Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
LIVE: Gold Coast v Hawthorn - 7:30PM Thu
Squiggle tips Suns at 55% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists »
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
LIVE: Gold Coast v Hawthorn - 7:30PM Thu
Squiggle tips Suns at 55% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists »
I think we prefer the term 'group therapy'.lol- top sook thread.
Sure but it’s still a thread for sooks and the chip on the shoulder gang.The thread was started by a Geelong supporter. And not even as a pisstake, either.
Sook- what do I have to sook aboutnot even my club. It’s just hilarious that Geelong supporters try and justify something that is blatantly dodgy AF, then when they can’t they turn to calling people ‘sooks’ or use laughing emojis, it’s highly amusing.
Not as far as I know. I was simply answering your question “can you think of any other individual player, that are sponsored by another clubs major sponsor?”.Ummmmmmm Nike sponsors Collingwood. Did Cotton On sponsor Bulldogs?
Again, just in case you missed it the first time, we had the best player of the millennium at his peak, and the game’s governing body paid him an amount of money no club could possibly hope to match, for him to leave us.
Reid should be well accommodated at Geelong.That was a pretty exceptional circumstance, though.
When Tassie comes in the AFL will want someone to be the face of that club, and that someone is going to be making serious cash money.
Since Ablett Jr left Geelong have brought in Dangerfield and Cameron among others. I think they have done OK. In the event my club gets some good players I hope they all get HJs franchises and Caltex servos.
That was a pretty exceptional circumstance, though.
When Tassie comes in the AFL will want someone to be the face of that club, and that someone is going to be making serious cash money.
Since Ablett Jr left Geelong have brought in Dangerfield and Cameron among others. I think they have done OK. In the event my club gets some good players I hope they all get HJs franchises and Caltex servos.
Sook- what do I have to sook aboutnot even my club. It’s just hilarious that Geelong supporters try and justify something that is blatantly dodgy AF, then when they can’t they turn to calling people ‘sooks’ or use laughing emojis, it’s highly amusing.
Yes we have been through this before. You pulled out the 4 players over a million, which was bullshit then and bullshit now. We don’t even have one- Neale is our highest paid and is on 900,000. Don’t let facts get in the way of a good story though.We’ve been through this before.
Look at your list and look at ours and ask yourself which one would cost more to retain. Pure logic says the Rolls Royce list of Brisbane would cost a **** tonne to retain.
And yet…the fact you’ve lost one player on good money in the last few years to retirement and immediately paid 4 guys over a million each while also chasing another clubs Captain and it’s all above board doesn’t send off any warning signals to you?
Reid should be well accommodated at Geelong.
And imagine if Ablett had never left, never had his should smashed in that Collingwood game, and played at maximum output alongside Dangerfield for five seasons until 2020 rather than not with us for 8 years and finishing his career with us for 3 seasons as an outside player and then a small forward. All very hypothetical of course but the fact remains that we have both benefitted and lost at the hands of players getting paid good money from means beyond what a ‘normal afl club salary’ would allow.
It’s now four seasons since Bailey Smith began advertising for Cotton On.
Considering he actually signed a contract extension with the Bulldogs AFTER HIS CAREER WITH COTTON-ON began, I very much doubt that the union with Cotton On was based around luring him to the Cattery surreptitiously and more based around the fact that he’s attractive and they want to sell more clothes.
Hypotheticals are fun. I mean nothing on BigFooty means anything. Just people talking shit to pass the time.
Geelong post Ablett won the 2011 flag, finished top 4 2013/14 then again in 2016/17 after Dangerfield joined. No guarantee you are any better than that with him still there and at his peak. Geelong 2008 were the best side by a long way and still lost a GF. Ablett was phenomenal in 2010 and you didn't make it past the prelim. If he stays you are paying him $1m a year and even though your salary cap is, errr, flexible, you would have made different recruiting moves. I still think Danger and Cameron join regardless of cap position, draft assets etc. It would have been nice to see Ablett Jr play 300+ games for one club and spend most of his career playing meaningful footy. Gold Coast looked to be going somewhere when Ablett did his shoulder, but that 2015-17 period was just a waste after already knowing that the first few years weren't going to be competitive.
