70k+ stadium like Wembley that gets rarely used. That's not viable. We don't play 34 rounds either in the league (H&A) so everyone plays each other twice as it's harder to recover between games in Australian Football given it's more physical contact nature. The reality is we're different if not unique in Australia (and we should be proud it too). We're the only nation with 4 pro football codes and a weird geographical split between the two most popular ones due to the historical Melbourne/Sydney rivalry.

We just need to accept the numerous odd quirks which make AFL a viable success. Whinging about them only hurts the club of the whinges as Chris Scott found out last night. Geelong were mentally already beaten before they put one foot onto the MCG. At the end of the day, AFL fans across the country are more likely to see their club win a premiership that those that follow another football code overseas where titles are bought and limited to a select few richest clubs. Over the past 25 years, 13 of the current 18 clubs have saluted. Hard to find a more even sporting competition around the world. If anything the AFL gets criticised for being too socialist by some.

You didn't make finals because your team was broke, poorly managed and generally s**t.

Literally, there was a list of important moments in Richmond history and the campaign to save the club was listed as the most important moment.

I heard in a doco that creditors knocked on punt road and were going to take your premiership trophies from the 70's & 80's as insurance against all the debt. Is that true?

#saveourskins

May 5, 2016
I wouldn't go that far.

How about a foot up the arse from Chris Scott is the after match press conference instead of his usual grab-bag of whiny excuses?
Put the heat on him. Make it clear that Geelong needs him to stand up in September.

A few days ago, you said Hawkins was your team's MVP ahead of Danger. Well? Let's see it...
Dangerfield didn't go missing last night.

Exactly - and look at the result. It backs up my claim.

What do you think a foot up the arse will do? He’s in his 13th season - do you think he needs someone to point out that he was below par?

MemoryLane

Jul 8, 2019

Such a long post to completely miss the point. What a waste of time.

Mar 5, 2002
Victoria
You know what I kinda am. Not to long ago I could sit down and watch up to nine games a week but this season in particular i’ve been struggling even to watch my own team play. Every game has the some pattern and style it’s just boring imo. The game has taken one hell of a nose dive! Is it the new rules? Probably because teams put speed and athleticism ahead of pure football skills? Or maybe the game is to over coached? whatever it is it’s crap in my eyes.
Geelong are s**t to watch, so that's probably the reason.

Jul 5, 2011
Victory,Napoli,Liverpool,Penguins
Geelong are s**t to watch, so that's probably the reason.

Agree through they ain't the only team that are s**t to watch probably 15 of the 18 clubs have horrible game styles of constantly risk free footy of kicking it to the wings and relying on turnovers to win the ball. I like watching Brisbane and West Coast and the Bulldogs toward the end of the season they play the game how it should be played fast, risky and exciting.

Jan 14, 2016
Whinging about them only hurts the club of the whinges as Chris Scott found out last night. Geelong were mentally already beaten before they put one foot onto the MCG. At the end of the day, AFL fans across the country are more likely to see their club win a premiership that those that follow another football code overseas where titles are bought and limited to a select few richest clubs. Over the past 25 years, 13 of the current 18 clubs have saluted. Hard to find a more even sporting competition around the world. If anything the AFL gets criticised for being too socialist by some.

If it wasn't for whinging we would still be playing prelims, semis and qualifying finals at lower placed teams home venue.

mighty tiges

Aug 21, 2002
oneeyed-richmond.com
You didn't make finals because your team was broke, poorly managed and generally s**t.

Literally, there was a list of important moments in Richmond history and the campaign to save the club was listed as the most important moment.

I heard in a doco that creditors knocked on punt road and were going to take your premiership trophies from the 70's & 80's as insurance against all the debt. Is that true?

#saveourskins
Conversely, we're successful now because we've been the superior team especially on 2017 GF day. Nothing to do with the MCG as tonight's win showed.

MoreMoore

Oct 7, 2014
Played it beautifully. 2 men down on the bench (one more than Geelong) and locked down the game to protect our lead. Did Geelong ever look like kicking 5 goals to overtake us?
Pies didn’t come back on the field after three quarter time
Already hit the showers

Shinboner '07

May 13, 2007
Sucked in Geelong. Even though they finished minor premiers they are clearly not the best team. I’d have them fifth behind west coast, Richmond, Brisbane and Collingwood. Enjoy your straight sets exit.

Capriati

Aug 25, 2019
Sucked in Geelong. Even though they finished minor premiers they are clearly not the best team. I’d have them fifth behind west coast, Richmond, Brisbane and Collingwood. Enjoy your straight sets exit.

Please don't jinx us. I reckon we go in favourites, but it is far from a done deal. Am expecting the cats to come out breathing fire on Friday. They have a lot to prove and are a very proud club.

Jun 6, 2016
Pines Football Club
Told you Mr Bush.

Good win and congrats. I Believed in you guys right after your loss in last years Granny. You will go all the way. And I hope you do.

Next week will be interesting, you kept an unpredictable and dangerous forward set up to 61 points.It's too hard to pick - bring your stingy defence like Fridaty night and you'll likely win.

Being at the game near ground level it was hard gauge the structures but it was clear that the Pies intent was suffocation and spread, very difficult to defeat.

My Tilly

Premium Gold
Jun 30, 2018
Next week will be interesting, you kept an unpredictable and dangerous forward set up to 61 points.It's too hard to pick - bring your stingy defence like Fridaty night and you'll likely win.

Being at the game near ground level it was hard gauge the structures but it was clear that the Pies intent was suffocation and spread, very difficult to defeat.

How do you think Bews, O'Conner and Stewart will fair against Ryan, Rioli and Cripps?
Not to mention Blicavs and Taylor on Darling and Kennedy with Naitanui resting forward and Hickey rucking?

We have Ratugolea and Hawkins but come on, if Roughead and Moore kept them quiet, surely McGovern, Barrass, Schofield can do something similar. Hurn could rack up 35 touches in this final given the matchups.

BLUEBOYS FOREVER

Aug 18, 2009
How do you think Bews, O'Conner and Stewart will fair against Ryan, Rioli and Cripps?
Not to mention Blicavs and Taylor on Darling and Kennedy with Naitanui resting forward and Hickey rucking?

We have Ratugolea and Hawkins but come on, if Roughead and Moore kept them quiet, surely McGovern, Barrass, Schofield can do something similar. Hurn could rack up 35 touches in this final given the matchups.
Geelong are not that good. West Coast will win next week.

Mick F

Mighty Snr
Dec 26, 2013

It’s a bit of a stretch calling Union a major football code in Oz. They don’t have statewide comps do they??