On the flip side many Cats fans squealed like stuck pigs when Tim Kelly left and it made no difference to either side. Geelong were no worse in 2020, WC were no better. We've been a lot worse since but that's due to different factors. I also don't think Geelong are significantly better with Jeremy Cameron. He's great but really bringing him gave you a short window with 20-something Cameron and 30-something Hawkins and now Hawkins has retired you still have a top quality key forward for probably another 3-4 years.
As a Geelong member I really do wish we handled some of our ratbags like your mob did with Rachele after he made a joke about teeth. Create a media circus for no real reason, publicly humiliate him, drop him, then when it all seems to be dying down wheel out the inspirationally bland captain Jordan Dawson just to humiliate him even more. Geelong have a lot to learn in that space, that's for sure.I was reminded of Stevie J stabbing himself in the leg when listening to Kane & Kingy this morning, then obviously I thought back to the stabbing of Geelong Star Jack Steven's in 2020.
I wonder how the AFL would go about handling that investigation (or lack there of) now days?
Perhaps "Knife Awerness 2-3"
Just rereading your ludicrous post. “no doubt”, “a deceitful role”, “totally premeditated”…There is no doubt Cotton-On played a deceitful role in luring Bailey Smith to Geelong. Whether it was totally premeditated from the beginning is where the debate should be. Did they lure Bailey once he was with them or before? Either way it’s pretty unsporting.
Just rereading your ludicrous post. “no doubt”, “a deceitful role”, “totally premeditated”…
You do realise Cotton On is a multi billion dollar company with almost 2000 stores in 22 countries, and you think there is no doubt they conjured Smith’s departure from WB and move to Geelong. I think they have bigger things to be bothered with.
From all accounts Smith wanted more time in the midfield and Luke Beveridge would not promise it. Geelong could and it was common knowledge the Cats needed midfielders.
Asa an aside, Did you cry foul when Sam Mitchell met with WCE captain, Oscar Allan?
What has WB offered Zac Butters to lure him to Western Oval?
Who would even remotely think we won in 2011 cos ablett left rather then the fact we changed our gameplan to be more direct.the small but admittedly vocal minority of cats fans who carried on about Kelly wanting out were f**kwits. Literally the only word for it. I’ve loved watching him at the eagles when he’s played well, been very disappointed for him when he’s played poorly because I very much doubt it’s down to a lack of effort and more a case of wrong place wrong time right at the moment.
No one will obviously ever know if we would have still won in 2011 if Ablett stayed. I’d like to think we would as I think we won in spite of him leaving not because of it, I think by around 2015 maybe his presence would have caused a few extra calls to be made along the lines of the Chapman/Johnson ones where we had to cut some favourite sons loose earlier than they wanted, in order to bring in others. I think his ties to the area would have always made Dangerfield a target.
Cameron significantly helped the 2022 flag, the biggest asset having him now gives us even though he’s been quiet at the moment is a player who the opposition doesn’t have a choice but to try and close down to some degree because if they don’t he will win a game on his own. You can undoubtedly keep him out of the game if you coach well to do so but you can’t just ‘hope’ he will have a quiet game if that makes sense; you have to assume that he’s going to threaten
Didnt brisbane win 3 flags cos they had a cost of living salary cap allowance even though at the time house prices were far cheaper in brisbane then melbourne? That allowance from memory was noticably larger than the melbourne storms salary cap breach which saw them stripped of a premiership.Sook- what do I have to sook aboutnot even my club. It’s just hilarious that Geelong supporters try and justify something that is blatantly dodgy AF, then when they can’t they turn to calling people ‘sooks’ or use laughing emojis, it’s highly amusing.
Urch?All they are guilty of is sensible, measured and successful recruitment.
Guaranteed premiership calibre soldier, you know thisUrch?